LEGISLATIVE ORDER OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Issuing Certificates of Election from the May 23, 2015 General Election for the Offices of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the Nation and Representatives and Alternates to the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council and Seating Such Elected Officials)

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 15-225

i	WHEREAS,	on Saturday, May 23, 2015 the Tohono O'odham Election Board conducted a
2		general election for the offices of chairperson of the Nation, vice-chairperson of
3		the Nation, and representatives and alternates to the Tohono O'odham
4		Legislative Council and district councils; and
5	WHEREAS,	the Election Board issued and posted its Certificate of Election Results dated
6	:	May 23, 2015, which is incorporated by this reference, in accordance with
7		Section 1806 of 12 T.O.C. Chapter 1 – Elections; and
8	WHEREAS,	Section 1808 of the Nation's Elections law requires that the Legislative Council
9		issue Certificates of Election to the persons who received the highest number of
10		votes for the offices of chairperson and vice-chairperson of the Nation and for
11		each Legislative Council representative and alternate within 20 days after the
12		Election Board has posted its Certificates of Election Results; provided, however,
13		that no election contest is pending for those offices and further provided that a
14		candidate holding another elective public office of the Nation must resign
15		before being seated; and
16	WHEREAS,	the period for contesting the 2015 general election has expired and contests
17		have been resolved in accordance with the requirements of Article IX of 12 T.O.C.
18		Chapter 1 - Elections.
19	NOW, THERE	FORE, BE IT ORDERED that the chairperson and secretary of the Tohono O'odham
20		Legislative Council are authorized and directed on behalf of the Council to
21		execute and deliver a certificate of election to each of the following persons
22		elected as chairperson and vice-chairperson of the Tohono O'odham Nation and
23		as representatives and alternates to the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council;
24		provided that all such persons shall hold office in accordance with the Elections
25		law, and that the certificate of election and seating of a candidate holding
26		another elective public office of the Nation shall not be effective until the
27		candidate resigns such office:
28		

CHAIRPERSON OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

Edward D. Manuel

VICE-CHAIRPERSON OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

Verlon M. Jose

32 33

29

30

31

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 15-225

(Issuing Certificates of Election from the May 23, 2015 General Election for the Offices of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the Nation and Representatives and Alternates to the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council and Seating Such Elected Officials)
Page 2 of 3

1	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL:
2	Baboquivari District
3	Representative: Frances Miguel
4	Alternate: Roberta E. Harvey
5	Chukut Kuk District
6	Representative: Billman Lopez
7	Alternate: Patricia Vicenti
8	Gu Achi District
9	Representative: Timothy L. Joaquin
10	Alternate: Louis L. Johnson
11	Gu Vo District
12	Representative: Grace Manuel
13	Alternate: Dallas Lewis
14	Hickiwan District
15	Representative: Louis R. Lopez
16	Alternate: Shirley Molina
17	Pisinemo District
18	Representative: Chester Antone
19	Alternate: Anthony Murrietta
20	San Lucy District
21	Representative: Jana Montana
22	Alternate: Gloria Ramirez
23	<u>San Xavier District</u>
24	Representative: Daniel L.A. Preston III
25	Alternate: Eugene Enis
26	Schuk Toak District
27	Representative: Anthony J. Francisco, Jr.
28	Alternate: Teresa Donahue
29	Sells District
30	Representative: Arthur Wilson
31	Alternate: Beverly Rivas
32	Sif Oidak District
33	Representative: Mary Lopez
34	Alternate: Vacant

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 15-225

(Issuing Certificates of Election from the May 23, 2015 General Election for the Offices of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the Nation and Representatives and Alternates to the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council and Seating Such Elected Officials)

Page 3 of 3

The foregoing Order was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 12TH day of <u>JUNE</u>, 2015 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,926.9 FOR; -0- AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section 1(g) and Article X of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).

ATTEST	! Mmu	Mh	
Evonne	Wilson, L	egislative Seci	retary
18	day of	Anne	2015

 ACTION: ISSUING CERTIFICATES OF ELECTION FROM THE MAY 23, 2015 GENERAL ELECTION FOR THE OFFICES OF CHAIRPERSON AND VICE-CHAIRPERSON OF THE NATION AND REPRESENTATIVES AND ALTERNATES

TO THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL AND SEATING SUCH ELECTED OFFICIALS

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN DIANA MANUEL

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN SANDRA ORTEGA

DATE: JUNE 12, 2015

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN'
SIF OIDAK 224.2	1. LUCINDA ALLEN (Nicholas Jose)	112.1	X			
224.2	2. MARY LOPEZ ()	112.1	х			
SELLS 502.0	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Ophelia Patten)	251.0	X			
302.0	2. BARBARA HAVIER (Beverly Rivas)	251.0	X			
SCHUK TOAK 174.2	1. ANTHONY J. RIOS	87.1	X			Х
177.4	2. QUINTIN Ć. LOPEZ (John Fendenheim)	87.1	Х			
SAN XAVIER 224.2	1. HILARION CAMPUS (Daniel L.A. Preston III)	112.1	X			
223.2	2. RACHEAL VILSON-STONER (Olivia Villegas-Liston)	112.1	х			
SAN LUCY	1. DIANA MANUEL (Gloria Ramirez)	109.8	X			
219.6	2. JANA MONTANA ()	109.8	х			
PISINEMO 210.6	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	105.3	Х			
210.0	2. [VACANT] ()	105.3	X			
HICKIW. 196.9	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ () 2. SANDRA ORTEGA	98.45	X			
	(Manuel Osequeda, Jr.)	98.45	X			
HIA CED 19.6	1. PATRICK ANDREWS (Janice E. Paul) 2. VIRGINIA GARCIA	9.8				
	()	9.8	X			
GU VO 241.0	1. GRACE MANUEL (Floyd Flores) 2. PAMELA ANGHILL	120.5				
	(Jeffery Antone, Sr.)	120.5	X	Marks		
GU ACHI 257.3	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	128.65	X			
	2. LORETTA LEWIS (Louis Johnson)	128.65	X			
CHUKUT KUK 319.2	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Marlakay C. Henry)	159.6	X			
	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ ()	159.6	X			
BABOQUIVARI 357.7	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (ROBERTA HARVEY)	178.85	X			
	2. VERNON J. SMITH (Gloria Zazueta)	178.85	Х			
	TOTAL	2,926.9	2,926.9	-0-	-0-	[01]