## **RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** (Approving 2022 Annual Schednling Agreement with New Magma Irrigation and Drainage District)

### **RESOLUTION NO. 22-011**

1	WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation vests the Legislative Conncil with				
2		the power "to consult, negotiate and conclude agreements and contracts on				
3		behalf of the Tohono O'odham Nation with Federal, State and local governments				
4		and other Indian tribes or their departments, agencies, or political subdivisions,				
5		or with private persons or organizations on all matters within the authority of the				
6		Tohono O'odham Council." (Constitution, Article VI, Section 1(f)); and				
7	WHEREAS,	by Resolution No. 15-351 the Tohono O'odham Nation approved an agreement				
8		with the New Magma Irrigation and Drainage District providing for delivery of a				
9		portion of the Nation's CAP water for water storage at a groundwater savings				
10		facility (the "Agreement"), and the Agreement was executed by the parties on				
11		December 12, 2015; and				
12	WHEREAS,	the original term of the Agreement was for two calendar years, from January 1,				
13		2016 to December 31, 2017; and				
14	WHEREAS,	the term of the Agreement was subsequently amended to end on December 31,				
15		2022; and				
16	WHEREAS,	the Agreement allows the parties to negotiate a quantity of water and a price each				
17		year, as set forth in an Annual Scheduling Agreement; and				
18	WHEREAS,	the Water Resources Committee recommends a quantity of water and a price as				
19		set forth in the 2022 Annual Scheduling Agreement attached to this resolution.				
20	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approves the					
21		2022 Annual Scheduling Agreement with the New Magma Irrigation and Drainage				
22		District substantially in the form attached hereto, and authorizes the Chairman				
23		of the Nation to execute it.				
24 25	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 11 <sup>TH</sup>					
26	AGAINST; <u>-0-</u>	RY, 2022 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 3,218.0 FOR; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>-0-</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by,				
27	Article VI, Se	ction 1(f) and Article XVII, Section 2 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham				
28 29	Nation, adop	ted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting tant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section				
30	16 of the Act	of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).				
31						
32						
33						
34 35						
36						
37						
•						

RESOLUTION NO. 22-011

(Approving 2022 Annual Scheduling Agreement with New Magma Irrigation and Drainage District) Page 2 of 2

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

imothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman day of , 2022

ATTEST:

Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

day of January, 2022

Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the \_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_ (Mulling, 2022 at 4.30 o'clock, \_\_\_\_.m., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.

**TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** 

Cegisla**five** Chairman mothy Joaq

[Å] APPROVED

[ ] DISAPPROVED

/Y\_ day of on the at 4:52 o'clock. .m. NED NORRYS, JR., CHA

**TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** 

Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the  $\frac{19}{1000}$  day of , 2022, at 8.57 o'clock. A .m.

**Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** 

# ACTION: APPROVING 2022 ANNUAL SCHEDULING AGREEMENT WITH NEW MAGMA IRRIGATION AND DRAINAGE DISTRICT

## MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN LUCINDA ALLEN

### SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN MARLAKAY HENRY

DATE: JANUARY 11, 2022

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSI
SIF OIDAK	1. MARY LOPEZ	122.8	x	•		
245.6	(Ann M. Garcia)	122.0	x			
	2. LUCINDA ALLEN	122.8				
	(Francis Homewytewa)	ļ				
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON	278.25	x			
556.5		278,25	x			
	2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Absent) (Arvada Liston) (Present)	270,23				
SCHUK TOAK	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE	95.25	x			
190.5	(Alberta Espinoza) 2. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco)	95.25	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	121.3	x			
242.6	(Racheal Vilson-Stoner)	121.3	x			
	2. JANICE FELIX (Adam P. Andrews)	121.3				:
SAN LUCY	1. JANA MONTANA <i>(Absent)</i>	121.9	x	-		
243.8	(Lorraine M. Eiler) (Present)	121.9	x			
	2. ROGER MANUEL (Christina Andrews)					
PISINEMO	1. MARIETTA MARTIN	116.35	x			
232.7	( )		x			
	2. EDWARD D. MANUEL (Monica Morgan)	116.35	-			
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ	108.3	x			
216.6	2. SANDRA D. ORTEGA (Delma M. Garcia)	108.3	x		,	
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	135.35	X			
270.7	( )	135.35	Х			
	2. CYNTHIA SAAVEDRA (Dallas Lewis)	133.33				
GUACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	139.25	х	<u>+</u>		
278.5	( )	139.25	х			
	2. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin)	133.43				
CHUKUT KUK	1. MARLAKAY HENRY	175.8	x	<u>├</u> -		
351.6	(Billman Lopez)		х			
	2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Cornelius Antone)	175.8				
BABOQUIVARI	1. ALBERTA J. RAY	194.45	x			
388.9	(Frances G. Antone)	194.45	X			
	2. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)	AJ7:73				
J	TOTAL	3,218.0	3,218.0	-0-	-0-	-0-