RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Nominating Representative Sandra Ortega to Serve as the Tucson Area Delegate on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention/Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry Tribal Advisory Committee and Designating Representative Evelyn Juan Manuel as Authorized Representative)

RESOLUTION NO. 21-254

	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council is vested with the authority to "promote, protect and
		provide for public health, peace, morals, education and general welfare of the
		Tohono O'odham Nation and its members" and to "consult with the Congress of
		the United States and appropriate federal agencies regarding federal activities
		that affect the Tohono O'odham Nation" (Constitution, Article VI, Section
		1(c)(2) and Section 1(j)); and
	WHEREAS,	the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention ("CDC") and the Agency for Toxic
		Substances and Disease Registry ("ATSDR") recognize their special commitment
		and unique relationship with Indian tribes and are committed to fulfilling their
		missions to promote the health and quality of life by preventing disease, injury
		and disability, and preparedness for new and emerging health threats through
		established and ongoing relationships and meaningful consultation; and
	WHEREAS,	in 2005, CDC and ATSDR established the Centers for Disease Control and
		Prevention/Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry ("CDC/ATSDR")
		Tribal Advisory Committee ("TAC"), which serves as an advisory committee to CDC
		and ATSDR and provides input and guidance on policies, guidelines, and
		programmatic issues affecting the health of American Indian/Alaska Native
i		(AI/AN) tribes; and
	WHEREAS,	the TAC is composed of 16 delegates (and authorized representatives in the
		delegates' absence) from federally recognized tribes, each acting on behalf of his
		or her tribe: one delegate (and one authorized representative) from each of the 12
		Indian Health Service ("IHS") areas and four delegates (and four authorized
		representatives) from federally recognized tribes at-large; and
	WHEREAS,	the Health and Human Services Committee recommends the nomination of
		Representative Sandra Ortega to serve as a delegate from the Tucson Area on the
		CDC/ATSDR Tribal Advisory Committee and designating Representative Evelyn
		Juan Manuel to serve as authorized representative in Representative Sandra
		Ortega's absence.
	NOW, THERI	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it
		nominates Representative Sandra Ortega to serve as delegate from the Tucson
		Area on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention/Agency for Toxic

D	EC	Λ	T T	וידיז	M	N	NO	21	-254	
м		ı,	1.1				144.		- Z 7 +	

(Nominating Representative Sandra Ortega to Serve as the Tucson Area Delegate on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention/Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry Tribal Advisory Committee and Designating Representative Evelyn Juan Manuel as Authorized Representative) Page 2 of 3

Substances and Disease Registry Tribal Advisory Committee and designates Representative Evelyn Juan Manuel to serve as authorized representative in Representative Sandra Ortega's absence.

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that appointments made pursuant to this resolution shall supersede any prior nominations and appointments to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention/Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry Tribal Advisory Committee and appointments made pursuant to this resolution shall immediately expire if the representatives no longer serve on the Health and Human Services Committee for any reason.

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 15TH day of JULY, 2021 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 3,218.0 FOR; -0-AGAINST; -0-NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section 1(c)(2) and Section 1(j) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
day of

Million Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

	Disease Control and Prevention/Ag	a Ortega to Serve as the Tucson Area Delegate on the Centers for ency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry Tribal Advisory entative Evelyn Juan Manuel as Authorized Representative)
1	[X] APPROVED	on the _/(_ day of
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11	[] DISAPPROVED	ned norms, Jr., Chairman Tohono O'ODHAM NATION
12 13	Returned to the Legislative Secret	ary on the / day of
14	On the second	1148
15 16 17 18	Clumbella	<u>. 443</u> o'clock, <u>р</u> .m.
19	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secreta	ary
20 21		
22		
23 24		
25		
26		
27 28		
29		
30 31		
32		
1		
34		
36		
37		
33 34 35 36 37 38 39		
40		
41		
42 43		

RESOLUTION NO. 21-254

ACTION: NOMINATING REPRESENTATIVE SANDRA ORTEGA TO SERVE AS THE TUCSON AREA DELEGATE ON THE CENTERS
FOR DISEASE CONTROL AND DESCRIPTION ACCENCY FOR TOXIC SUBSTANCES AND DISEASE DECISTRY TRIBAL

FOR DISEASE CONTROL AND PREVENTION/AGENCY FOR TOXIC SUBSTANCES AND DISEASE REGISTRY TRIBAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE AND DESIGNATING REPRESENTATIVE EVELYN JUAN MANUEL AS AUTHORIZED

REPRESENTATIVE

MOVED: COUNCILMAN LEANDER MASE

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN MARIETTA MARTIN

DATE: JULY 15, 2021

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSI
SIF OIDAK	1. MARY LOPEZ	122.8	X			
245.6	(Ann M. Garcia)	122.8	x			
	2. LUCINDA ALLEN (Absent)	144.0				
	(Francis Homewytewa) (Present)					
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON	278.25	X			
556.5	()	278.25	X			
	2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Arvada Liston)					
SCHUK TOAK	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE	95.25	X			
190.5	(Alberta Espinoza)	95.25	x			
	2. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco)	73.23				
SAN XAVIER	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	121.3	х			
242.6	(Racheal Vilson-Stoner)	121.3	x			
	2. JANICE FELIX <i>(Absent)</i> (Adam P. Andrews) <i>(Present)</i>	121.3				
SAN LUCY	1. JANA MONTANA	121.9	х			
243.8	(Lorraine M. Eiler)	121.9	X			
	2. ROGER MANUEL (Christina Andrews)	121.5				
PISINEMO	1. MARIETTA MARTIN	116.35	х			
232.7	()	116.35	x			
	2. EDWARD D. MANUAL (Monica Morgan)					
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ	108.3	х			
216.6	2. SANDRA D. ORTEGA <i>(Absent)</i> (Delma M. Garcia) <i>(Present)</i>	108.3	x			X
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	135.35	X			
270.7	()	135.35	x			
	2. CYNTHIA SAAVEDRA (Dallas Lewis)	133.33				
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	139.25	x			Х
278.5	()		X			
	2. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin)	139.25				
CHUKUT KUK	1. MARLAKAY HENRY	175.8	X			
351.6	(Billman Lopez)	1750	x			
	2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Cornelius Antone)	175.8				
BABOQUIVARI	1. ALBERTA J. RAY	194.45	X			
388.9	(Frances G. Antone) 2. LEANDER MASE	194.45	x			
	(Francine Schooling)					
	TOTAL	3,218.0	3,218.0	-0-	-0-	[0: