RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Approving the Appointment of Richard Saunders as Department of Public Safety Executive Director)

RESOLUTION NO. 16-316

WHEREAS,	Article VII, Section 2(e) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation vests
	the Nation's chairperson with authority to appoint the Nation's treasurer, and
	other officers and heads of all governmental departments with the approval of
	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council; and
WHEREAS,	Chairman Edward Manuel has identified Richard Saunders as the appointee for
	the Department of Public Safety Executive Director; and
WHEREAS,	pursuant to Article III, Section 6(B) of the Legislative Rules of the Tohono
	O'odham Legislative Council, the chairperson's "appointee to the position of
	treasurer or other officers or heads of governmental departments shall not be
	added to any Legislative Council session agenda for approval unless the
	appropriate legislative committee interviews the appointee after receiving a
	resume and written background investigation report" containing detailed
	employment, education, credit, litigation, and other information necessary to
	determine the appointee's qualifications and fitness ; and
WHEREAS,	the Legislative Conncil Domestic Affairs Committee has received and reviewed
	the detailed written background investigation report required by the Legislative
	Rules and interviewed the appointee and recommends the Legislative Council
	approves appointment.
NOW, THERE	FORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approves the
	appointment of Richard Saunders as Department of Public Safety Executive
	Director; provided that Richard Saunders shall serve until replaced at the
	request of the Nation's chairperson.
day of JULY, 1,094.25 AGA Council by A O'odham Na by the Actin	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 22 ND 2016 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,927.15 FOR; MINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [05] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the rticle VI, Section 1(d) and Article VII, Section 2(e) of the Constitution of the Tohono tion, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved ng Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986; Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).
	WHEREAS, WHEREAS, WHEREAS, NOW, THERE The foregoin day of JULY, 1,094.25 AGA Council by A O'odham Na by the Actin

34 35 36

(Approving the Appointment of Richard Saunders as Department of Public Safety Executive Director) Page 2 of 2 DHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL duin, Legislative Chairman ATTEST: Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. TQHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL mothy Joaquid, Legislative Chairman **M** APPROVED // iOZo'clock,_ [] DISAPPROVED EDWARD D. MANUEL, CHAIRMAN **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the /o'clock. W.m. . 2016. at //·4

RESOLUTION NO. 16-316

 Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

ACTION: APPROVING THE APPOINTMENT OF RICHARD SAUNDERS AS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

MOVED: COUNCILMAN DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN LUCINDA ALLEN

DATE: JULY 22, 2016

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 367,2	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Absent) (Roberta E. Harvey) (Present)	183.60	х			Х
	2. VERNON J. SMITH (Gloria Zazueta)	183.60	X			
CHUKUT KUK 332.1	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Marlakay K. Henry)	166.05	X		-	
	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ (Patricia Vicenti)	166.05	X			
GU ACHI 265.0	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	132.50		X		
	2. LORETTA LEWIS ()	132.50		X		
GU VO 250.6	1. GRACE MANUEL (Dallas Lewis)	125.30	Х			
	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Absent) (Jeffery Antone, Sr.) (Present)	125.30	X			X
HICKIWAN 205.8	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Shirley Molina)	102.90		X		X
	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	102.90		х		
PISINEMO 219.9	1. CHESTER ANTONE ()	109.95		X		
	2. MONICA K. MORGAN	109.95	X			
SAN LUCY 226.5	1. DIANA MANUEL ()	113.25	X			
	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	113.25	X			
SAN XAVIER 228.6	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III ()	114.3	X			
	2. RACHEAL VILSON-STONER (Absent) (Olivia Villegas-Liston) (Present)	114.3	X			X
SCHUK TOAK 180.6	1. ANTHONY J. FRANCISCO JR.	90.3	х			
	2. QUINTIN C. LOPEZ (John Fendenheim)	90.3	x			X
SELLS 513.5	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Absent) (Beverly Rivas) (Present)	256.75		х		
	2. BARBARA HAVIER	256.75	:	x		
SIF OIDAK	1. LUCINDA ALLEN	115.80	x		<u> </u>	
231.6	(Nicholas Jose) 2. MARY LOPEZ ()	115.80	x			
TOTAL		3,021.4	1,927.15	1,094.25	-0-	[05]