RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Timothy Toro to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring April 30, 2010)

RESOLUTION NO. 09-206

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3		committees, boards, officers and agents" (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation,
4		Article VI, Section 1(b)); and
5	WHEREAS,	in 1985 the Papago Council enacted the Papago Employment Rights Ordinance ("TERO
6		Ordinance"), thereby establishing the Papago Employment Rights Commission (a.k.a.,
7		"TERO Commission") and vesting the Council with the power to select and appoint
8		TERO commissioners (TERO Ordinance, Ordinance No. 01-85, Section 6(B)(2)); and
9	WHEREAS,	Section 6(C) of the TERO Ordinance further provides that "[c]ommissioners shall be
10		appointed for terms of three years, or until their successors are appointed and
11		qualified, provided, however, that appointments to the Commission shall be made in
12		such a way and for such terms that their terms shall be staggered so that the terms of
13		office of only two Commissioners will end in any single year"; and
14	WHEREAS,	Sandra Johnson was appointed to the TERO Commission with a term ending April 2007
15		and continues to serve until her successor is appointed and qualified (Resolution No.
16		04-330); and
17	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has been delegated authority to "review
18		appointments of TERO Commissioners" (Plan of Operation for the Domestic Affairs
19		Committee, Article III.D. as adopted by Legislative Order No. 01-431); and
20	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has interviewed qualified TERO Commission
21		applicants, one of whom, when appointed, will serve a term commencing on the
22		effective date of this resolution and ending April 30, 2010 or until his successor is
23		appointed and qualified.
24	NOW, THE	REFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby
25		appoints Timothy Toro to the TERO Commission commencing upon the effective date
26		of this resolution and ending April 30, 2010 or until his successor is appointed and
27		qualified.
28		ing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>17TH</u> . Day
29		<u>009</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1,327.0</u> FOR; <u>1,207.5</u>
30		-NOT VOTING; and [07]ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section
31		of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono
32		ation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -
33 34	Indian Alla Stat. 984).	irs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48
J-#	5tat. 30%).	I

RESOLUTION NO. 09-206 (Appointing Timothy Toro to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring April 30, 2010) Page 2 of 2 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman 13 day of May , 2009 ATTEST: **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** day of UMIL . 2009. Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the 13th day of <u>Many</u>, 2009 at <u>3:50</u> o'clock, <u>p</u>.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** Munex for Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chain on the 14 day of May X APPROVED . 2009 at 3:70 o'clock, P.M. **[] DISAPPROVED** NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the ______ day of 2009, at <u>3.'4)</u> o'clock, <u>p</u>.M. **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary**

ACTION: APPOINTING TIMOTHY TORO TO THE TERO COMMISSION FOR A TERM EXPIRING APRIL 30, 2010

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON

SECOND: COUNCILMAN CHESTER ANTONE

DATE: APRIL 17, 2009

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 316.9	 FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey) FRANCES G. ANTONE (Absent) 	158.45		x		
	(Vernon Smith) (Present)	158.45		x		
CHUKUT KUK 264.8	1. ETHEL GARCIA	132.40		X		
	2. VERLON M. JOSE	132.40		x		X
GU ACHI 227.9	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	113.95	x			v
	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL	113.95	X			x
GU VO 199.2	1. GRACE MANUEL	99.60	x			
	2. RAYMOND VICTOR	99.60	x			X
HICKIWAN	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA	86.00	x			x
172.0	2. SANDRA ORTEGA (Louie Lopez)	86.00	x			
PISINEMO 182.4	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	91.20	x			
102.4	2. GERALD FAYUANT	91.20	X			
SAN LUCY 181.1	1. LORRAINE EILER	90.55		x		
101.1	2. GLORIA RÁMIREZ	90.55		x		
SAN XAVIER 196.5	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ (Adam P. Andrews)	98.25	x			
	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	98.25	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Frederick Jose)	77.30	х			
154.6	2. PHYLLIS CACHORA (Agnes Joaquin)	. 77.30	X			x
SELLS	1.KIMBERLY LISTO	222.35		x		
444.7	2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	222.35		x		x
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO	97.20	х			
194.4	2. MARY LOPEZ	97.20	Х			х
	2,534.5	1,327.0	1,207.5	-0-	[07]	