RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Laticia Norris-Ayala to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring December 31, 2010)

RESOLUTION NO. <u>08-714</u>

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3		committees, boards, of ficers and agents" (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, and agents of the Tohono O'odham Nation, agents of the Tohono O'odham Nation of the Tohono O'odham Nation of the Tohono O'odham O'odham
4		Article VI, Section 1(b)); and
5	WHEREAS,	in 1985, the Papago Council enacted the Papago Employment Rights Ordinance ("TERO
6		Ordinance"), thereby establishing the Papago Employment Rights Commission (a.k.a.,
7		"TERO Commission") and vesting the Council with the power to select and appoint
8		TERO commissioners (TERO Ordinance, Ordinance No. 01-85, Section 6(B)(2)); and
9	WHEREAS,	Section 6(C) of the TERO Ordinance further provides that "[c]ommissioners shall be
10		appointed for terms of three years, or until their successors are appointed and
11		qualified, provided, however, that appointments to the Commission shall be made in
12		such a way and for such terms that their terms shall be staggered so that the terms of
13		office of only two Commissioners will end in any single year"; and
14	WHEREAS,	Shawn Ramon was appointed to the TERO Commission with a term ending December
15		31, 2007 and continues to serve until his successor is appointed and qualified
16		(Resolution No. 05-456); and
17	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has been delegated authority to "review and
18		recommend action by the Legislative Council on appointments of TERO
19		Commissioners" (Plan of Operation for the Domestic Affairs Committee, Article III.D.
20		as adopted by Legislative Order No. 01-431); and
21	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has interviewed qualified TERO Commission
22		applicants, one of whom, when appointed, will serve a term commencing on the
23		effective date of this resolution and ending December 31, 2010 or until her successor
24		is appointed and qualified.
25	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby appoints
26		Laticia Norris-Ayala to the TERO Commission commencing upon the effective date of
27		this resolution and ending December 31, 2010 or until her successor is appointed and
28		qualified.
29 30 31 32	day of <u>DECI</u> -0- AGAINS	ing Resolution was presented to the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>15TH.</u> EMBER, 2008 at a meeting at which a quorum was present, and by a vote of <u>2,220.35</u> FOR; F; <u>314.15</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[04]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the
33	Tohono O'	Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant
34 35	Secretary - 18, 1934 (4)	Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 3 Stat. 984).
36	~01 T34 X (ZC	

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL					
	Verler Jose				
	verion M. Jose, Legislative Chairman				
	Verion M. Jose, Legislative Chairman day of legenge, 2008				
ATTEST:					
Janie J. 1.					
Sum Jofy Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative	Sacrotary				
15 day of Dumb	, 2008.				
Said Resolution was submitted f	or approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O				
lation on the 10 day of	Jecember, 2008 at 11 59 o'clock, o				
·	ction 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become of failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 l				
ubmittal.	lanure to enner approve or disapprove it within 40				
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL				
	\sim / Λ / Λ				
•	/ with If I				
	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman				
	V				
	\wedge				
X APPROVED	on the 15 day of Delember, 2008				
· 1 -					
1					
] DISAPPROVED	at 10.10 o'clock, 6.M.				
DISAPPROVED	at <u>/O. 10</u> o'clock, <u>A.</u> .M.				
DISAPPROVED	at 10.10 o'clock, 6.M.				
de de la companya de	De A				
] DISAPPROVED	neid norris, jr., Chairman TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION				
] DISAPPROVED	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN				
DISAPPROVED	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN				
	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION				
Returned to the Legislative Secr	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION retary on the				
Returned to the Legislative Secr	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION retary on the				
Returned to the Legislative Secr	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION retary on the				
Returned to the Legislative Secr	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION retary on the				
Returned to the Legislative Secr	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION retary on the				
Returned to the Legislative Secr	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION retary on the				

ACTION: APPOINTING LATICIA NORRIS-AYALA TO THE TERO COMMISSION FOR A TERM EXPIRING DECEMBER

31, 2010

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN PHYLLIS CACHORA SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN EVELYN JUAN MANUEL

DATE: DECEMBER 15, 2008

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)	158.45	X			
316.9	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)	158.45	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	132.40	X			
264.8	2. VERLON M. JOSE	132.40			X	
GU ACHI	TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	113.95	X			
227.9	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL	113.95	x			x
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	99.60	x			
199.2	2. RAYMOND VICTOR	99.60	X			х
HICKIWAN	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA	86.00	x			
172.0	2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	86.00	x			х
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Absent)	91.20			x	
182.4	(Tony Murrietta) (Present) 2. GERALD FAYUANT ()	91.20	х			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	90.55	X			
181.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	90.55			х	
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	98.25	X			х
196.5	(Adam P. Andrews) 2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	98.25	х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE ** (Frederick Jose)	77.30	X			
154.6	2. PHYLLIS CACHORA (Agnes Joaquin)	77.30	x			
SELLS	1.KIMBERLY LISTO	222.35	X			
444.7	2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	222.35	х			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO	97.20	X			
194.4	2. MARY LOPEZ	97.20	х			
	2,534.5	2,220.35	-0-	314.15	[04]	