## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Supporting the Confirmation of Bryan T. Newland as Assistant Secretary-Indian Affairs, U.S. Department of the Interior)

**RESOLUTION NO. 21-217** 

1	WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation vests the Legislative Council with
2		the authority to "consult, negotiate and conclude agreements and contracts on
3		behalf of the Tohono O'odham Nation with Federal, State and local governments"
4		and to "promote, protect and provide for public health, peace, morals, education
5		and general welfare of the Tohono O'odham Nation and its members"
6		(Constitution, Article VI, Section 1(f) and Section 1(c)(2)); and
7	WHEREAS,	the U.S. Department of the Interior has vast responsibilities in carrying out the
8		federal government's trust obligation with tribal nations and makes decisions
9		that directly affect the lives of millions of American Indians and Alaska Natives;
10		and
11	WHEREAS,	President Joe Biden has nominated Bryan T. Newland, a member of the Bay Mills
12		Indian Community, to serve as Assistant Secretary-Indian Affairs in the U.S.
13		Department of the Interior; and
14	WHEREAS,	nominee Bryan T. Newland has served as President of the Bay Mills Indian
15		Community, has served as a political appointee in the office of the Assistant
16		Secretary-Indian Affairs during the Obama Administration, and more recently as
17		the Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of Indian Affairs in the Department of
18		the Interior; and
19	WHEREAS,	nominee Bryan T. Newland is uniquely qualified to serve as the Assistant
20		Secretary for Indian Affairs given his extensive experience practicing federal
21		Indian law, his service as a tribal leader, and his service in the Department of the
22		Interior.
23	NOW, THERE	FORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council strongly
24		supports the confirmation of Bryan T. Newland as Assistant Secretary-Indian
25		Affairs and calls for expeditious confirmation hearings in the U.S. Senate.
26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34	day of JUNE, AGAINST; -0- Article VI, Se adopted by th Assistant Sec	g Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 17 <sup>TH</sup> 2021 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 3,218.0 FOR; -0-NOT VOTING; and [01] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by action 1(f) and Section 1(c)(2) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, he Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy retary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the 3, 1934 (48 Stat.984).
35 36 37		

Department of the Interior) Page 2 of 2	
	TOHONG O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
	day of Me, 2021
ATTEST:	V
Evonne Wilson, Legislative	Secretary
21 day of Jun	( 2021
0	
Said Resolution was subn O'odham Nation on the	nitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the T  day of
hours of submittal.	
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	Amatta Ing
	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
[Y] APPROVED	on the 22 day of Jul , 2021
	at 10:38 o'clock, L.m.
[ ] DISAPPROVED	at 7 1 10 Belock,m.
	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
	e Secretary on the 22 day of
	e Secretary on the <u>22</u> day of 2021, at <u>11:27</u> 0'clock, <u>Q</u> .m.
	2021, at 11:27o'clock,m.

ACTION: SUPPORTING THE CONFIRMATION OF BRYAN T. NEWLAND AS ASSISTANT SECRETARY-INDIAN

AFFAIRS, U.S. DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR

MOVED: COUNCILMAN DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN GRACE MANUEL

DATE: JUNE 17, 2021

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
SIF OIDAK	1. MARY LOPEZ	122.8	X			
245.6	(Ann M. Garcia) 2. LUCINDA ALLEN (Francis Homewytewa)	122.8	x			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON	278.25	x			
556.5	( ) 2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Arvada Liston)	278.25	ж			
SCHUK TOAK	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE	95.25	X			
190.5	(Alberta Espinoza) 2. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco)	95.25	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	121.3	X			
242.6	(Racheal Vilson-Stoner) 2. JANICE FELIX (Adam P. Andrews)	121.3	Х			
SAN LUCY	1. JANA MONTANA	121.9	x			
243.8	(Lorraine M. Eiler) 2. ROGER MANUEL (Christina Andrews)	121.9	х			
PISINEMO	1. MARIETTA MARTIN	116.35	X			
232.7	( ) 2. EDWARD D. MANUAL (Monica Morgan)	116.35	х			
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ	108.3	X			X
216.6	2. SANDRA D. ORTEGA (Delma M. Garcia)	108.3	X			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	135.35	X			
270.7	( ) 2. CYNTHIA SAAVEDRA (Dallas Lewis)	135.35	Х			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	139.25	X			
278.5	( ) 2. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin)	139.25	х			
CHUKUT KUK	1. MARLAKAY HENRY	175.8	X			
351.6	(Billman Lopez) 2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Cornelius Antone)	175.8	x			
BABOQUIVARI	1. ALBERTA J. RAY	194.45	X			
388.9	(Frances G. Antone) 2. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)	194.45	x			
	TOTAL	3,218.0	3,218.0	-0-	-0-	[01]