# **RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL**

(Approving FY 2009 No-Cost Extension and Budget Modification from October 1, 2009 – December 6, 2009)

**RESOLUTION NO.** <u>10-047</u>

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Nation receives a Special Diabetes Program for Indians grant
2	through FY 2009 with a base budget of \$1,929,827.00; and
3	WHEREAS, by Resolution Number 99-149, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approved the
4	establishment of the Community Based Diabetes Prevention Program, funded by the
5	Special Diabetes Program for Indians, authorized by the Balanced Budget Act of 1997;
6	and
7	WHEREAS, by Resolution Number 2000-182, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approved
8	the name change of <u>Community Based Diabetes Prevention Program</u> to the <u>Healthy</u>
9	O'odham Promotion Program; and
10	WHEREAS, the HOPP received the NOA from the Special Diabetes Program for Indians (SDPI)
11	grant manager on December 4, 2009 for a two-month No-Cost Extension of the fiscal
12	year 2009 budget \$1,929,827.00; and
13	WHEREAS, the Executive Office, the Health and Human Service Oversight Committee and the
14	Budget and Finance Committee has reviewed and approved this budget.
15	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council does hereby
16	approves and authorizes expenditures for:
17	1. Acceptance of the FY2009 two-month No-Cost Extension, as requested by the
18	I.H.S. Grant Management Office.
19	2. Approves the budget modification of the fiscal year 2009 up to December 6, 2009.
20	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby authorizes the
21	Chairman, and any designated official to expend and administer the budget, as
22	attached, provided that any amendments affecting the funds or funding level shall be
23	submitted for further prior approval by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council.
24 25 26 27 28 29 30	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the $\underline{11}^{TH}$ . Day of <u>FEBRUARY, 2010</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,595.50</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGAINST; <u>02</u> NOT VOTING; and [ <u>02</u> ] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article IV, Section 1 ( <u>d)(2)(3)&amp;(f)</u> of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
31 32 33 34 35	

**RESOLUTION NO. 10-047** (Approving FY 2009 No-Cost Extension and Budget Modification from October 1, 2009 - December 6, 2009) Page 2 of 2 **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman day of <u>Februar</u>, 2010 ATTEST: **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** day of Thul ., 2010. Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the 11 day of Kebruary , 2010 at Sigs o'clock, P. .M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** lon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman on the <u>175</u> day of <u>*Lebuary*</u>, 2010 at <u>5:40</u> o'clock, <u></u>M. [\/] APPROVED **[ ] DISAPPROVED NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the \_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_, 2010, at <u>5:43\_</u> o'clock, <u>P</u>.M. **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** 

# ACTION: APPROVING FY 2009 NO-COST EXTENSION AND BUDGET MODIFICATION FROM OCTOBER 1, 2009 – DECEMBER 6, 2009

## MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON

### SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN CYNTHIA E. MANUEL

#### DATE: FEBRUARY 11, 2010

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 198.7	1. WAVALENE ROMERO (Nicholas Jose)	99.35	x			
	2. MARY LOPÉZ ()	99.35	X			
SELLS	1. KIMBERLY LISTO	224.80	x			x
449.6	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	224.80	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	79.50	x			
159.0	(Fredrick Jose) 2. LINDA PARLEY (Agnes Joaquin)	79.50	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	102.35	x			
204.7	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis	102.35	x			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	93.55	x			
187.1	( ) 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ( )	93.55	x			
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE	92.25	x			
184.5	(Tony Murrietta) 2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	92.25	x		x	
HICKIWAN	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA	87.25	x			
174.5	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	87.25	x			x
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	103.15	x			
206.3	( ) 2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Absent) (Angela Ortiz)(Present)	103.15	X			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	115.05	x		х	
230.1	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL	115.05	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	138.50	x			
277.0	(Sara Mae Williams) 2. VERLON M. JOSE ( )	138.50	x			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	162.0	x			
324.0	(Roberta Harvey) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)	162.0	x			
	2,595.50	2,595.50	-0-	02	[02]	