## LEGISLATIVE ORDER OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Certifying Elections of Council Representatives to the Legislative Council Standing Committees, Certifying Committee Officers, and Seating Council Representatives to Committee Memberships)

## LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 21-171

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to establish
2		rules and procedures to regulate all meetings of the Council and its standing
3		committees (Constitution, Article VI, Section 1(a)); and
4	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Rules of the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council ("Legislative
5		Rules") provide that "[u]pon the certification of elected officers, the Legislative
6		Council shall, in alphabetical order of the current legislative committees,
7		proceed with the election of legislative committee members" by the process of
8		retention, seniority, and other means (Legislative Rules, Article XII, Section 3);
9		and
10	WHEREAS,	following the election of all legislative committee members, "[t]he Le:gislative
11		Chairperson, along with the Legislative Vice Chairperson, and the Legislative
12		Secretary, shall call the respective legislative committees into committee
13		caucuses to elect new officers." (Legislative Rules, Article XII, Section 3(J)(2)); and
14	WHEREAS,	on June 11, 2021, the Legislative Council elected committee members $\mathbf{a}_{n}$ of ficers
15		to the twelve standing committees in accordance with Article XII, Section 3 of the
16		Legislative Rules.
17	NOW, THERE	FORE, BE IT ORDERED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council certifies the
18		elections of legislative committee members and committee officers and seats
19		Council representatives to the following committee memberships:
20		
21		Agricultural and Natural Resources
22		1. Marlakay Henry, Chairperson
23		2. Roger Manuel, Vice Chairperson
24		3. Mary Lopez
25		4. Jana Montana
26		5. Teresa Donahue
27		
28		Appropriations
29		1. Grace Manuel, Chairperson
30		2. Daniel L.A. Preston, III, Vice Chairperson
31		3. Jana Montana
32		4. Marietta Martin

(Issuing Certificates of Election from the May 22, 2021 General Election for the Offices of Representatives and Alternates to the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council and Seating Such Elected Officials) Page 2 of 4 1 5. Vivian Juan-Saunders 2 3 **Budget and Finance** Marlakay Henry, Chairperson 4 5 2. Evelyn Juan Manuel, Vice Chairperson 3. Marietta Martin 6 7 4. Janice Felix 8 5. Victoria Hobbs 9 10 Commerce 11 **Grace Manuel, Chairperson** 2. Arthur Wilson, Vice Chairperson 12 13 3. Jana Montana 14 4. Janice Felix 15 5. Louis Lopez 16 17 **Cultural Preservation** 18 1. Arthur Wilson, Chairperson 19 2. Louis Lopez, Vice Chairperson 20 3. Sandra Ortega 21 4. **Dallas Lewis** 22 **5**. **Marlakay Henry** 23 24 **Domestic Affairs** 25 **Grace Manuel, Chairperson** 26 2. Leander Mase, Vice Chairperson 27 3. Lucinda Allen 28 Vivian Juan-Saunders 4. 29 5. Victoria Hobbs 30 31 **Health and Human Services** 32 1. Leander Mase, Chairperson 33 2. Sandra Ortega, Vice Chairperson 34 3. Daniel L.A. Preston, III

**LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 21-171** 

	LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 21-171 (Issuing Certificates of Election from the May 22, 2021 General Election for the Offices o Representatives and Alternates to the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council and Seating Such Elected Officials) Page 3 of 4
1	4. Marietta Martin
2	5. Evelyn Juan-Manuel
3	
4	Housing
5	1. Victoria Hobbs, Chairperson
6	2. Edward Manuel, Vice Chairperson
7	3. Vivian Juan-Saunders
8	4. Roger Manuel
9	5. DeLisa Ramon
10	
11	Human Resources Development
12	1. Janice Felix, Chairperson
13	2. Lucinda Allen, Vice Chairperson
14	3. Sandra Ortega
15	4. Teresa Donahue
16	5. DeLisa Ramon
17	
18	Judiciary
19	1. Leander Mase, Chairperson
20	2. Evelyn Juan-Manuel, Vice Chairperson
21	3. Dallas Lewis
<ul><li>22</li><li>23</li></ul>	4. Roger Manuel 5. Edward Manuel
24	5. Edward Manuel
25	Rules
26	1. Mary Lopez, Chairperson
27	2. Teresa Donahue, Vice Chairperson
28	3. Louis Lopez
29	4. Dallas Lewis
30	5. Arthur Wilson
31	
32	Water Resources
33	1. Lucinda Allen, Chairperson
34	2. Daniel L.A. Preston, III, Vice Chairperson

## LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 21-171

(Issuing Certificates of Election from the May 22, 2021 General Election for the Offices of Representatives and Alternates to the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council and Seating Such Elected Officials)

Page 4 of 4

- 3. Mary Lopez
- 4. DeLisa Ramon
- 5. Edward Manuel

The foregoing Order was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 11<sup>TH</sup> day of JUNE, 2021 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 3,218.0 FOR; -0- AGAINST; [01] NOT VOTING; and -0- ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section 1(a) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary-Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).

Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

day of 2021

 ACTION: CERTIFYING ELECTIONS OF COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES TO THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STANDING COMMITTEES, CERTIFYING COMMITTEE OFFICERS, AND SEATING COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES TO COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN MARLAKAY HENRY

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN JANICE FELIX

DATE: JUNE 11, 2021

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK	1. MARY LOPEZ	122.8	х			
245.6	(Ann M. Garcia) 2. LUCINDA ALLEN (Francis Homewytewa)	122.8	X			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON	278.25	X			
556.5	2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Arvada Liston)	278.25	Х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE	95.25	X			
190.5	(Alberta Espinoza) 2. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco)	95.25	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	121.3	X			
242.6	(Racheal Vilson-Stoner) 2. JANICE FELIX (Adam P. Andrews)	121.3	X			
SAN LUCY	1. JANA MONTANA	121.9	X			
243.8	(Lorraine M. Eiler) 2. ROGER MANUEL (Christina Andrews)	121.9	X			
PISINEMO 232.7	1. MARIETTA MARTIN	116.35	x			
	2. EDWARD D. MANUAL (Monica Morgan)	116.35	X			
HICKIWAN 216.6	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ	108.3	х			
	2. SANDRA D. ORTEGA (Delma M. Garcia)	108.3	X			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	135.35	x			
270.7	2. DALLAS LEWIS	135.35	X		х	
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	139.25	x			
278.5	( ) 2. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin)	139.25	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. MARLAKAY HENRY	175.8	X			
351.6	(Billman Lopez) 2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Cornelius Antone)	175.8	X			
BABOQUIVARI	1. ALBERTA J. RAY	194.45	X			
388.9	(Frances G. Antone) 2. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)	194.45	X			
	TOTAL	3,218.0	3,218.0	0	[01]	0