RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Extending Interim TERO Commissioners Appointments)

RESOLUTION NO. 16-412

1	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council is vested with the authority to enact ordinances "to
2		promote, protect and provide for public health, peace, morals, education and
3		general welfare of the Tohono O'odham Nation and its members" and the power
4		"to provide for, appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the
5		duties and powers of committees, boards, officers and agents" (Constitution of
6		the Tohono O'odham Nation, Article VI, Section 1(c)(2) and 1(b)); and
7	WHEREAS,	in 1985 the Papago Council enacted the Papago Employment Rights Ordinance
8		("TERO Ordinance"), thereby establishing the Papago Employment Rights
9		Commission (a.k.a., "TERO Commission") and vesting the Council with the power
10	l	to select, appoint, and remove TERO Commissioners by resolution (13 Tohono
11		O'odham Code, Chapter 1 Tribal Employment Rights); and
12	WHEREAS,	in 2012, the Nation suspended the TERO Commissioners by Resolution No. 12-384
13		"Suspending TERO Commissioners" and ultimately removed the TERO
14		Commissioners by Resolution No. 14-060 "Removing TERO Commissioners"; and
15	WHEREAS,	in 2013 when the TERO Commissioners were suspended but had not yet been
16		${\bf removed, interim TERO Commissioners were appointed to serve until successors}$
17		could be appointed so that the Commission could conduct business, ensure that
18		Indian preference was enforced, and provide necessary services for the Nation's
19		members (Resolution No. 13-354); and
20	WHEREAS,	because all interim Commissioners had resigned, Representatives Chester
21		Antone, Louis R. Lopez, Daniel L.A. Preston, III, Sandra Ortega and Barbara Havier
22		were appointed as interim TERO Commissioners until successors were appointed
23		or as otherwise provided by subsequent action of the Legislative Council
24		(Resolution No. 16-063); and
25	WHEREAS,	it is in the Nation's best interest that the interim commissioner appointments be
26		extended until successors are appointed to exercise the Commission's functions
27		and evaluate TERO operations.
28	NOW, THERE	FORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council extends the
29		appointments of Representatives Chester Antone, Louis R. Lopez, Daniel L.A.
30		Preston, III, Sandra Ortega and Barbara Havier as interim TERO Commissioners;
31		provided that
32		

	RESOLUTION NO. 16-412 (Extending Interim TERO Commissioners Appointments) Page 2 of 3
1	(1) nothing in this resolution precludes the Legislative Council from
2	appointing TERO Commissioners to replace interim TERO Commissioners
3	(2) if an interim TERO Commissioner appointed by this resolution no longer
4	serves on the Human Resources Development Committee for any reason
5	his appointment shall expire immediately;
6	(3) the interim TERO Commissioners appointed by this resolution shall not be
7	eligible for per diem, mileage, travel expenses or any other payments as
8	interim TERO Commissioners, but may be reimbursed for mileage fron
9	the Legislative Branch budget in accordance with applicable Legislative
10	Branch policies; and
11	(4) the term of each interim Commissioner shall be extended until a
12	successor has been appointed.
13	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that permanent TERO Commissioners shall be appointed in
14	accordance with 13 T.O.C. Chapter 1 and the Tohono O'odham Nation Board
15	Appointment Guidelines.
16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 22ND day of AUGUST, 2016 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 3,021.4 FOR; -0. AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section 1(c)(2) and 1(b) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984). TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Timothy Joaquin, Logislative Chairman 27 TH day of Tohono O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

RESOLUTION NO. 16-412 (Extending Interim TERO Commissioners Appointments) Page 3 of 3 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 2 3 5 6 7 8 Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman on the Hugust, 2016 | APPROVED at 2:00 o'clock, 1. .m. [] DISAPPROVED TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION 24 25 Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 34 day of 27 28 Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary 34

ACTION: EXTENDING INTERIM TERO COMMISSIONERS APPOINTMENTS

MOVED: COUNCILMAN QUINTIN C. LOPEZ SECOND: COUNCILMAN DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III

DATE: AUGUST 22, 2016

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	#OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 367.2	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta E. Harvey)	183.60	x			
307.2	2. VERNON J. SMITH (Gloria Zazueta)	183.60	x			
CHUKUT KUK 332.1	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Marlakay K. Henry)	166.05	X			
	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ (Patricia Vicenti)	166.05	X			
GU ACHI 265.0	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	132.50	X			
	2. LORETTA LEWIS ()	132.50	X			
GU VO 250.6	1. GRACE MANUEL (Dallas Lewis)	125.30	X			
2,0.0	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Jeffery Antone, Sr.)	125.30	x			
HICKIWAN 205.8	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Shirley Molina)	102.90	X			
20310	2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	102.90	x			x
PISINEMO 219.9	1. CHESTER ANTONE	109.95	X			X
	2. MONICA K. MORGAN ()	109.95	x			
SAN LUCY 226.5	1. DIANA MANUEL ()	113.25	X			
220.3	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	113.25	X			
SAN XAVIER 228,6	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	114.3	X			
	2. RACHEAL VILSON-STONER (Olivia Villegas-Liston)	114.3	x			
SCHUK TOAK 180.6	1. ANTHONY J. FRANCISCO JR.	90.3	X			
	2. QUINTIN Ć. LOPEZ (John Fendenheim)	90.3	Х			
SELLS 513.5	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Beverly Rivas)	256.75	Х			
	2. BARBARA HAVIER ()	256.75	x			
SIF OIDAK 231,6	1. LUCINDA ALLEN (Nicholas Jose)	115.80	х			
	2. MARY LOPEZ	115.80	x			
	TOTAL	3,021.4	3,021.4	-0-	-0-	[02]