RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Nominating Representative Marietta Martin and Representative Sandra Ortega as Primary and Alternate Delegates to the Office of Minority Health Center for Indigenous Innovation and Health Equity Tribal Advisory Committee)

RESOLUTION NO. 22-026

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power "to promote,
2		protect and provide for public health and general welfare of the Tohono
3		O'odham Nation and its members" and with the authority "to consult with the
4		Congress of the United States and appropriate federal agencies regarding federal
5		activities that affect the Tohono O'odham Nation" (Constitution, Article VI,
6		Section 1(c)(2) and Section 1(j)); and
7	WHEREAS,	the Office of Minority Health Center for Indigenous Innovation and Health Equity
8		("CIIHE") was created to support research, education, service, and policy
9		development advancing Indigenous solutions that ultimately address health
10		disparities in American Indian and Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian and
11		Pacific Islander communities; and
12	WHEREAS,	the CIIHE Tribal Advisory Committee, consisting of 16 delegate positions, one
13		from each of the 12 geographic areas served by the Indian Health Service and four
14		national at-large member positions, will develop the priorities and activities for
15		the Center; and
16	WHEREAS,	the Health and Human Services Committee recommends nominating
17		Representative Marietta Martin as the primary delegate and Representative
18		Sandra Ortega as her alternate to the Office of Minority Health Center for
19		Indigenous Innovation and Health Equity Tribal Advisory Committee.
20	NOW, THERI	FORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council nominates
21		Representative Marietta Martin as the primary delegate and Representative
22		Sandra Ortega as her alternate to the Office of Minority Health Center for
23		Indigenous Innovation and Health Equity Tribal Advisory Committee.
24	BE IT FINAL	LY RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that an appointment
25		made pursuant to this resolution shall immediately expire if the appointed
26		representative no longer serves on the Health and Human Services Committee for
27		any reason.
28		ig Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 12^{TL}

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 12¹¹ day of JANUARY, 2022 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 3,218.0 FOR; -0-AGAINST; -0-NOT VOTING; and -0-ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by, Article VI, Section 1(b), Section 1(c)(2), and Section 1(j) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).

30

31

32

33

34

	(Nominating Representative Marietta Martin and Representative Sandra Ortega as Primary and Alternate Delegates to the Office of Minority Health Center for Indigenous Innovation and Health Equity Tribal Advisory Committee) Page 2 of 2
1	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
2 3 4	Smulle Ing -
5 6 7	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
8 9	ATTEST:
0	Sum Sede La
l 1 l 2	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
13	
14 15	
16	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono
17 18	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the day of day of, 2022 at o'clock,m. pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48
19 20	hours of submittal.
21 22	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
23 24 25	mutty main
26 27	Timothy Joaquin Legislative Chairman
28 29	
30 31 32	[X] APPROVED on the
33	[] DISAPPROVED at Siko'clock, .m.
34 35 36	N. L. M.
37	NED NORRIS/JR., CHALRMAN
38 39	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
40	
41 42	
43	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 19 day of
44 45	Fanny , 2022, at 8.57 o'clock, A .m.
46 47 48	Sum Jofx to
49	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

RESOLUTION NO. 22-026

 ACTION: NOMINATING REPRESENTATIVE MARIETTA MARTIN AND REPRESENTATIVE SANDRA ORTEGA AS PRIMARY AND ALTERNATE DELEGATES TO THE OFFICE OF MINORITY HEALTH CENTER FOR

INDIGENOUS INNOVATION AND HEALTH EQUITY TRIBAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN JANICE FELIX

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN MARLAKAY HENRY

JANUARY 12, 2022 DATE:

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSE
SIF OIDAK	1. MARY LOPEZ	122.8	х			
245.6	(Ann M. Garcia)	122.0	X X			
	2. LUCINDA ALLEN	122.8				
	(Francis Homewytewa)					
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON	278.25	x			
556.5	()	278.25	x			
	2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Absent) (Arvada Liston) (Present)					
SCHUK TOAK	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE	95.25	Х			
190.5	(Alberta Espinoza)	95.25	x			
	2. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco)	33.43				
SAN XAVIER	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	121.3	x			1
242.6	(Racheal Vilson-Stoner)		X			
	2. JANICE FELIX	121.3	•			
·-	(Adam P. Andrews)					ļ
SAN LUCY	1. JANA MONTANA	121.9	x			
243.8	(Lorraine M. Eiler) 2. ROGER MANUEL	121.9	X			
	(Christina Andrews)					
PISINEMO	1. MARIETTA MARTIN	116.35	x			
232.7	()		X			
	2. EDWARD D. MANUEL	116.35				
	(Monica Morgan)	<u> </u>				
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ	108.3	x			
216.6	2. SANDRA D. ORTEGA	108.3	ж			
	(Delma M. Garcia)					
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	135.35	x			
270.7	()	135.35	x			
	2. CYNTHIA SAAVEDRA (Dallas Lewis)					
CVIACIN						
278.5	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	139.25	X		·	
	2. VICTORIA HOBBS	139.25	Х			
	(Tonya L. Joaquin)					
CHUKUT KUK	1. MARLAKAY HENRY	175.8	X			
351.6	(Billman Lopez)	175.8	X			
	2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS	173.5				
	(Cornelius Antone)					
BABOQUIVARI	1. ALBERTA J. RAY	194.45	Ж			
388.9	(Frances G. Antone) 2. LEANDER MASE	194.45	x			
	(Francine Schooling)					
	TOTAL	3,218.0	3,218.0	-0-	-0-	-0-