RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving and Authorizing KOHN's FY 2011 CPB CSG Budget, in the amount of \$197,821.06 and Waiver of Indirect Costs)

RESOLUTION NO. 10-304

1	WHEREAS,	KOHN 91.9 FM was licensed to begin broadcast on December 23, 2005 and completed
2		its first year of on-air broadcast on December 23, 2006, thereby becoming eligible for
3		a Community Service Grant (CSG) from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting(CPB);
4		and
5	WHEREAS,	the CSG is a single grant program consisting of several levels of qualification, each
6		level having specific requirements that determine the amount of funding that an
7		eligible grantee will be awarded. CPB determines the appropriate CSG funding level
8		based on the information provided by the applicant; and
9	WHEREAS,	the CPB requires that all applicants spent approximately 27% of CSG funding on costs
10		relating to the acquisition or production of national programming; and
11	WHEREAS,	CSG funding is restricted to operational support of radio broadcast operations and
12		does not provide for administrative cost rates normally applied to grants as indirect
13		cost, therefore making it necessary that the established indirect cost rate of the nation
14		be waived for this grant; and
15	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation has received notice from CPB that KOHN will continue to
16		be funded at similar levels for succeeding fiscal years so long as it maintains its
17		eligibility; and
18	WHEREAS,	each grant award has an expenditure period of two years, the 2011 grant amount will
19		have a grant period of October 1, 2010 through September 30, 2012, however, KOHN
20		budgets the full amount for the current fiscal year of October 1, 2010 through
21		September 30, 2011 and intends to re-submit to the legislative council for approval the
22		carry forward of any funding that remains unexpended at fiscal year-end 2011; and
23	WHEREAS,	KOHN has prepared and submitted for internal review by the Executive Branch,
24		Cultural Preservation Committee and the Budget and Finance Committee the
25		attached budget, in the amount of \$197,821.06, to facilitate the expenditure of the
26		grant.
27	NOW, THE	REFORE ,BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby approves
28		the waiver of Indirect Costs as required of the grant.
29	BE IT FURT	THER RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that the attached budget,
30		in the amount of \$197,821.06, is approved and authorized to be expended for the
31		purposes described effective fiscal year October 1, 2010 through September 30, 2011.
	l	I

RESOLUTION NO. 10-304 (Approving and Authorizing KOHN's FY 2011 CPB CSG Budget, in the amount of \$197,821.06 and Waiver of Indirect Costs) Page 2 of 3 BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that the Tohono O'odham 1 Nation's Officials to-wit: the Chairman, and any designated official, are authorized 2 to execute the grant, provided however, that any amendments affecting the funds or 3 funding levels of the grant shall be submitted for further prior approval by the Tohono 4 **O'odham Legislative Council.** 5 The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 29^{TH} Day 6 of JULY, 2010 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,595.50 FOR; -0- AGAINST; 7 -0- NOT VOTING; and [05] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, 8 Section 1 <u>(f)</u> of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham 9 Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs 10 (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). 11 12 **TOHONØ O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** 13 14 15 16 Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman 17 18 10 day of Huding . 2010 19 20 ATTEST 21 22 23 24 **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** 25 , 2010. 26 day of 27 Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham 28 Nation on the <u>10</u> day of <u> $\int \mu u \eta u \beta$ </u>, 2010 at <u>5:04</u> o'clock, <u> ρ </u>. M., 29 pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective 30 upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of 31 submittal. 32 33 34 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 35 36 37 38 Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman 39 40 41 42 43 day of Ungust, 2010 1 / APPROVED 44 45 at 1:24 o'clock [] DISAPPROVED 46 47 48 49 **NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN** 50 **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** 51

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>10-304</u> (Approving and Authorizing KOHN's FY 2011 CPB CSG Budget, in the amount of \$197,821.06 and Waiver of Indirect Costs) Page 3 of 3
1	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the $1/2$ day of
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19	Page 3 of 3 Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the _/&_day of
20	
21 22	
23 24 25 26 27 28	
29	
30 31 32 33 34 35	
34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41	
41 42 43 44 45 46 47	
46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55	
55	

ACTION: APPROVING AND AUTHORIZING KOHN'S FY 2011 CPB CSG BUDGET, IN THE AMOUNT OF \$197,821.06 AND WAIVER OF INDIRECT COSTS

MOVED: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN MARY LOPEZ

DATE: JULY 29, 2010

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 198.7	1. WAVALENE ROMERO (Nicholas Jose) 2. MARY LOPEZ	99.35 99.35	x x			х
SELLS 449.6	1. KIMBERLY LISTO () 2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL ()	224.80 224.80	x x			
SCHUK TOAK 159.0	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Fredrick Jose) 2. LINDA PARLEY (Agnes Joaquin)	79.50 79.50	x x			
SAN XAVIER 204.7	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ () 2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eugene Enis)	102.35 102.35	x x			
SAN LUCY 187.1	1. LORRAINE EILER () 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	93.55 93.55	x x			х
PISINEMO 184.5	 CHESTER ANTONE (Absent) (Tony Murrietta) (Present) EDWARD MANUEL (Gerald Fayuant) 	92.25 92.25	x x			
HICKIWAN 174.5	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA () 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	87.25 87.25	x x			x
GU VO 206.3	1. GRACE MANUEL () 2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Angela Ortiz)	103.15 103.15	x x			x
GU ACHI 230.1	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (115.05 115.05	X X		-	x
CHUKUT KUK 277.0	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Sara Mae Williams) 2. VERLON M. JOSE ()	138.50 138.50	x x			
BABOQUIVARI 324.0	 FRANCES MIGUEL (Absent) (Roberta Harvey) (Present) FRANCES G. ANTONE (Absent) (Vernon Smith) (Present) 	162.0 162.0	x x			
	2,595.50	2,595.50	-0-	-0-	[05]	