## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Willard Anita to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring February 2009)

RESOLUTION NO. 08-716

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power "to provide for,
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3		committees, boards, of ficers and agents" (Constitution of the TohonoO'odhamNation,
4		Article VI, Section 1(b)); and
5	WHEREAS,	in 1985, the Papago Council enacted the Papago Employment Rights Ordinance ("TERO
6		$Ordinance "), thereby {\it establishing the Papago Employment Rights Commission (a.k.a.,}$
7		"TERO Commission") and vesting the Council with the power to select and appoint
8		TERO commissioners (TERO Ordinance, Ordinance No. 01-85, Section 6(B)(2)); and
9	WHEREAS,	Section 6(C) of the TERO Ordinance further provides that "[c]ommissioners shall be
10		appointed for terms of three years, or until their successors are appointed and
11		qualified, provided, however, that appointments to the Commission shall be made in
12		such a way and for such terms that their terms shall be staggered so that the terms of
13		office of only two Commissioners will end in any single year"; and
14	WHEREAS,	Kiohod Norris-Ramirez was appointed to the TERO Commission with a term ending
15		February, 2006 and continues to serve until his successor is appointed and qualified
16		(Resolution No. 04-046); and
17	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has been delegated authority to "review and
18		recommend action by the Legislative Council on appointments of TERO
19		Commissioners" (Plan of Operation for the Domestic Affairs Committee, Article III.D.
20		as adopted by Legislative Order No. 01-431); and
21	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has interviewed qualified TERO Commission
22		applicants, one of whom, when appointed, will serve a term commencing on the
23		effective date of this resolution and ending February 2009 or until his successor is
24		appointed and qualified.
25	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby appoints
26		Willard Anita to the TERO Commission commencing upon the effective date of this
27		resolution and ending February 2009 or until his successor is appointed and qualified.
28		ing Resolution was presented to the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 15 <sup>TH</sup> .
29		EMBER, 2008 at a meeting at which a quorum was present, and by a vote of <u>2,534.5</u> FOR;
30 31		F; <u>-0- NOT VOTING</u> ; and <u>[04]</u> ABSENT , pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the
32		of Article vi of the Constitution of the Tonono O'Odnam Nation, adopted by the Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant
33		Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June
34	18, 1934 (48	
35		
36		
37		

	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	Verlon M. Jose, Jose Stative Chairman
	day of Jecumper, 2008
ATTEST:	
Sum Jofen	
Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislati	ve Secretary
15 day of Mush	, 2008.
Said Resolution was submitted	d for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Toho
Nation on the $14$ day	of 1/2 (21/10/4 , 2008 at 1/2.0() o'clock
pursuant to the provisions of	Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will beco
upon his approval or upon h	is failure to either approve or disapprove it within
submittal.	
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	(   /
	Marshan Harl
	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
	Toron M. 1055, Legislative Chan man
	•
	on the 19 day of Delubu, 2008
V.	.   "  - m     #   #   #   #   #   #   #   #   #
[X] APPROVED	on the / day of, 2008
[X] APPROVED [ ] DISAPPROVED	at 10:0 o'clock, L.M.
-1	
-1	
-1	
-1	at 10:0 o'clock, A.M.
-1	at 10.0 o'clock, .M.  NED NORMS, JR., CHAIRMAN
-1	at 10.0 o'clock, .M.  NED NORMS, JR., CHAIRMAN
[ ] DISAPPROVED	at 10.0 o'clock, .M.  NED NORMS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
[ ] DISAPPROVED  Returned to the Legislative Se	at 10.0 o'clock, .M.  NED NORMS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
[ ] DISAPPROVED  Returned to the Legislative Se	at 10.0 o'clock, .M.  NED NORMS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
[ ] DISAPPROVED  Returned to the Legislative Se	at 10.0 o'clock, .M.  NED NORMS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
[ ] DISAPPROVED  Returned to the Legislative Se	at 10.0 o'clock, .M.  NED NORMS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
[ ] DISAPPROVED  Returned to the Legislative Se	at 10.0 o'clock, .M.  NED NORMS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION  ccretary on the 22 day of  at 8.33 o'clock, .M.
[ ] DISAPPROVED  Returned to the Legislative Se	at 10.0 o'clock, .M.  NED NORMS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION  ccretary on the 22 day of  at 8.33 o'clock, .M.
[ ] DISAPPROVED  Returned to the Legislative Se	at 10.0 o'clock, .M.  NED NORMS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION  ccretary on the 22 day of  at 8.33 o'clock, .M.
Tumb, 2008, a	at 10:0 o'clock,

ACTION: APPOINTING WILLARD ANITA TO THE TERO COMMISSION FOR A TERM EXPIRING FEBRUARY 2009

MOVED: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN PHYLLIS CACHORA

DATE: DECEMBER 15, 2008

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 316.9	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)	158.45	X			
	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)	158.45	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	132.40	x			
264.8	2. VERLON M. JOSE	132.40	X			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	113.95	x			
227.9	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL	113.95	X			x
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	99.60	x			
199.2	2. RAYMOND VICTOR	99.60	X			Х
HICKIWAN	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA	86.00	x			
172.0	2. SANDRA ORTEGA ( )	86.00	x			x
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Absent) (Tony Murrietta) (Present)	91.20	x			
182.4	2. GERALD FAYUANT	91.20	X			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	90.55	X			
181.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ( )	90.55	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ (Adam P. Andrews)	98.25	X			X
196.5	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	98.25	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Frederick Jose)	77.30	X			
154.6	2. PHYLLIS CACHORA (Agnes Joaquin)	77.30	Х			
SELLS	1.KIMBERLY LISTO	222.35	Х			
444.7	2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	222.35	х			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO	97.20	X			
194.4	2. MARY LOPEZ ( )	97.20	X			
	2,534.5	2,534.5	-0-	-0-	[04]	

<sup>\*\*</sup>PASSED VOTES