RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving 2020 Annual Scheduling Agreement with New Magma Irrigation and Drainage District)

RESOLUTION NO. 19-470

		() C (1) (1) (Compoil with					
1	WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation vests the Legislative Council with					
2		the power "to consult, negotiate and conclude agreements and contracts on					
3		behalf of the Tohono O'odham Nation with Federal, State and local governments					
4		and other Indian tribes or their departments, agencies, or political subdivisions,					
5		or with private persons or organizations on all matters within the authority of the					
6		Tohono O'odham Council." (Constitution, Article VI, Section 1(f)); and					
7	WHEREAS,	by Resolution No. 15-351 the Tohono O'odham Nation approved an agreement					
8		with the New Magma Irrigation and Drainage District providing for delivery of a					
9		portion of the Nation's CAP water for water storage at a groundwater savings					
10		facility (the "Agreement"), and the Agreement was executed by the parties on					
11		December 12, 2015; and					
12	WHEREAS,	the original term of the Agreement was for two calendar years, from January 1,					
13		2016 to December 31, 2017; and					
14	WHEREAS,	the term of the Agreement was subsequently amended to end on December 31,					
15		2022; and					
16	WHEREAS,	the Agreement allows the parties to negotiate a quantity of water and a price each					
17		year, as set forth in an Annual Scheduling Agreement; and					
18	WHEREAS,	the Water Resources Committee has reviewed the 2020 Annual Scheduling					
19		Agreement and recommends approval.					
20	NOW, THERE	FORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approves the					
21	2020 Annual Scheduling Agreement with the New Magma Irrigation and Drainage						
22		District substantially in the form attached, and authorizes the Chairman of the					
23	Nation to execute the Agreement and any additional documentation reasonably						
24		necessary to implement the intent of the Agreement.					
25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32	day of DECE <u>-0-</u> AGAINST Council by A O'odham Na the Acting D	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 18 TH MBER, 2019 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,961.9 FOR; ; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>213.8[07]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the rticle VI, Section 1(f) and Article XVII, Section 2 of the Constitution of the Tohono tion, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by eputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).					
32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Millitum 75 Vimothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman day of, 2019					

RESOLUTION NO. 19-470

(Approving 2020 Annual Scheduling Agreement with New Magma Irrigation and Drainage District) Page 2 of 2

ATTEST: **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary**

13 day of Muimlin, 2019

Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the _____ day of ______, 2019 at $\frac{4.5.4}{1.5.4}$ o'clock, _____ .m., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.

APPROVED

[] DISAPPROVED

Mimothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman on the day of . 2019 at S^{\prime} o'clock. m.

TQHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the ______day of

<u>Aleumluc</u>, 2019, at <u>9:47</u> o'clock, <u>a</u>.m.

Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

ACTION: APPROVING 2020 ANNUAL SCHEDULING AGREEMENT WITH NEW MAGMA IRRIGATION AND DRAINAGE DISTRICT

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN MARY LOPEZ

SECOND: VICE CHAIRMAN QUINTIN C. LOPEZ

DATE: DECEMBER 18, 2019

TE: DECEMBI	DECEMBER 18, 2019							
DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT		
BABOQUIVARI 384.8	1. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)	192.40	x					
	2. ALBERTA J. RAY <i>(Absent)</i> (Frances G. Antone) <i>(Present)</i>	192.40	X			x		
CHUKUT KUK 347.5	1. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Juanita Homer)	173.75	x					
	2. MARLAKAY HENRY <i>(Absent)</i> (Billman Lopez) <i>(Present)</i>	173.75	x			x		
GU ACHI 279.3	1. VICTORIA HOBBS ()	139.65	x			x		
	2. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	139.65	x					
GU VO 264.5	1. DALLAS LEWIS (Nacho Flores)	132.25	x					
_0415	2. GRACE MANUEL ()	132.25	x					
HICKIWAN 213.8	1. SANDRA D. ORTEGA	106.90			·	x		
213.0	2. LOUIS R. LOPEZ <i>(Absent)</i> (Delma M. Garcia) <i>(Present)</i>	106.90				х		
PISINEMO 230.7	1. MONICA K. MORGAN ()	115.35	x					
	2. MARIÉTTA MARTIN	115.35	x					
SAN LUCY 235.6	1. GLORIA RAMIREZ	117.80	x					
	2. JANA MONTANA (Lorraine M. Eiler)	117.80	x					
SAN XAVIER 238.9	1. JANICE FELIX (Adam Andrews)	119.45	x					
	2. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III (Racheal Vilson-Stoner)	119.45	x					
SCHUK TOAK 189.0	1. QUINTIN C. LOPEZ (Agnes V. Joaquin)	94.50	x			x		
	2. TERESA F. DONAHUE (Alberta Espinoza)	94.50	x					
SELLS 547.1	1. EVELYN JUAN MANUEL ()	273.55	x					
	2. ARTHUR WILSON (273.55	x			X		
SIF OIDAK 244.5	1. LUCINDA ALLEN <i>(Absent)</i> (Yolonda Garcia) <i>(Present)</i>	122.25	x					
	2. MARY LOPEZ (Ann M. Garcia)	122.25	x					
	TOTAL	3,175.7	2,961.9	-0-	-0-	213.8		
						[07]		