RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL, (Appointing Clarence Miguel to the Enrollment Committee)

RESOLUTION NO. 21-181

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to provide for,
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers
3		of committees, boards, officers and agents" (Article VI, Section 1(b) of the
4		Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation); and
5	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council has enacted and subsequently amended Ordinance No.
6		05-81, the "Enrollment Ordinance," which establishes an Enrollment Committee
7		to receive and review all membership applications for enrollment in the Tohono
8		O'odham Nation, among other duties and responsibilities; and
9	WHEREAS,	the Enrollment Ordinance provides that the Enrollment Committee "shall be
10		composed of five members of the Tohono O'odham Nation who are bilingual in
11		the O'odham and English languages" and whose members "shall be appointed by
12		the Chairman of the Nation, subject to the approval of the Tohono O'odham
13		Legislative Council" (14 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Article II, Section 1(A) and 1(B)); and
14	WHEREAS,	Committee members "shall be appointed for a five-year term, but shall continue
15		to serve until the member's successor is appointed. Vacancies shall be filled for
16		the unexpired term of that seat on the Committee and appointments shall be
17		staggered so that no more than two members' terms shall expire in the same
18		year." (14 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Article II, Section 1(C)); and
19	WHEREAS,	by Legislative Council Resolution No. 15-418, Clarence Miguel continues to serve
20		on the Enrollment Committee with a term that expired January 1, 2020; and
21	WHEREAS,	subject to the approval by the Legislative Council, Chairman Ned Norris, Jr. has
22		appointed Mr. Clarence Miguel to the Enrollment Committee for another term;
23		and
24	WHEREAS,	if approved, Clarence Miguel would serve on the Enrollment Committee until
25		January 1, 2025, provided that he would continue to serve until replaced by a
26		successor who is appointed in accordance with the Enrollment Ordinance.
27	NOW, THERE	FORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approves the
28		appointment of Clarence Miguel to the Enrollment Committee upon the effective
29		date of this resolution with a term to expire on January 1, 2025, provided that he
30		shall continue to serve until his successor has been appointed in accordance with
31		the Enrollment Ordinance.
32		
33		

RESOLUTION NO. 21-181

(Appointing Clarence Miguel to the Enrollment Committee)

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 14th OR; -0ncil by by the sistant of June

2	day of JUNE, 2021 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 3,218.0 FOR; -0-
3	AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and -0- ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by
4	Article VI, Section 1(b) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the
5	Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant
6	Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June
7	18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).
8	TOHONG Q'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
10	
11	Vimothy Joannin, Legislative Chairman
12	Jamothy Joaquin, legislative chairman
13	M day of Mul 2021
14	
15	day of
16	Aptest:
17	(1/1/100 (f 1/1/1)
18	- Colon Call L
19	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
20 21	2/ day of
22	
23	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono
24	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the day of, 2021 at, o'clock,m., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become
25	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become
26	effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48
27	hours of submittal.
28	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
29 30	Muster On
31	I MALL VITA
32	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
33	
34	
35	
36	77 (10)
37	[X] APPROVED on the, 2021
38	[] APPROVED on the 22 day of Jule, 2021 [] DISAPPROVED at 9:42o'clock, L.m.
39 40	[] DISAPPROVED at
41	
42	
43	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN
44	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
45	
46	
47	Returned to the Vericletine Secretary and the 27 days
48 49	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>22</u> day of
50	
51	, was, at 11 - 10 clock,
52	
53	- Cum ulus
54	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

ACTION: APPOINTING CLARENCE MIGUEL TO THE ENROLLMENT COMMITTEE

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN MARY LOPEZ

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN TERESA DONAHUE

DATE: JUNE 14, 2021

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 245.6	1. MARY LOPEZ (Ann M. Garcia)	122.8	x			
223.0	2. LUCINDA ALLEN (Francis Homewytewa)	122.8	X			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON	278.25	X			
556.5	() 2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Arvada Liston)	278.25	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE	95.25	X			
190.5	(Alberta Espinoza) 2. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco)	95.25	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	121.3	x			
242.6	(Racheal Vilson-Stoner) 2. JANICE FELIX (Adam P. Andrews)	121.3	X			
SAN LUCY	1. JANA MONTANA	121.9	X			
243.8	(Lorraine M. Eiler) 2. ROGER MANUEL (Christina Andrews)	121.9	X			
PISINEMO	1. MARIETTA MARTIN	116.35	x			
232.7	() 2. EDWARD D. MANUAL (Monica Morgan)	116.35	х			
HICKIWAN	1, LOUIS R. LOPEZ	108.3	x			
216.6	2. SANDRA D. ORTEGA <i>(Absent)</i> (Delma M. Garcia) <i>(Present)</i>	108.3	X			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	135.35	X			
270.7	2. DALIAS LEWIS	135.35	х			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	139.25	X			
278.5	() 2. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin)	139.25	x			
CHUKUT KUK	1. MARLAKAY HENRY	175.8	x			
351.6	(Billman Lopez) 2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Cornelius Antone)	175.8	Х			
BABOQUIVARI	1. ALBERTA J. RAY	194.45	X			
388.9	(Frances G. Antone) 2. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)	194.45	X			
	TOTAL	3,218.0	3,218.0	-0-	-0-	-0-