RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Reaffirming Appointment of Representative Arthur Wilson as Representative to the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Tribal Technical Advisory Committee and Nominating Representative Anthony J. Francisco, Jr. as Alternate)

RESOLUTION NO. 15-280

- 1WHEREAS,the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power "to promote,2protect and provide for public health . . . and general welfare of the Tohono3O'odham Nation and its members" and with the authority "to consult with the4Congress of the United States and appropriate federal agencies regarding5federal activities that affect the Tohono O'odham Nation" (Constitution, Article6VI, Section 1(c)(2) and Section 1(j)); and
- WHEREAS, in 1992 the Congress established the Substance Abuse and Mental Health
 Services Administration ("SAMHSA") as an agency within the U.S. Department of
 Health and Human Services to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental
 illness on America's communities; and
- 11WHEREAS,SAMHSA established the SAMHSA Tribal Technical Advisory Committee12("SAMHSA TTAC") to serve as an advisory body to SAMHSA pursuant to13Presidential Executive Order No. 13175 and the November 9, 2009 Presidential14Memorandum; and
- 15WHEREAS,the SAMHSA TTAC is comprised of 14 elected tribal leaders and designated16alternates selected by their respective tribes to represent each of the 12 Indian17Health Service Area Offices and whose terms shall "coincide with each member's18elected leadership term" (SAMHSA National Advisory Council Charter); and
- 19WHEREAS,Representative Arthur Wilson currently serves as the Nation's SAMHSA TTAC20Tucson Area representative and Representative Loretta Lewis serves as21alternate (Resolution No. 14-049); and

 22
 WHEREAS,
 Representative Loretta Lewis no longer serves on the Health and Human

 23
 Services Committee; and

24WHEREAS,the Health and Human Services Committee reaffirms the appointment of25Representative Arthur Wilson as Tucson Area representative on the SAMHSA26Tribal Technical Advisory Committee and recommends nominating27Representative Anthony J. Francisco, Jr. to serve as alternate to Representative28Arthur Wilson.

RESOLUTION NO. 15-280

(Reaffirming Appointment of Representative Arthur Wilson as Representative to the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Tribal Technical Advisory Committee and Nominating Representative Anthony J. Francisco, Jr. as Alternate) Page 2 of 3

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it reaffirms the appointment of Representative Arthur Wilson as Tucson Area representative on the SAMHSA Tribal Technical Advisory Committee and nominates Representative Anthony J. Francisco, Jr. to serve as alternate to **Representative Arthur Wilson.**

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that appointments made pursuant to this resolution shall supersede any prior nominations and appointments to the SAMHSA Tribal Technical Advisory Committee and shall immediately expire if the appointed representatives no longer serve on the Health and Human Services Committee for any reason.

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 13TH day of <u>IULY, 2015</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 3,015,3 FOR; -0-AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section 1(c)(2), and (j) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL mothy Joanuin, Legislative Chairman day of , 2015

ATTEST:

<u>Hillin</u> Juffing fr Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

15 day of July , 2015

Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the ______ day of ______, 2015 at $\frac{408}{200}$ o'clock, $\frac{1}{200}$.m., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.

RESOLUTION NO. 15-280

(Reaffirming Appointment of Representative Arthur Wilson as Representative to the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Tribal Technical Advisory Committee and Nominating Representative Anthony J. Francisco, Jr. as Alternate) Page 3 of 3

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Fimothy Joan un, Legislative Chairman

APPROVED

on the day of *fille* day of *fille* at <u>6</u>; <u>5</u>³0'clock, <u>f</u>.m. ,2015

[] DISAPPROVED

tast EDWARD D. MANUEL, CHAIRMAN

EDWARD D. MANUEL, CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>17</u> day of

_____, 2015, at <u>9:15</u> o'clock, <u>A</u>.m.

Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

CTION: REAFFIRMING APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVE ARTHUR WILSON AS REPRESENTATIVE TO THE SUBSTANCE ABUSE AND MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES ADMINISTRATION TRIBAL TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE AND NOMINATING REPRESENTATIVE ANTHONY J. FRANCISCO, JR. AS ALTERNATE

10VED: COUNCILMAN CHESTER ANTONE

SECOND:

COUNCILWOMAN DIANA MANUEL

DATE: JULY 13, 2015

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENI
BABOQUIVARI 367.1	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta E. Harvey)	183.55	x			
	2. VERNON J. SMITH (Gloria Zazueta)	183.55	X			
CHUKUT KUK 331.9	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Marlakay K. Henry)	165.95	x			
	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ (Patricia Vicenti)	165.95	х			
GU ACHI 265.1	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	132.55	X			
	2. LORETTA LEWIS ()	132.55	х			
GU VO 249.6	1. GRACE MANUEL (Dallas Lewis)	124.8	x			
	(Jeffery Antone, Sr.)	124.8	х			
HICKIWAN 204.9	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Shirley Molina)	102.45	X			
	2. SANDŘA ORTEGA ()	102.45	X			x
PISINEMO 220.0	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta)	110.0	x			
	(10) MUTTELU) 2. VACANT ()	110.0	Х			x
SAN LUCY 222.9	1. DIANA MANUEL	111.45	X			
	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	111.45	X			
SAN XAVIER 228.6	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III (Gene Enis)	114.3	х			
	2. RACHEAL VILSON-STONER (Olivia Villegas-Liston)	114.3	X			
SCHUK TOAK 180.6	1. ANTHONY J. FRANCISCO JR. (Theresa Donahue)	90.3	Х			
	2. QUINTIN C. LOPEZ (Absent) (John Fendenheim) (Present)	90.3	X			
SELLS 513.1	1. ARTHUR WILSON <i>(Absent)</i> (Beverly Rivas) <i>(Present)</i>	256.55	X			
	2. BARBARA HAVIER	256.55	X			
SIF OIDAK 231.5	1. LUCINDA ALLEN (Nicholas Jose)	115.75	x			
	(110 MARY LOPEZ ()	115.75	X		;	
	TOTAL	3,015.3	3,015.3	-0-	-0-	[02]