## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians' 2010 Mid-Year Conference)

## RESOLUTION NO. 10-222

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to consult with the
2	federal government and other Indian tribes on all matters within the Council's
3	authority (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, Article VI, Section 1(f)); and
4	WHEREAS, the National Congress of American Indians ("NCAI") will hold its 2010 Mid-Year
5	Conference in Rapid City, South Dakota from June 20 - 23, 2010; and
6	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Nation has worked closely with NCAI and with Indian tribes
7	across the United States to address numerous national issues of importance to Indian
8	people; and
9	WHEREAS, it is in the best interest of the Tohono O'odham Nation to continue its national-level
10	involvement in these issues by participating in the NCAI 2010 Mid-Year Conference.
11	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby
12	authorizes Chairman Ned Norris, Jr. to serve as the Nation's voting delegate and
13	Councilman Timothy Joaquin and Legislative Vice-Chairwoman Felicia Nuñez to serve
14	as the Nation's alternates to the NCAI 2010 Mid-Year Conference; provided that the
15	voting delegate, alternates, and any Legislative Council representatives attending the
16	NCAI Mid-Year Conference are authorized to present and advocate for resolutions and
17	positions previously approved by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council.
18 19	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>10<sup>TH</sup></u> Day of <u>JUNE, 2010</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,271.50</u> FOR; -0- AGAINST;
20	-0-NOT VOTING; and <u>324.0[09]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI,
21	Section 1 (f) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham
22	Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs
23	(Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
24 25	
25 26	
27	
28	<b>TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL</b>
29	
30	
31	Perlon Hose
32	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
33	18 day of June, 2010
34	<u> 0</u> day of <u>Unc</u> , 2010
35	
36	
37	
38 39	
40	
41	
-	I I

**RESOLUTION NO. 10-222** (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians' 2010 Mid-Year Conference) Page 2 of 2 ATTEST: Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary \_day of \_\_\_\_\_, 2010. Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the <u>1</u> day of <u>Junc</u>, 2010 at <u>4</u> <u>4</u> <u>6</u> o'clock, <u>6</u>. .M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** osl Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman on the 18 day of June **I**[√] APPROVED .2010 at 5.18 o'clock, P .M. **[ ] DISAPPROVED** NED NORRIS, IR., CHAIRMAN **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the  $\frac{18}{1000}$  day of Fune\_\_\_\_, 2010, at 3.20 o'clock, P.M. **Smin Srft**, Fr Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary 53 54 55

# ACTION: AUTHORIZING TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION DELEGATION TO THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS' 2010 MID-YEAR CONFERENCE

#### MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN SANDRA ORTEGA

### SECOND: COUNCILMAN EDWARD MANUEL

DATE: JUNE 10, 2010

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 198.7	1. WAVALENE ROMERO (Nicholas Jose)	99.35	x			x
1900	2. MARY LOPEZ ( )	99.35	X			
SELLS	1. KIMBERLY LISTO	224.80	x			
449.6	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	224.80	X			x
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Fredrick Jose)	79.50	x			x
159.0	(Fredick Jose) 2. LINDA PARLEY (Agnes Joaquin)	79.50	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	102.35	X			
204.7	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	102.35	x			x
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	93.55	x			
187.1	2. GLORIA RÁMIREZ	93.55	x			x
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	92.25	x			
184.5	2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	92.25	x			
HICKIWAN	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA	87.25	x			х
174.5	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	87.25	x			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	103.15	x			
206.3	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Absent) (Angela Ortiz) (Present)	103.15	X			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	115.05	x			
230.1	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL	115.05	x			x
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams)	138.50	x			
277.0	() VERLON M. JOSE	138.50	X			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)	162.0				X
324.0	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)	162.0				X
	2,595.50	2,271.50	-0-	-0-	324.0 [09]	