RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving the Appointment of Betsy Norris to the Enrollment Committee)

RESOLUTION NO. 10-009

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3		committees, boards, officers and agents" (Article VI, Section 1(b) of the Constitution
4		of the Tohono O'odham Nation); and
5	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council has enacted and subsequently amended the Enrollment
6		Ordinance, Ordinance No. 05-81, which establishes an Enrollment Committee to
7		oversee enrollment into the Tohono O'odham Nation; and
8	WHEREAS,	the Enrollment Ordinance provides that the Enrollment Committee "shall be
9		composed of five members of the Tohono O'odham Nation who are bilingual in the
10		O'odham and English languages" and whose members "shall be appointed by the
11		Chairman of the Nation, subject to the approval of the Tohono O'odham Legislative
12		Council" (Enrollment Ordinance, Article II, Section 1.A. and 1.B); and
13	WHEREAS,	Committee members "shall be appointed for terms of three years or until their
14		successors are appointed. The appointments of the five members shall be staggered
15		so that no more than two members shall be appointed or reappointed each year."
16		(Enrollment Ordinance, Article II, Section 1.C.); and
17	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council has approved the appointments of two
18		$ Enrollment\ Committee\ members\ to\ terms\ ending\ in\ 2010\ and\ two\ members\ to\ terms$
19		ending in 2012; and
20	WHEREAS,	subject to the approval by the Legislative Council, the Chairman of the Tohono
21		O'odham Nation has appointed Ms. Betsy Norris to the Enrollment Committee to
22		replace Ms. Mary Jane Juan-Moore, whose term ended on January 1, 2008 but who
23		continues to serve until her successor is appointed; and
24	WHEREAS,	if approved, Ms. Betsy Norris would serve on the Enrollment Committee for a term
25		commencing on the effective date of this resolution and ending January 1, 2011,
26		provided that she would continue to serve until replaced by a successor who is
27		appointed in accordance with the Enrollment Ordinance; and
28	WHEREAS,	the Rules Committee of the Legislative Council have reviewed the Chairman's
29		appointment.
30	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the TohonoO'odhamLegislativeCouncilherebyapproves
31		the appointment of Ms. Betsy Norris to the Enrollment Committee for a term
32		commencing on the effective date of this resolution and ending on January 1, 2011,

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>10-009</u> (Approving the Appointment of Betsy Norris to the Enrollment Committee) Page 2 of 3
1	provided that she shall continue to serve until replaced by a successor who has been
2	appointed in accordance with the Enrollment Ordinance.
3	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the $04^{ ext{TH}}$. Day
4	of <u>IANUARY</u> , 2010 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,396.80</u> FOR; <u>-0</u>
5	AGAINST; [01] NOT VOTING; and 198.70 [07]ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Counci by Section 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the
7	Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistan
8	Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June
9 10	18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
11	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
12	TOHONO O ODNAM PROISEATIVE COUNCIL
13	
14	
15	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
16	
17	12 day of Lendar, 2010
18	
19	ATTEST:
20	1/1/20 11/1/2
21 22	Every a Wilson Legislative Secretary
23	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
24	12 day of Mulling, 2010.
25	=== uug or <u>garanara</u> , 2010.
26	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odhan
27	Nation on the 12 day of Lunuy , 2010 at Stol o'clock, f. M.
28	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective
29	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of
- I	submittal.
31	
32 33	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
34	
35	(land lose
36	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
37	7
38	
39	13 04 -1
40	[8] APPROVED on the 13 day of 1, 2010
11	[] DISAPPROVED at $\frac{33}{33}$ o'clock, .M.
12	[] DISAPPROVED at <u>\(\frac{1}{3} \) o'clock, \(\frac{1}{3} \).M.</u>
13 14 15	MAN
16	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN
17	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>10-009</u> (Approving the Appointment of Betsy Norris to the Enrollment Committee) Page 3 of 3
1	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 13 day of
2	
3	Juliu , 2010, at 2:55 o'clock, p.M.
4	(Mannesthile)
5	Cimnelle -
6	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19 20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35 36	
37	
38	
39	
40	
41	
42	
43	
44	
45	
46	

ACTION: APPROVING THE APPOINTMENT OF BETSY NORRIS TO THE ENROLLMENT COMMITTEE

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN CYNTHIA E. MANUEL SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN EVELYN JUAN MANUEL

DATE: JANUARY 04, 2010

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 198.7	1. WAVALENE ROMERO (Nicholas Jose) 2. MARY LOPEZ	99.35				X X
	()	99.35	V			
SELLS 449.6	1. KIMBERLY LISTO () 2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL ()	224.80	X X			
SCHUK TOAK 159.0	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Fredrick Jose) 2. LINDA PARLEY	79.50 79.50	x x			Х
SAN XAVIER 204.7	(Agnes Joaquin) 1. FELICIA NUÑEZ () 2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON	102.35	X			
SAN LUCY 187.1	(Eugene Enis) 1. LORRAINE EILER () 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	93.55	X X			
PISINEMO 184.5	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	93.55	Х		X	V
	2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	92.25	X			X
HICKIWAN 174.5	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA () 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	87.25 87.25	x x			
GU VO 206.3	GRACE MANUEL (103.15 103.15	x x			
GU ACHI 230.1	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (CYNTHIA E. MANUEL ()	115.05 115.05	x x			Х
CHUKUT KUK 277.0	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams) 2. VERLON M. JOSE ()	138.50 138.50	X X			х
BABOQUIVARI 324.0	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)	162.0 162.0	x x			X
	TOTAL	2,595.50	2,396.80	-0-	[01]	198.70 [07]