RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Sandra Johnson to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring February 2012)

RESOLUTION NO. 10-128

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2	appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3	committees, boards, officers and agents" (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation,
4	Article VI, Section 1(b)); and
5	WHEREAS, in 1985 the Papago Council enacted the Papago Employment Rights Ordinance ("TERO
6	Ordinance"), thereby establishing the Papago Employment Rights Commission (a.k.a.,
7	"TERO Commission") and vesting the Council with the power to select and appoint
8	TERO commissioners (TERO Ordinance, Ordinance No. 01-85, Section 6(B)(2)); and
9	WHEREAS, Section 6(C) of the TERO Ordinance further provides that "[c]ommissioners shall be
10	appointed for terms of three years, or until their successors are appointed and
11	qualified, provided, however, that appointments to the Commission shall be made in
12	such a way and for such terms that their terms shall be staggered so that the terms of
13	office of only two Commissioners will end in any single year"; and
14	WHEREAS, Sandra Johnson previously served as a commissioner (Resolution No. 04-330) on the
15	TERO Commission and served until her successor was appointed and qualified; and
16	WHEREAS, the Domestic Affairs Committee has been delegated authority to "review
17	appointments of TERO Commissioners" (Plan of Operation for the Domestic Affairs
18	Committee, Article III.D. as adopted by Legislative Order No. 01-431); and
19	WHEREAS, the Domestic Affairs Committee has interviewed Sandra Johnson for a vacant position
20	on the TERO Commission and she would serve a term commencing on the effective
21	date of this resolution and ending February 2012 or until her successor is appointed
22	and qualified.
23	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby
24	appoints Sandra Johnson to the TERO Commission commencing upon the effective
25	date of this resolution and ending February 2012 or until her successor is appointed
26	and qualified.
27	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>07TH</u> Day
28 29	of <u>APRIL, 2010</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,595.50</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[03]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article
29 30	VI, Section 1 (b)© and (2) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono
31	O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -
32	Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48
33 34	Stat. 984).
35	
	I I

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>10-128</u> (Appointing Sandra Johnson to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring February 2012) Page 2 of 2
1	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
2 3	
3 4	Felicia, Munter for
5	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
6	
7	15 day of April, 2010
8 9	ATTEST:
10	
11	GUTHNellin
12	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
13	14 day of amil, 2010.
14 15	<u>/ </u>
16	Said Resolution was submitted for approyal to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham
17	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the day of, 2010 at o'clock,M.,
18 19	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective
19 20	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.
21	Suometui.
22	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
23	
24 25	Felicia Uninen for
26 26	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
27	
28	
29 30	л - I
31	APPROVED on the day of white , 2010
32 33	[] DISAPPROVED at 1:45 o'clock, .M.
33 34	$\begin{bmatrix} \mathbf{j} \\ \mathbf{j} $
35	
36	$-// \mathcal{V} / \mathcal{V}$
37	NED WORRIS, JR.Y CHAIRMAN
38 39	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
40	
41	
42	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the// day of
43 44	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>/4</u> day of
45	
46	, 2010, at 3:42 o'clock, 2.M.
47	
48 49	allin alli
50	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

ACTION: APPOINTING SANDRA JOHNSON TO THE TERO COMMISSION FOR A TERM EXPIRING FEBRUARY 2012

MOVED: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN WAVALENE ROMERO

DATE: APRIL 07, 2010

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 198.7	1. WAVALENE ROMERO (Nicholas Jose)	99.35	x			
	2. MARY LOPÉZ	99.35	X			
SELLS	1. KIMBERLY LISTO	224.80	х		1	
449.6	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	224.80	X			x
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Absent)	79.50	x			
159.0	(Fredrick Jose) (Present) 2. LINDA PARLEY (Agnes Joaquin)	79.50	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	102.35	х			
204.7	() 2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	102.35	X			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	93.55	х			
187.1	() 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	93.55	х			x
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE	92.25	x			
184.5	(Tony Murrietta) 2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	92.25	x			
HICKIWAN	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA	87.25	х			x
174.5	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	87.25	X			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	103.15	x			
206.3	() 2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Absent) (Angela Ortiz) (Present)	103.15	X			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	115.05	х			
230.1	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL	115.05	x			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	138.50	x			
277.0	(Sara Mae Williams) 2. VERLON M. JOSE ()	138.50	X			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Absent)	162.0	x			
324.0	 (Roberta Harvey) (Present) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Absent) (Vernon Smith) (Present) 	162.0	x			
<u>.</u>	2,595.50	2,595.50	-0-	-0-	[03]	