RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing the Human Resources Development Committee members as Interim TERO Commissioners)

RESOLUTION NO. 16-063

1	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council is vested with the authority to enact ordinances "to
2		promote, protect and provide for public health, peace, morals, education and
3		general welfare of the Tohono O'odham Nation and its members" and the power
4		"to provide for, appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the
5		duties and powers of committees, boards, officers and agents" (Constitution of
6		the Tohono O'odham Nation, Article VI, Section 1(c)(2) and 1(b)); and
7	WHEREAS,	in 1985 the Papago Council enacted the Papago Employment Rights Ordinance
8		("TERO Ordinance"), thereby establishing the Papago Employment Rights
9		Commission (a.k.a., "TERO Commission") and vesting the Council with the power
10		to select, appoint, and remove TERO Commissioners by resolution (13 Tohono
11		O'odham Code, Chapter 1 Tribal Employment Rights); and
12	WHEREAS,	in 2012, the Nation suspended the TERO Commissioners by Resolution No. 12-
13		384 "Suspending TERO Commissioners" and ultimately removed the TERO
14		Commissioners by Resolution No. 14-060 "Removing TERO Commissioners"; and
15	WHEREAS,	in 2013 when the TERO Commissioners were suspended but had not yet been
16		removed, interim TERO Commissioners were appointed, until successors could
17		be appointed, so that the Commission could conduct business, ensure that
18		Indian preference was enforced, and provide necessary services for the Nation's
19		members (Resolution No. 13-354); and
20	WHEREAS,	because all of the interim Commissioners have resigned, the interim TERO
21		Commission can no longer form a quorum and can no longer conduct business;
22		and
23	WHEREAS,	the Human Resources Development Committee recommends appointing the
24		Human Resources Development Committee members as interim TERO
25		Commissioners until successors are appointed or as otherwise provided by
26		subsequent action of the Legislative Council.
27	NOW, THERE	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council appoints
28		Representatives Chester Antone, Louis R. Lopez, Daniel L.A. Preston, III, Sandra
29		Ortega and Barbara Havier as interim TERO Commissioners for a term of six
	I	

(Appointing the Human Resources Development Committee members as Interim TERO Commissioners) Page 2 of 3 months beginning on the effective date of this resolution; and further provided 1 2 that nothing in this resolution precludes the Legislative Council from 3 appointing TERO Commissioners to replace interim TERO Commissioners 4 during their six-month term and that the Nation's Board Appointment 5 Guidelines shall not apply to the appointments made by this resolution. 6 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that if an interim TERO 7 Commissioner appointed by this resolution no longer serves on the Human 8 Resources Development Committee for any reason, his appointment shall 9 expire immediately. 10 BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that the interim TERO 11 Commissioners appointed by this resolution shall not be eligible for per diem, 12 mileage, travel expenses or any other payments as interim TERO 13 Commissioners, but may be reimbursed for mileage from the Legislative Branch 14 budget in accordance with applicable Legislative Branch policies. 15 The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 11^{TH} 16 day of <u>FEBRUARY, 2016</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>3.021.4</u> FOR; 17 <u>-0-</u> AGAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by 18 Article VI, Section 1 (c)(2) and (b) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by 19 the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant 20 Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of 21 June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984). 22 23 ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 24 25 26 27 mothy Joaqu Legislative Chairman 28 29 30 31 32 33 ATTE 34 35 36 **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** 37 38

RESOLUTION NO. 16-063

RESOLUTION NO. 16-063 (Appointing the Human Resources Development Committee members as Interim TERO Commissioners) Page 3 of 3								
Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the day of, 2016 at, 2016 at, o'clock,, m., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.								
TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Timothy Joaquin Legislative Chairman								
APPROVED on the H day of Fellung, 2016								
at 4.4.7 o'clock, f.m. EDWARD D. MANUEL, CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION								
Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>19</u> day of								
Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary								

ACTION: APPOINTING THE HUMAN RESOURCES DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE MEMBERS AS INTERIM TERO

COMMISSIONERS

MOTION: COUNCILWOMAN SANDRA ORTEGA SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN MONICA K. MORGAN

DATE: FEBRUARY 11, 2016

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
BABOQUIVARI 367.2	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta E. Harvey)	183.60	X			
	2. VERNON J. SMITH (Absent) (Gloria Zazueta) (Present)	183.60	X			
CHUKUT KUK 332.1	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Marlakay K. Henry)	166.05	X			
	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ (Patricia Vicenti)	166.05	x			
GU ACHI 265.0	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	132.50	Х			
	2. LORETTA LEWIS	132.50	X			
GU VO 250.6	1. GRACE MANUEL (Dallas Lewis)	125.30	x			
	2. PAMELA ANGHILI. (Jeffery Antone, Sr.)	125.30	x			
HICKIWAN 205.8	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Shirley Molina)	102.90	X			х
	2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	102.90	X			
PISINEMO 219.9	1. CHESTER ANTONE	109.95	X			x
	2. MONICA K. MORGAN	109.95	X			
SAN LUCY 226.5	1. DIANA MANUEL	113.25	X			
	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	113.25	X			
SAN XAVIER 228.6	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	114.30	x			
	2. RACHEAL VILSON-STONER (Olivia Villegas-Liston)	114.30	x			
SCHUK TOAK 180.6	l () -	90.30	X			
	2. QUINTÍN C. LOPEZ (Absent) (John Fendenheim) (Present)	90.30	X			
SELLS 513.5	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Beverly Rivas)	256.75	X			
	2. BARBARA HAVIER ()	256.75	Х			
SIF OIDAK 231.6	1. LUCINDA ALLEN (Nicholas Jose)	115.80	X			
	2. MARY LOPEZ ()	115.80	X			
	TOTAL	3,021.4	3,021. 4	-0-	-0-	[02]