## **RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** (Confirming Juan Lopez to the Economic Development Authority Board of Directors)

Ш

# RESOLUTION NO. 09-184

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2	appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3	committees, boards, officers and agents (Article VI, Section 1(b) Constitution of the
4	Tohono O'odham Nation); and
5	WHEREAS, the Legislative Council has enacted and subsequently amended and restated the
6	"Charter and Plan of Operation of the Economic Development Authority of The Tohono
7	O'odham Nation," which established a Board (Board) and who shall have and may
8	exercise all those powers set forth herein. (Section 1); and
9	WHEREAS, Board members "shall be appointed for terms of three years or until their successor
10	are appointed and qualified. (Charter, Section 5 (a) 4); and
11	WHEREAS, Charter, Section 5 (a) 2 of the Charter provides that the Chairman of the Nation shall
12	nominate Directors to the Economic Development Authority Board, with the
13	confirmation of the Legislative Council; and
14	WHEREAS, the Chairman of the Nation has determined that Juan Lopez is qualified and has
15	nominated Juan Lopez, whose term ended on April 30, 2006 (Resolution No. 03-071), as
16	one of the Directors of the Economic Development Authority Board; and
17	WHEREAS, Juan Lopez has accepted the nomination upon approval of the Tohono O'odham
18	Legislative Council; and
19	WHEREAS, the Commerce and Rules Committees of the Legislative Council have reviewed the
20	Chairman's nomination.
21	NOW, THERFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council does hereby
22	confirm Juan Lopez to the Economic Development Authority Board for a three-year
23	term effective on the date of this resolution and shall end April 30, 2012, provided that
24	he shall continue to serve until replaced by his successor.
25 26	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>14<sup>TH</sup></u> . Day of APRIL, 2009 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,534.5</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGAINST;
27	-0- NOT VOTING; and [05]ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (b) of
28	Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham
29 30	Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
31	(operations) on march of 2000, Parsaunt to occurrent to or the motion of June 10, 2002 (to Sine Soul).
32	
33	

**RESOLUTION NO. 09-184** (Confirming Juan Lopez to the Economic Development Authority Board of Directors) Page 2 of 3 **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** Verion M. Jose, Legislative Chairman 1/h day of <u>May</u>, 2009 ATTEST: **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** day of Imil , 2009. Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the <u>7</u> day of <u>May</u>, 2009 at <u>3:0/</u> o'clock, <u>p</u>.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** lon M. Jose, Legislative Chairma on the 0 day of  $M_{4}$ at 3: 4 o'clock, 6.M. **∥** ] APPROVED . 2009 **] DISAPPROVED** NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** 

RESOLUTION NO. <u>09-184</u> (Confirming Juan Lopez to the Economic Development Authority Board of Directors) Page 3 of 3

Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>15</u> day of

Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

Muy\_\_\_\_, 2009, at <u>4:04</u> o'clock, <u>P</u>.M.

### ACTION: CONFIRMING JUAN LOPEZ TO THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

#### MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN CYNTHIA E. MANUEL

#### SECOND: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN

DATE: APRIL 14, 2009

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 316.9	<ol> <li>FRANCES MIGUEL (Absent) (Roberta Harvey)(Present)</li> <li>FRANCES G. ANTONE (Absent) (Verson Smith) (Devent)</li> </ol>	158.45 158.45	x x			
CHUKUT KUK 264.8	(Vernon Smith) (Present) 1. ETHEL GARCIA ( )	132.40	x			
	2. VERLON M. JOSE	132.40	X			X
GU ACHI 227.9	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	113.95	x			
221.9	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL	113.95	X			
GU VO 199.2	1. GRACE MANUEL	99.60	x			
199.2	2. RAYMOND VICTOR	99.60	x			х
HICKIWAN	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA	86.00	x			х
172.0	2. SANDRA ORTEGA (Louie Lopez)	86.00	X			
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	91.20	x			
182.4	2. GERALD FAYUANT	91.20	X			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	90.55	х			
181.1	2. GLORIA RÁMIREZ	90.55	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ (Adam P. Andrews)	98.25	x			x
196.5	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	98.25	X			~
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Frederick Jose)	77.30	х			х
154.6	2. PHYLLIS CACHORA (Agnes Joaquin)	77.30	x			
SELLS	1.KIMBERLY LISTO	222.35	х			
444.7	2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	222.35	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO	97.20	x			
194.4	2. MARY LOPEZ ( )	97.20	X			
	2,534.5	2,534.5	-0-	-0-	[05]	