RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Barbara Atwood as a Pro Tempore Judge of the Tohono O'odham Judicial Court)

RESOLUTION NO. 21-460

	[
1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the authority to appoint
2		judges to the Tohono O'odham Judicial Court (Constitution, Article VIII, Section
3		3); and
4	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council "may upon the recommendation of the chief judge
5	,	appoint pro tempore judges to the Judicial Court" (6 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Article 2,
6		Section 1201); and
7	WHEREAS,	the term of a pro tempore judge "shall be set forth in the resolution of the
8		Legislative Council appointing the judge, but in no case shall the term be longer
9		than six years" (6 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Article 2, Section 1204); and
10	WHEREAS,	the chief judge has submitted Barbara Atwood's resume, letter of interest, and a
11		letter of recommendation for her appointment as a pro tempore judge to the
12		Tohono O'odham Judicial Court; and
13	WHEREAS,	the Judiciary Committee, having legislative oversight of matters pertaining to the
14	,	Tohono O'odham Judicial Court, reviewed Barbara Atwood's resume, letter of
		•
15	_	interest, and the chief judge's letter of recommendation.
16	NOW, THERE	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it appoints
17		Barbara Atwood to the Tohono O'odham Judicial Court as a pro tempore judge for
18		a six-year term commencing on the effective date of this resolution.
19		ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the ${f 07}^{ ext{\tiny TH}}$
20		MBER, 2021 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 3,218.0 FOR:
21 22		<u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[02]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by, Section 3 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono
23		tion on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -
24	1	rs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934
25	(48 Stat.984)	
26		
27		
28		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
29 30		May walt Ilm
31		
32		Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
33	•	
34		/3 day of ////////, , 2021
35		.,
36		
37		
38		

39 40

	RESOLUTION NO. 21-460 (Appointing Barbara Atwood as a Pro Tempore Judge of the Tohono O'odham Judicial Court) Page 2 of 2								
1 2 3	ATTEST:								
4 5 6	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary 13 day of Leght, 2021								
7 8 9 10 11 12 13	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the								
14 15 16 17 18 19 20	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Milly 1995 Timothy Joaqvin, Legislative Chairman								
21 22 23 24	on the 13 day of December, 2021								
25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33	at 3.'30 o'clock, .m. NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION								
34 35	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 13 day of								
36 37 38 39 40	Heunh, 2021, at 4;04 o'clock, p.m.								
41 42 43 44 45	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary								
46 47 48 49 50 51 52									

ACTION: APPOINTING BARBARA ATWOOD AS A PRO TEMPORE JUDGE OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM JUDICIAL

COURT

MOVED: COUNCILMAN DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III SECOND: COUNCILMAN LEANDER MASE

DATE: DECEMBER 07, 2021

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK	1. MARY LOPEZ (Absent)	122.8	x			
245.6	(Ann M. Garcia) (Present)	122.8	x			
	2. LUCINDA ALLEN (Francis Homewytewa)					
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON	278.25	х			
556.5	()	278.25	x			
	2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Arvada Liston)					
SCHUK TOAK	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE	95.25	х			
190.5	(Alberta Espinoza) 2. DELISA M. RAMON (Absent)	95.25	x			
	(Sharon A. Francisco) (Present)					
SAN XAVIER	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	121.3	X			
242.6	(Racheal Vilson-Stoner)	121.3	x			
	2. JANICE FELIX <i>(Absent)</i> (Adam P. Andrews) <i>(Present)</i>					
SAN LUCY	1. JANA MONTANA	121.9	X			х
243.8	(Lorraine M. Eiler)	121.9	x			
	2. ROGER MANUEL (Christina Andrews)					
PISINEMO	1. MARIETTA MARTIN	116.35	Х			
232.7	()	116.35	x			
	2. EDWARD D. MANUEL (Monica Morgan)	110.53				
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ	108.3	X			
216.6	2. SANDRA D. ORTEGA	108.3	х			
	(Delma M. Garcia)	100.0				
gu vo	1. GRACE MANUEL	135.35	x			
270.7	2. CYNTHIA SAAVEDRA	135.35	X			
	(Dallas Lewis)					
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	139.25	х			
278.5	()	139.25	x			
	2. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin)					
CHUKUT KUK	1. MARLAKAY HENRY	175.8	X			
351.6	(Billman Lopez)	175.8	x			
	2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Cornelius Antone)	A / 5.0				
BABOQUIVARI	1. ALBERTA J. RAY (Absent)	194.45	x			X
388.9	(Frances G. Antone) (Present) 2. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)	194.45	x			
	TOTAL	3,218.0	3,218.0	-0-	-0-	[02]