RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Updating List of Traditional O'odham Leaders of the O'odham in Mexico Communities)

RESOLUTION NO. 16-160

1 WHEREAS. pursuant to Article XVI, Section 9 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham 2 Nation. 3 It shall be the policy of the Tohono O'odham Nation to seek the return to 4 the Tohono O'odham Nation of lands and natural resources, including 5 minerals and water rights, within or adjacent to the Tohono O'odham 6 Nation, or which originally were a part of the historic Papagueria. 7 : and 8 WHEREAS. in 1995 the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council adopted Resolution No. 95-562, 9 "Recognition of the O'odham in Mexico communities and Traditional 10 government in order to address issues for Tohono O'odham members who 11 reside on Tohono O'odham ancestral land in Mexico; and 12 WHEREAS. Resolution No. 95-562 approved a list of Traditional O'odham Leaders in Mexico, 13 and the list was updated by Resolution 05-725 to reflect "representatives have 14 either resigned, expired or no longer can serve in their official capacity and in 15 some cases new representatives have been appointed since 1995"; and 16 WHEREAS. Resolution No. 13-444 amended the list of Traditional O'odham Leaders 17 approved by Resolution No. 05-725 to add the Pitiquito Community and the 18 Community representative and alternate; and 19 WHEREAS. the Domestic Affairs Committee recommends updating the identified 20 Traditional O'odham Leaders of Wo'osan. 21 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council updates the 22 list of Traditional O'odham Leaders for Wo'osan/El Bajio to include Jacob Serapo 23 - Primary and Arthur Bailey - Alternate. 24 The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 21st 25 day of APRIL, 2016 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,656.5 FOR; 114.3 AGAINST; [01] NOT VOTING; and 250.6 [05] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the 26 27 Council by Article VI, Section 1(c)(8) and Article XVI, Section 9 of the Constitution of the Tohono 28 O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved 29 by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, 30 pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). 31 32 33 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 34 35 36 FOX 37 Timothy Joaquin Legislative Chairman

22 day of Aor . 2016

38

39 40 41

RESOLUTION NO. <u>16-160</u> (Updating List of Traditional O'odham Leaders of the O'odham in Mexico Communities) Page 2 of 2

Munalen	
Evonne Wilson, Legislative Se	7
Said Resolution was submit	ted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the
pursuant to the provisions	day of (1) $(2016 \text{ at } 1)$ $(2016 \text{ o'clock}, 2016 \text{ at } 1)$ o'clock, of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will
effective upon his approval of hours of submittal.	or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it w
nours of Submittal.	
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
A KARRAGURA	22
APPROVED	on the 22 day of Africa, 2016 at 3:42 o'clock, f.m.
] DISAPPROVED	at <u>3:42</u> o'clock, <u>f</u> .m.
	Minu III lenne
	EDWARD D. MANUEL, CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
	DE-
Returned to the Legislative Se	-
<u>Cloud</u> , 201	16, at <u>2:15</u> o'clock, <u>p</u> .m.
	,
Munden	
Evonne Wilson, Legislative Se	cretary

ACTION: UPDATING LIST OF TRADITIONAL O'ODHAM LEADERS OF THE O'ODHAM IN MEXICO COMMUNITIES

MOVED: COUNCILMAN BILLMAN LOPEZ SECOND: COUNCILMAN QUINTIN C. LOPEZ

DATE: APRIL 21, 2016

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
BABOQUIVARI 367.2	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta E. Harvey)	183.60	X			
	2. VERNON J. SMITH (Gloria Zazueta)	183.60	X			X
CHUKUT KUK 332.1	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Marlakay K. Henry)	166.05	x			
	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ (Patricia Vicenti)	166.05	x			
GU ACHI 265.0	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	132.50	x		·	
	2. LORETTA LEWIS	132.50	x	x		
GUVO	1. GRACE MANUEL (Absent)	125,30	X	X		X
250.6	(Dallas Lewis) (Present) 2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Absent) (Jeffery Antone, Sr.) (Present)	125.30			·	X
HICKIWAN 205.8	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Shirley Molina)	102.90	X			
	2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	102.90	X			
PISINEMO 219.9	1. CHESTER ANTONE	109.95	X		-	
	2. MONICA K. MORGAN	109.95	X			X
SAN LUCY 226.5	1. DIANA MANUEL	113.25	X			
	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	113.25	X			
SAN XAVIER 228.6	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	114.30		х		
	2. RACHEAL VILSON-STONER (Olivia Villegas-Liston)	114.30	X			
SCHUK TOAK 180.6	1. ANTHONY J. FRANCISCO JR.	90.30	X			
	2. QUINTIN C. LOPEZ (John Fendenheim)	90.30	X			
SELLS 513.5	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Beverly Rivas)	256.75	X			
	2. BARBARA HAVIER	256.75	X			
SIF OIDAK 231.6	1. LUCINDA ALLEN (Absent) (Nicholas Jose) (Present)	115.80	X			x
231.0	2. MARY LOPEZ	115.80	X			
	TOTAL	3,021.4	2,656.5	114.3	[01]	250.6 [05]