## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving Updated 2022 Annual Scheduling Agreement with New Magma Irrigation and Drainage District)

**RESOLUTION NO. 22-068** 

1	WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation vests the Legislative Council with
2		the power "to consult, negotiate and conclude agreements and contracts on
3		behalf of the Tohono O'odham Nation with Federal, State and local governments
4		and other Indian tribes or their departments, agencies, or political subdivisions,
5		or with private persons or organizations on all matters within the authority of the
6		Tohono O'odham Council." (Constitution, Article VI, Section 1(f)); and
7	WHEREAS,	by Resolution No. 15-351 the Tohono O'odham Nation approved an agreement
8		with the New Magma Irrigation and Drainage District providing for delivery of a
9		portion of the Nation's CAP water for water storage at a groundwater savings
10		facility (the "Agreement"), and the Agreement was executed by the parties on
11		December 12, 2015; and
12	WHEREAS,	the original term of the Agreement was for two calendar years, from January 1,
13		2016 to December 31, 2017; and
14	WHEREAS,	the term of the Agreement was subsequently amended to end on December 31,
15		2022; and
16	WHEREAS,	the Agreement allows the parties to negotiate a quantity of water and a price each
17		year, as set forth in an Annual Scheduling Agreement; and
18	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council through Resolution No. 22-011 approved a 2022 Annual
19		Scheduling Agreement with New Magma Irrigation and Drainage District; and
20	WHEREAS,	the San Xavier District has first right of beneficial use of the Nation's Central
21		Arizona Project water; and
22	WHEREAS,	the San Xavier Coop Farm has amended its water order to request additional
23		Central Arizona Project water, which leaves less water for delivery to the New
24		Magma Irrigation and Drainage District; and
25	WHEREAS,	the Water Resources Committee recommends a quantity of water and a price as
26		set forth in the Updated 2022 Annual Scheduling Agreement attached to this
27		resolution.
28	NOW, THERI	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approves the
29		Updated 2022 Annual Scheduling Agreement with the New Magma Irrigation and
30		Drainage District substantially in the form attached hereto, and authorizes the
31		Chairman of the Nation to execute it.
32		

**RESOLUTION NO. 22-068** 

(Approving Updated 2022 Annual Scheduling Agreement with New Magma Irrigation and Drainage District)

Page 2 of 3

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 17<sup>TH</sup> Q FOR; cil by, dham Acting ection

2	day of FEBRUARY, 2022 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 3,218.0 FOR;
3	-0- AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [01] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by,
4	Article VI, Section 1(f) and Article XVII, Section 2 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham
5	Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting
6	Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section
7	16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
8	10 of the Act of June 16, 1994 (46 Stat. 204).
	TOTAL OF OLO DATA A LEGACIA TRANSPORTATION
9	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
10	$\Lambda_{a}^{a}$ , $\Lambda_{b}^{a}$ $\Lambda_{a}^{a}$
11	
12	/////www.
13	/ <b>Y</b> imothy Joa <b>ch</b> in, Legislative Chairman
14	11 11 1
15	dh day of Flbrus, 2022
16	0
17	
18	ATPEST:
19	
20	Mulles
21	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
22	On A
23	<u>Jo</u> day of
24	, 2022
25	Said Resolution was submitted for approyal to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono
26	$\mathcal{L}_{\mathcal{L}}}}}}}}}}$
27	O'odham Nation on the <u>22</u> day of <u>147 West</u> , 2022 at <u>97 57</u> o'clock, <u>12</u> .m., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become
28	
	effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48
29	hours of submittal.
30	TOWANG GLODULAN TRANSPORT ATTUM GOVERNMENT
31	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
32	Ma Ag A
33	
34	/////www.xxx/
35	/Limothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
36	
37	
38	
39	32 01
40	[X] APPROVED on the 23 day of 10, 2022
41	1 • 11
42	[ ] DISAPPROVED at 3:0 o'clock, .m.
43	\\ \\ \\ \\ \\ \\ \\ \\ \\ \\ \\ \\ \\
44	$\lambda \setminus \lambda \setminus \lambda \setminus \lambda$
45	/   V   /   \\ \ \ \ \
46	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN
47	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
+/	I DAONO O ODRAM NATION

48 49

50 51

	RESOLUTION NO. 22-068 (Approving Updated 2022 Annual Scheduling Agreement with New Magma Irrigation and Drainage District) Page 3 of 3
	22
1 2	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>AD</u> day of
3 4 5	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>33</u> day of .m.
6	- Cumulus
7	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
8	
9	
10 11	
12	
13	
14	
15 I	
16 17	
17	
18	
20	
21	
18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31	
23	
24	
25	
26	
2/	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
33 34 35 36 37 38	
37	
38	
39	
40	
41 42	
42 43	
14	
45	
16	
47	
48 49	
50	

ACTION: APPROVING UPDATED 2022 ANNUAL SCHEDULING AGREEMENT WITH NEW MAGMA IRRIGATION

AND DRAINAGE DISTRICT

MOVED: COUNCILMAN DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN LUCINDA ALLEN

DATE: FEBRUARY 17, 2022

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABS
SIF OIDAK	1. MARY LOPEZ	122.8	X			
245.6	(Ann M. Garcia)		X			
	2. LUCINDA ALLEN	122.8	-	1		
	(Francis Homewytewa)					
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON	278.25	X			
556.5	( )	278.25	X			
	2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Arvada Liston)					
SCHUK TOAK	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE	95.25	x			
190.5	(Alberta Espinoza)	95.25	X	ł		
	2. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco)	33.23				
SAN XAVIER	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	121.3	X			
242.6	(Racheal Vilson-Stoner)		X			
	2. JANICE FELIX	121.3	78			
	(Adam P. Andrews)					
SAN LUCY	1. JANA MONTANA	121.9	X			
243.8	(Lorraine M. Eiler)	121.9	X			
	2. ROGER MANUEL (Christina Andrews)					
PISINEMO	1. MARIETTA MARTIN	116.25	X	-		
232.7	( )	116.35				
	2. EDWARD D. MANUEL	116.35	X			
	(Monica Morgan)					
HICKIWAN	1, LOUIS R. LOPEZ	108.3	X			X
216.6	2. SANDRA D. ORTEGA (Absent)	108.3	x			
	(Delma M. Garcia) (Present)	100.0				
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	135.35	X			
270.7	( )	135.35	X			
	2. CYNTHIA SAAVEDRA (Dallas Lewis)					
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	139.25	X			
278.5	( )		X			
	2. VICTORIA HOBBS	139.25	A.			
	(Tonya L. Joaquin)					
CHUKUT KUK	1. MARLAKAY HENRY	175.8	X			
351.6	(Billman Lopez)	175.8	X			
	2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS	223.0				
	(Cornelius Antone)					
BABOQUIVARI	1. ALBERTA J. RAY	194.45	x			
388.9	(Frances G. Antone) 2. LEANDER MASE	194.45	X			
	(Francine Schooling)					
	TOTAL	3,218.0	3,218.0	-0-	-0-	[0