RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Patricia Antone to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring January 31, 2025)

RESOLUTION NO. 22-031

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers
3		of committees, boards, officers and agents" (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham
4		Nation, Article VI, Section 1(b)); and
5	WHEREAS,	the Tribal Employment Rights law vests the Legislative Council with the power to
6		appoint Tribal Employment Rights Commission members ("TERO
7		Commissioners") (13 Tohono O'odham Code Chapter 1, Section 1107(B)); and
8	WHEREAS,	Section 1107(C) of the Tribal Employment Rights law provides that
9		"[c]ommissioners shall be appointed for terms of three years, or until their
10		successors are appointed and qualified, provided, however, that appointments to
11		the Commission shall be made in such a way and for such terms that their terms
12		shall be staggered so that the terms of office of only two Commissioners will end
13		in any single year"; and
14	WHEREAS,	in 2012, the Nation suspended the TERO Commissioners by Resolution No. 12-384
15		"Suspending TERO Commissioners" and ultimately removed the TERO
16		Commissioners by Resolution No. 14-060 "Removing TERO Commissioners"; and
17	WHEREAS,	in 2013 when the TERO Commissioners were suspended but had not yet been
18		removed, interim TERO Commissioners were appointed to serve until successors
19		could be appointed so that the Commission could conduct business, ensure that
20	1	Indian preference was enforced, and provide necessary services for the Nation's
21		members (Resolution Nos. 13-093, 13-094, 13-095, 13-096); and
22	WHEREAS,	in 2016, because all interim Commissioners resigned, Representatives Chester
23		Antone, Louis R. Lopez, Daniel L.A. Preston, III, Sandra Ortega, and Barbara
24		Havier were appointed as interim TERO Commissioners until successors were
25		appointed or as otherwise provided for by subsequent action of the Legislative
26		Council (Resolution No. 16-063); and
27	WHEREAS,	by Resolution No. 16-412, interim Commissioners appointments were extended
28		until successors are appointed to exercise the Commission's functions and
29		evaluate TERO operations; and
30	WHEREAS,	by Resolution No. 17-019, the Legislative Council approved the appointment of
31		Delma M. Garcia to the TERO Commission to replace Representative Barbara
32		Havier; and
33		

RESOLUTION NO. 22-031

(Appointing Patricia Antone to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring January 31, 2025) Page 2 of 3

- 1 by Resolution No. 19-241, two additional members of the Human Resources WHEREAS. 2 Development Committee were appointed as interim TERO Commissioners to 3 serve until successors are appointed and to exercise the Commission's functions 4 and evaluate TERO operations; and
 - WHEREAS. there are currently two vacancies on the TERO Commission due to two previous interim TERO Commissioners no longer serving as members of the Human **Resources Development Committee; and**
- WHEREAS. permanent TERO Commissioners shall be appointed in accordance with 13 Tohono O'odham Code Chapter 1 and the Nation's Board Appointment 10 **Guidelines:** and
 - WHEREAS. the Human Resources Development and Rules Committees recommend that Patricia Antone be appointed to the TERO Commission filling a vacancy for a term ending January 31, 2025 or until her successor is appointed and qualified.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council appoints Patricia Antone to the TERO Commission for a term beginning on the effective date of this resolution and ending January 31, 2025, provided that she shall continue to serve until her successor is appointed and qualified.

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 13TH day of JANUARY, 2022 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 3,218.0 FOR; -0-AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [01] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by. Article VI, Section 1(b) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Joaqua, Legislative Chairman Tum day of , 2022

ATTEST

Evonne Wilson, 1 **lative Secretary**

day of SAMMy

____, 2022

42

5

6

7

8

9

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25 26

31

32

RESOLUTION NO. 22-031 (Appointing Patricia Antone to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring January 31, 2025) Page 3 of 3

Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the ______ day of ________, 2022 at $\frac{4.25}{4.25}$ o'clock, ______ .m., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.

mothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

APPROVED

[] DISAPPROVED

/ Lay of on the , 2022 at_____/ (C o'clock. .m.

NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the $\frac{19}{100}$ day of

____, 2022, at _<u>8.57</u>_o'clock, ____.m.

Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary

ACTION: APPOINTING PATRICIA ANTONE TO THE TERO COMMISSION FOR A TERM EXPIRING JANUARY 31, 2025

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN JANICE FELIX

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN DELISA M. RAMON

DATE: JANUARY 13, 2022

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
SIF OIDAK	1. MARY LOPEZ	122.8	x			
245.6	(Ann M. Garcia)		x			
	2. LUCINDA ALLEN	122.8				
	(Francis Homewytewa)					
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON	278.25	х			
556.5		278.25	x			
	2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL <i>(Absent)</i> (Arvada Liston) <i>(Present)</i>	270.23				
SCHUK TOAK	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE	95.25	x		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
190.5	(Alberta Espinoza) 2. DELISA M. RAMON	95.25	x			
	(Sharon A. Francisco)					
SAN XAVIER	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	121.3	x			x
242.6	(Racheal Vilson-Stoner)	121.3	x			
	2. JANICE FELIX (Adam P. Andrews)	121,3				
SAN LUCY	1. JANA MONTANA <i>(Absent)</i>	121.9	x	++		
243.8	(Lorraine M. Eiler) <i>(Present)</i>	121.9	x			
	2. ROGER MANUEL (Christina Andrews)	141.9				
PISINEMO	1. MARIETTA MARTIN	116.35	x			
232.7	()		x			
	2. EDWARD D. MANUEL (Monica Morgan)	116.35				
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ	108.3	x			
216.6	2. SANDRA D. ORTEGA (Absent)	108.3	х			
	(Delma M. Garcia) <i>(Present)</i>					
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	135.35	х			
270.7	()	135.35	х			
	2. CYNTHIA SAAVEDRA (Dallas Lewis)	199,99	E .			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	139.25	X			
278.5	()		Х			
	2. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin)	139.25				
CHUKUT KUK 351.6	1. MARLAKAY HENRY (Billman Lopez)	175.8	X			
331.0	(Buiman Lopez) 2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS	175.8	х	ĺ		
	(Cornelius Antone)					
BABOQUIVARI	1. ALBERTA J. RAY	194.45	x			
388.9	(Frances G. Antone)	194.45	х			
	2. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)	*****				
····-	TOTAL	3,218.0	3,218.0	-0-	-0-	[01]