## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving the Bylaws of the Hewel Ni'ok Community Advisory Board)

RESOLUTION NO. 17-153

1	WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation vests the Legislative Council with
2		the authority to "provide for, appoint, or provide for the appointment of and
3		prescribe the duties and powers of committees, boards, officers and agents"
4		(Constitution, Article VI, Section 1(b)); and
5	WHEREAS,	the Federal Communications Commission has issued licenses to the Tohono
6		O'odham Nation ("the Nation") for KOHN FM and KOHH FM (collectively "the
7		Station"), two full powered non-commercial radio stations; and
8	WHEREAS,	the Corporation for Public Broadcasting ("CPB") has awarded the Nation a
9		Community Service Grant ("CSG") for operational support of KOHN's radio
10		broadcast operations and all grantees must spend a portion of CSG funding on
11		costs related to the acquisition or production of national programming; and
12	WHEREAS,	KOHN recommends that the Nation establish a Community Advisory Board for the
13		Station in the spirit of the Communications Act of 1934, 47 U.S.C. §396 et seq. (the
14		"Act") and CPB's Communications Act Compliance, issued on June 1, 2016; and
15	WHEREAS,	the Act requires a non-exempt CPB grantee to undertake good faith efforts to
16		ensure that, "its advisory board meets at regular intervals, the members of its
17		advisory board regularly attend the meetings of the advisory board, and the
18		composition of its advisory board are reasonably representative of the diverse
19		needs and interests of the communities served by such station." (CPB
20		Communications Act Compliance, Section IV, Community Advisory Board,
21		subsection A. Governing Legislation, page 7); and
22	WHEREAS,	Hewel Ni'ok has prepared and submitted for review and approval the Bylaws of
23		the Hewel Ni'ok Community Advisory Board ("Bylaws"), which is incorporated by
24		this reference; and
25	WHEREAS,	the Cultural Preservation Committee has reviewed the Bylaws and recommends
26		approval.
27	NOW, THERE	FORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approves the
28		Bylaws of the Hewel Ni'ok Community Advisory Board.
29		
30		
31		

## **RESOLUTION NO. 17-153**

(Approving the Bylaws of the Hewel Ni'ok Community Advisory Board) Page 2 of 3

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 07th day of APRIL, 2017 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 3.021.4 FOR; -0-AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [05] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section 1(b) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** day of , 2017 Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman APPROVED [ ] DISAPPROVED EDWARD D. MANUEL, CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

(Approving the Bylaws Page 3 of 3	of the Hewel Ni'ok Community Advisory Board)
<i>7</i> I	lative Secretary on the <u>//3</u> day of
_ ame	, 2017, at <u>3; 7</u> 0'clock, <u> </u>
armed	<b>L</b>
Evonne Wilson, Legisl	

ACTION: APPROVING THE BYLAWS OF THE HEWEL NI'OK COMMUNITY ADVISORY BOARD

MOVED: COUNCILMAN ARTHUR WILSON SECOND: COUNCILMAN LOUIS R. LOPEZ

DATE: APRIL 07, 2017

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	183.60	Х			х
367.2	(Roberta E. Harvey) 2. VERNON J. SMITH (Absent) (Gloria Zazueta) (Present)	183.60	x			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA (Marla Kay Henry)	166.05	Х			
332,1	2. BILLMAN LOPEZ (Patricia Vicenti)	166.05	x			
GU ACHI 265.0	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	132.50	х			
203.0	2. LORETTA LEWIS	132.50	x			
GU VO 250.6	1. GRACE MANUEL (Dallas Lewis)	125.30	х			
230.6	2. PAMELA ANGHILL (Absent) (Jeffery Antone, Sr.) (Present)	125.30	x			
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Shirley Molina)	102.90	х			
205.8	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	102.90	x			х
PISINEMO 219.9	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Absent) (Caroline D. Garcia) (Present)	109.95	Х			
213.3	2. MONICA K. MORGAN	109.95	x			
SAN LUCY 226.5	1. DIANA MANUEL (Lorraine Eiler)	113.25	X			,
	2. JANA MONTANA (Gloria Ramirez)	113.25	x			
SAN XAVIER 228.6	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III (Felicia Nunez)	114.3	Х			
	2. RACHEAL VILSON-STONER (Olivia Villegas-Liston)	114.3	x			X
SCHUK TOAK 180.6	1. ANTHONY J. FRANCISCO JR.	90.3	х			Х
100.0	2. QUINTIN C. LOPEZ (John Fendenheim)	90.3	x			
SELLS 513.5	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Beverly Rivas)	256.75	х			
313.3	2. BARBARA HAVIER (Idaleen Reyes)	256.75	x			
SIF OIDAK 231.6	1. LUCINDA ALLEN	115.80	X			
231.0	2. MARY LOPEZ	115.80	x			x
	TOTAL	3,021.4	3,021.4	-0-	-0-	[05]