RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Wynona P. Larson to the Miss Tohono O'odham Nation Committee)

RESOLUTION NO. 21-236

1	WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation vests the Tohono O'odham
2		Legislative Council with the power to "provide for, appoint, or provide for the
3		appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of committees, boards,
4		officers and agents" and "to preserve and cultivate native arts, crafts and
5		traditions" (Constitution, Article VI, Section 1(b) and Section 1(c)(8)); and
6	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation has historically held a pageant to select young
7		O'odham women to represent and serve the Nation as official ambassadors and
8		in accordance with Committee Bylaws, the Miss Tohono O'odham Nation
9		Committee has coordinated the Miss Tohono O'odham Nation pageant and acted
10		as chaperones, among other duties and responsibilities provided for by the Miss
11		Tohono O'odham Nation Committee Bylaws ("Committee Bylaws") (Resolution
12		No. 11-421 and Resolution No. 16-089); and
13	WHEREAS,	the Miss Tohono O'odham Nation Committee is comprised of "five enrolled
14		female members of the Nation who are at least 25 years of age with a preference
15		for O'odham speakers" who serve staggered, four year terms and who "shall
16		remain in office until their successors have been appointed and may serve an
17		unlimited number of terms" (Committee Bylaws, Sections 3102(B) and (C)); and
18	WHEREAS,	when a vacancy occurs, letters of interest may be submitted to the Chairperson of
19		the Human Resources Development Committee, and the Committee interviews
20		applicants and nominates individuals for membership positions (Committee
21		Bylaws, Sections 3102(E)(1) and (E)(2)); and
22	WHEREAS,	Wynona P. Larson was appointed to the Miss Tohono O'odham Nation Committee
23		by Resolution No. 19-456 for a term ending April 2021 and she continues to serve
24		until her successor is appointed; and
25	WHEREAS,	the Human Resources Development Committee has interviewed and norninates
26		Wynona P. Larson to the Miss Tohono O'odham Nation Committee with a term
27		ending April 30, 2025.
28	NOW, THERE	FORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council appoints
29		Wynona P. Larson to the Miss Tohono O'odham Nation Committee for a term
30		ending April 30, 2025, provided that she shall continue to serve until replaced by
31		her successor.
32		
33		

RESOLUTION NO. 21-236

2

(Appointing Wynona P. Larson to the Miss Tohono O'odham Nation Committee) Page 2 of 3

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 13TH day of JULY, 2021 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,003.85 FOR; lham cting ction

6 of the Act of June 18, 193	- Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to S
of the Act of June 18, 193	± (±6 Stat., 56±).
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	110
	MINING INC.
	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
	day of My, 2021
TTEST:	
(11/100/18/1/h	
Evonne Wilson, Legislative	Sacratave
wonne wilson, Legislative	Secretary
day of	, 2021
	,
aid Resolution was subm	nitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the T
odham Nation on the	(day of, 2021 at 3.3 o'clock,
oursuant to the provision	s of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will b
effective upon his approva lours of submittal.	l or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it wit
iours of Submittal.	
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	1 - 11. 1
	Shink-the and
	/ INIMA X! I
	/ Timothy Joaquin/Legislative Chairman
	VV
	on the day of , 2021
APPROVED	on the 14 day of
APPROVED	0
APPROVED] DISAPPROVED	at 3:55 o'clock, M.m.
4	at 3:55 o'clock, .m.

49 50 51

52

(Appointing Wynona P. Lars Page 3 of 3	son to the Miss Tohono O'odham Nation Committee)
Returned to the Legislativ	e Secretary on theday of
Carlo.	2021, at 4743 o'clock, O.m.
Terent las	
Cluntella	, 2021, at 4743 o'clock,m.

Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

RESOLUTION NO. 21-236

ACTION: APPOINTING WYNONA P. LARSON TO THE MISS TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION COMMITTEE

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN MARIAKAY HENRY SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN MARIETTA MARTIN

DATE: JULY 13, 2021

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
SIF OIDAK 245.6	1. MARY LOPEZ (Ann M. Garcia) 2. LUCINDA ALLEN (Francis Homewytewa)	122.8 122.8	x x	-	Х	
SELLS 556.5	1. ARTHUR WILSON () 2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Arvada Liston)	278.25 278.25		x x	х	
SCHUK TOAK 190.5	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE (Alberta Espinoza) 2. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco)	95.25 95.25	x x			
SAN XAVIER 242.6	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III (Racheal Vilson-Stoner) 2. JANICE FELIX (Adam P. Andrews)	121.3 121.3	x x		х	
SAN LUCY 243.8	1. JANA MONTANA (Lorraine M. Eiler) 2. ROGER MANUEL (Christina Andrews)	121.9 121.9	x	ж		
PISINEMO 232.7	1. MARIETTA MARTIN () 2. EDWARD D. MANUAL (Monica Morgan)	116.35 116.35	x x			
HICKIWAN 216.6	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ () 2. SANDRA D. ORTEGA (Delma M. Garcia)	108.3 108.3	x x			x
GU VO 270.7	1. GRACE MANUEL () 2. CYNTHIA SAAVEDRA (Dallas Lewis)	135.35 135.35	х	x		
GU ACHI 278.5	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN () 2. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin)	139.25 139.25		x x		
CHUKUT KUK 351.6	1. MARLAKAY HENRY (Billman Lopez) 2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Cornelius Antone)	175.8 175.8	x x			
BABOQUIVARI 388.9	1. ALBERTA J. RAY (Frances G. Antone) 2. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)	194.45 194.45	x x			
	TOTAL	3,218.0	2,003.85	1,214.15	[03]	[01]