RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving an Intergovernmental Agreement between the Tohono O'odham Nation and Apache County for Emergency Inmate Housing in the Apache County Adult Detention Facility)

RESOLUTION NO. 21-237

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "consult,
2		negotiate and conclude agreements and contracts on behalf of the Tohono
3		O'odham Nation with Federal, State and local governments." (Constitution of the
4		Tohono O`odham Nation, Article VI, Section 1(f)); and
5	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation ("Nation") desires to enter into an
6		Intergovernmental Agreement ("Agreement") with Apache County, which is
7		acting on behalf of the Apache County Jail District under the Apache County
8		Sheriff's Office for a term beginning October 1, 2020 through September 30, 2021;
9		and
10	WHEREAS,	this Agreement shall automatically renew for three additional one-year terms
11		unless either party terminates the agreement with a thirty-day written notice to
12		the other party; and
13	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has reviewed the Intergovernmental Agreement
14		with Apache County and recommends its approval.
15	NOW, THERE	FORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approves the
16		Intergovernmental Agreement between the Tohono O'odham Nation and Apache
17		County, substantially in the form attached hereto, and authorizes the Chairman
18		of the Nation to execute the Intergovernmental Agreement.
19	BE IT FUR	THER RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that the
20		Intergovernmental Agreement will be for a period of one year and renewed
21		annually for three additional one-year terms.
22	BE IT FINALL	Y RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that the Tohono O'odham
23		Nation chairman and any designated official is authorized and directed to
24		execute this agreement on behalf of the Nation, provided that any amendments
25		shall be submitted for further prior approval by the Tohono O'odham Legislative
26		Council.
27		g Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the ${f 13}^{TH}$
28 29		<u>2021</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>3,001.4 FOR; -0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>216.6 [03]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council
30		, Section 1(f) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the
31		lham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant

Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June

32

33

34

18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).

County for Emergency Inmate Housing in the Apache County Adult Detention Facility) Page 2 of 2 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL imothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman ATTES **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** day of effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL mothy Joaquin, J [APPROVED o'clock, [] DISAPPROVED NED NORRIS, IR., CHAYRM TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the _____day of , 2021, at 4:43 o'clock, _____.m. **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary**

(Approving an Intergovernmental Agreement between the Tohono O'odham Nation and Apache

RESOLUTION NO. 21-237

ACTION: APPROVING AN INTERGOVERNMENTAL AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION AND APACHE COUNTY FOR EMERGENCY INMATE HOUSING IN THE APACHE COUNTY ADULT

DETENTION FACILITY

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN GRACE MANUEL

SECOND: COUNCILMAN LEANDER MASE

DATE: JULY 13, 2021

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
SIF OIDAK	1. MARY LOPEZ	122.8	х			
245.6	(Ann M. Garcia) 2. LUCINDA ALLEN (Francis Homewytewa)	122.8	х			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON	278.25	X			
556.5	() 2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Arvada Liston)	278.25	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE	95.25	x			
190.5	(Alberta Espinoza) 2. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco)	95.25	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	121.3	х			
242.6	(Racheal Vilson-Stoner) 2. JANICE FELIX (Adam P. Andrews)	121.3	х			
SAN LUCY	1. JANA MONTANA	121.9	х			
243.8	(Lorraine M. Eiler) 2. ROGER MANUEL (Christina Andrews)	121.9	х			
PISINEMO	1. MARIETTA MARTIN	116.35	x			
232.7	() 2. EDWARD D. MANUAL (Monica Morgan)	116.35	Х			
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ	108.3				х
216.6	() 2. SANDRA D. ORTEGA (Delma M. Garcia)	108.3				х
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	135.35	X			
270.7	() 2. CYNTHIA SAAVEDRA (Dallas Lewis)	135.35	х			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	139.25	х			х
278.5	() 2. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin)	139.25	х			
CHUKUT KUK	1. MARLAKAY HENRY	175.8	x			
351.6	(Billman Lopez) 2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Cornelius Antone)	175.8	х			
BABOQUIVARI	1. ALBERTA J. RAY	194.45	x			
388.9	(Frances G. Antone) 2. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)	194.45	х			
	TOTAL	3,218.0	3,001.4	-0-	-0-	216.6 [03]