## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Shawn Ramon to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring June 30, 2011)

RESOLUTION NO. 98-715

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3		committees, boards, of ficers and agents" (Constitution of the TohonoO'odhamNation,
4		Article VI, Section 1(b)); and
5	WHEREAS,	in  1985, the  Papago  Council  enacted  the  Papago  Employment  Rights  Ordinance ("TERO")  and  Council  enacted  the  Papago  Employment  Papago  Papago
6		${\bf Ordinance"), the reby  establishing  the  Papago  Employment  Rights  Commission  (a.k.a., a.k.a.)}$
7		"TERO Commission") and vesting the Council with the power to select and appoint
8		TERO commissioners (TERO Ordinance, Ordinance No. 01-85, Section 6(B)(2)); and
9	WHEREAS,	${\bf Section~6(C)~of~the~TERO~Ordinance~further~provides~that~"[c]ommissioners~shall~be}$
10		appointed for terms of three years, or until their successors are appointed and
11		${\bf qualified, provided, however, that appointments to the Commission shall be made in}$
12		$such \ a \ way \ and \ for \ such \ terms \ that \ their terms \ shall \ be \ staggered \ so \ that \ the \ terms \ of$
13		office of only two Commissioners will end in any single year"; and
14	WHEREAS,	EvanThomaswasappointedtotheTEROCommissionwithatermendingJune30,2008
15		(Resolution No. 06-037); and
16	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has been delegated authority to "review and
17		recommend action by the Legislative Council on appointments of TERO
18		${\bf Commissioners''} \ ({\bf Plan}\ of\ {\bf Operation}\ for\ the\ {\bf Domestic}\ Affairs\ {\bf Committee}, Article\ {\bf III.D.}$
19		as adopted by Legislative Order No. 01-431); and
20	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has interviewed qualified TERO Commission
21		applicants, one of whom, when appointed, will serve a term commencing on the
22		effective date of this resolution and ending June 30, 2011 or until his successor is
23		appointed and qualified.
24	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the TohonoO'odhamLegislativeCouncilhere byappoints
25		Shawn Ramon to the TERO Commission commencing upon the effective date of this
26		$resolution\ and\ ending\ June\ 30,2011\ or\ until\ his\ successor\ is\ appointed\ and\ qualified.$
27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34	day of <u>DECI</u> <u>-0-</u> AGAINS Section 1 ( Tohono O'	ing Resolution was presented to the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 15 <sup>TH</sup> . EMBER, 2008 at a meeting at which a quorum was present, and by a vote of 2,534.5 FOR; F;-0-NOT VOTING; and [04] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 3 Stat. 984).
35		
36		
37		

	TOHONO O'OPHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	Alaman langu
	Various Land State Chairman
	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
	18 day of Devemper, 2008
A TOTAL COM.	
ATTEST:	
Jum John	
Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislativ	we Secretary
15 day of <u>Aunh</u>	, 2008
Said Resolution was submitted	l for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odhan
	of Jecember, 2008 at 11:59 o'clock, oc. M.
	section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective
upon nis approvai or upon ni submittal.	is failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours o
Submittai.	
	TOHONO O'DDHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	TORONO GODINAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	Veuln Arl
	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
	,
	15
APPROVED	on the <u>17</u> day of <u>Decembe</u> , 2008
t	
] DISAPPROVED	at 10.15 o'clock, A.M.
	// $//$ $//$
	NEDNORRIS, JK., CHAIRMAN
	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
Datmynod to the Legislative Sco	protony on the 22 day of
Returned to the Legislative Sec	cretary on the <u>22</u> day of
	cretary on the <u>73</u> day of t
Gum Fofe	t <u>§: 33</u> o'clock, <u>/</u> .M.
	t <u>§: 33</u> o'clock, <u>/</u> .M.

ACTION: APPOINTING SHAWN RAMON TO THE TERO COMMISSION FOR A TERM EXPIRING JUNE 30, 2011

MOVED: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN PHYLLIS CACHORA

DATE:

**DECEMBER 15, 2008** 

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	FRANCES MIGUEL     (Roberta Harvey)	158.45	X			
316.9	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)	158.45	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	132.40	x			
264.8	2. VERLON M. JOSE	132.40	X			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	113.95	x			
227.9	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL	113.95	х			X
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	99.60	X			
199.2	2. RAYMOND VICTOR	99.60	X			x
HICKIWAN	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA	86.00	x			
172.0	2. SANDRA ORTEGA ( )	86.00	X			x
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Absent)	91.20	x			
182.4	(Tony Murrietta) (Present)  2. GERALD FAYUANT  ( )	91.20	х			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	90.55	x			
181.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	90.55	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ (Adam P. Andrews)	98.25	x			X
196.5	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	98.25	Х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Frederick Jose)	77.30	x	·		
154.6	2. PHYLLIS CACHORA (Agnes Joaquin)	77.30	х			
SELLS	1.KIMBERLY LISTO	222.35	X			
444.7	2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	222.35	х			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO	97.20	X			
194.4	2. MARY LOPEZ	97.20	х			
	2,534.5	2,534.5	-0-	-0-	[04]	