## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Agnes Joaquin to the Enrollment Committee)

**RESOLUTION NO. 15-417** 

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to provide for,
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers
3		of committees, boards, officers and agents" (Article VI, Section 1(b) of the
4		Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation); and
5	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council has enacted and subsequently amended Ordinance No.
6		05-81, the "Enrollment Ordinance," which establishes an Enrollment Committee
7		to oversee enrollment into memberships in the Tohono O'odham Nation; and
8	WHEREAS,	the Enrollment Ordinance provides that the Enrollment Committee "shall be
9		composed of five members of the Tohono O'odham Nation who are bilingual in
10		the O'odham and English languages" and whose members "shall be appointed
11		by the Chairman of the Nation, subject to the approval of the Tohono O'odham
12		Legislative Council" (14 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Article II, Section 1(A) and 1(B)); and
13	WHEREAS,	Committee members "shall be appointed for a five-year term, but shall continue
14	E	to serve until the member's successor is appointed. Vacancies shall be filled for
15		the unexpired term of that seat on the Committee and appointments shall be
16		staggered so that no more than two members' terms shall expire in the same
17		year." (14 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Article II, Section 1(C)); and
18	WHEREAS,	subject to the approval by the Legislative Council, the Chairman of the Tohono
19		O'odham Nation has appointed Ms. Agnes Joaquin to the Enrollment Committee
20		to fill a vacant seat; and
21	WHEREAS,	if approved, Agnes Joaquin would serve on the Enrollment Committee until
22		January 1, 2021; provided that she would continue to serve until replaced by a
23		successor who is appointed in accordance with the Enrollment Ordinance.
24	NOW, THERE	FORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approves the
25		appointment of Agnes Joaquin to the Enrollment Committee upon the effective
26		date of this resolution; notwithstanding 14 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Article II, Section
27		1(C), Ms. Joaquin's term shall expire on January 1, 2021, provided that she shall
28		continue to serve until her successor has been appointed in accordance with the
29		Enrollment Ordinance.
	1	

RESOLUTION NO. 15-417 (Appointing Agnes Joaquin to the Enrollment Committee)
Page 2 of 3

1	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the	05 <sup>TH</sup>
2 3	day of NOVEMBER, 2015 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,518.9 F	OR;
3	502.5 AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [03] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Cou	
4	by Article VI, Section 1(b) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by	the
5	Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assist	tant
6	Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Ac	t of
7	June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).	
7 8		
9	TOHONO O ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL	
10	/b. ///	
11		
12		
13	Timothy Jon Quin, Legislative Chairman	
14		
15		
16	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
17		
18	ATTEST:	
19		
20	1 MMNAUL	
21	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary	
22	$\mathbf{I}$	
23		
24		
25	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Toho	ono
26	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Toho O'odham Nation on the day of Note that , 2015 at o'clock,	.m
27	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become	me
28	effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within	
29	hours of submittal.	
30		
31	TQHONO Q'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL	
32	1/1	
33	1 VAMITUS VACA (	
34	////////////////////////////////////	
35	Limothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman	
36		
37	Į	
38		
39	1. On 1	
40	APPROVED on the D day of Horember, 2015	
41	[	
42	[ ] DISAPPROVED at £ 220'clock, 4.m.	
43	90 1000 11	
44	Lalenard & Millian	
45	EDWARD D. MANUEL, CHAIRMAN	
46	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION	
47		

48 49

**RESOLUTION NO. 15-417** 

 ACTION: APPOINTING AGNES JOAQUIN TO THE ENROLLMENT COMMITTEE

MOVED: COUNCILMAN LOUIS R. LOPEZ SECOND: COUNCILMAN ANTHONY FRANCISCO, JR.

DATE: NOVEMBER 05, 2015

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
BABOQUIVARI 367.2	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta E. Harvey)	183.60	Х			
307.2	2. VERNON J. SMITH <i>(Absent)</i> (Gloria Zazueta) <i>(Present)</i>	183.60	X	1		
CHUKUT KUK 332.1	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Marlakay K. Henry)	166.05	X			
JJ2.1	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ (Patricia Vicenti)	166.05	X			
GU ACHI 265.0	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	132.50		X		
203.0	2. LORETTA LEWIS	132.50	X			
GU VO 250.6	1. GRACE MANUEL (Dallas Lewis)	125.30	Х			·
250.6	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Jeffery Antone, Sr.)	125.30	X			
HICKIWAN 205.8	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Shirley Molina)	102.90	Х			
203.6	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	102.90	X			
PISINEMO 219.9	1. CHESTER ANTONE	109.95	X			х
213.3	2, MONICA K. MORGAN	109.95	x			
SAN LUCY 226.5	1. DIANA MANUEL	113.25	X			
22013	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	113.25		X		
SAN XAVIER 228.6	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	114.30	X		·	
	2. RACHEAL VILSON-STONER (Olivia Villegas-Liston)	114.30	X			
SCHUK TOAK		90.30	Х		-	
180.6	2. QUINTIN C. LOPEZ (John Fendenheim)	90.30	X			X
SELLS 513.5	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Beverly Rivas)	256.75	X			<u>.                                    </u>
3.3.3	2. BARBARA HAVIER	256.75		X		
SIF OIDAK	1. LUCINDA ALLEN	115.80	X			
231.6	(Nicholas Jose) 2. MARY LOPEZ ( )	115.80	X		,	X
	TOTAL	3,021.4	2,518.9	502.5	-0-	[03]