RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Tony Murrietta to the Election Board for a Five-Year Term Ending July 31, 2014)

RESOLUTION NO. 10-259

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3		committees, boards, officers and agents (Article VI, Section 1(b) Constitution of the
4		Tohono O'odham Nation); and
5	WHEREAS,	under Ordinance No. 03-86, the Uniform Election Ordinance ("Election Ordinance")
6		authorizes the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council to appoint members of the
7		Tohono O'odham Election Board (Election Ordinance, Article II, Section 1(B)); and
8	WHEREAS,	$the Election Ordinance provides that board members shall be ``appointed \dots for terms and be appointed \dots for terms and be appointed \dots for app$
9		of five years, or until their successors are appointed and qualified" and further "that
10		appointments to the board shall be made in such a way and for such terms that their
11		terms shall be staggered so that the term of office of only one member will end in any
12		single year." (Election Ordinance, Article II, Section 1(B)); and
13	WHEREAS,	Nancy Garcia was appointed to the Election Board by Resolution No. 04-561 for a term
14		expiring on July 31, 2009 but continues to serve until her successor is appointed and
15		qualified; and
16	WHEREAS,	the RulesCommitteehavinglegislativeover sightovertheElectionBoardhassolicited
17		and interviewed qualified bilingual members of the Nation to serve on the Election
18		Board; and
19	WHEREAS,	the Rules Committee recommends that Tony Murrietta be appointed to the Election
20		Board for a term ending July 31, 2014.
21	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the TohonoO'odhamLegislativeCouncilherebyapproves
22		the appointment of Tony Murrietta to the Election Board beginning on the effective
23		date of this resolution and ending July 31, 2014; provided that he shall continue to
24		serve until replaced by a successor who has been appointed and qualified.
25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33	of <u>IULY</u> , <u>20</u> AGAINST; <u>-0</u> VI, Section by the Toho	ing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 12 TH Day 10 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,697.25 FOR; 898.25 POT VOTING; and [01] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article 1 (b) and Article X, Section 7 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted ono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 3 Stat. 984).
34 35		
36		

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUN							
	Verion M. Jose, Legislative Chairman 1 day of July , 2010						
ATTEST:	,						
armellher							
Evonne Wilson, Legislative Se							
19 day of July	, 2010.						
aid Resolution was submitte	d for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O						
vation on the <u>/ / / day</u> oursuant to the provisions of	od for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O' of, 2010 ato'clock, Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become e						
ipon his approval or upon l submittal.	his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 h						
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL						
	Verion M. Jose, Legislative Chairman						
	verion vi. jose, negotieve chairman						
X] APPROVED	on the <u>20</u> day of <u>JULY</u> , 2010						
•							
] DISAPPROVED	at 9:10 o'clock, A.M.						
	NEDNORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION						
	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION)						
	ALCE CHANCIAN						
	A -						
Returned to the Legislative So	ecretary on the <u>$\beta\delta$</u> day of						
<i>Fulry</i> , 2010, a	at <u>9.55</u> o'clock, <u>A</u> .M.						
Suin Safe for	ecretary						
# # # # #	cretary						
Evonne Wilsoń, Łegislative Se							
Evonne Wilsoń, Zegislative Se							

ACTION: APPOINTING TONY MURRIETTA TO THE ELECTION BOARD FOR A FIVE-YEAR TERM ENDING JULY 31,

2014

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN KIMBERLY LISTO SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN MARY LOPEZ

DATE: JULY 12, 2010

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 198.7	1. WAVALENE ROMERO (Nicholas Jose) 2. MARY LOPEZ ()	99.35 99.35	x	х		
SELLS 449.6	1. KIMBERLY LISTO () 2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL ()	224.80 224.80	Х	x		
SCHUK TOAK 159.0	FRANCES B. CONDE (Fredrick Jose) LINDA PARLEY (Agnes Joaquin)	79.50 79.50	X X			
SAN XAVIER 204.7	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ () 2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	102.35 102.35	х	x		
SAN LUCY 187.1	1. LORRAINE EILER () 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	93.55 93.55	X X			
PISINEMO 184.5	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta) 2. EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant)	92.25 92.25	x x			x
HICKIWAN 174.5	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA () 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	87.25 87.25	x x			
GU VO 206.3	1. GRACE MANUEL () 2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Angela Ortiz)	103.15 103.15	X	x		
GU ACHI 230.1	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN () 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL ()	115.05 115.05		X X		
CHUKUT KUK 277.0	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams) 2. VERLON M. JOSE ()	138.50 138.50	х	х		
BABOQUIVARI 324.0	FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey) FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)	162.0 162.0	x x			
	2,595.50	1,697.25	898.25	-0-	-01-	