## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Supporting the Nomination of Roselyn Tso as Director of Indian Health Service)

**RESOLUTION NO. 22-116** 

1	WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation vests the Legislative Council with		
2		the authority to "consult, negotiate and conclude agreements and contracts on		
3		behalf of the Tohono O'odham Nation with Federal, State and local governments"		
4		and to "promote, protect and provide for public health, peace, morals, education		
5		and general welfare of the Tohono O'odham Nation and its members"		
6		(Constitution, Article VI, Section 1(f) and Section 1(c)(2)); and		
7	WHEREAS,	the Indian Health Service ("IIIS"), an agency within the Department of Health and		
8		Human Services, is responsible for providing federal health care services for		
9		approximately 2.6 million American Indians and Alaska Natives; and		
10	WHEREAS,	President Joe Biden has nominated Roselyn Tso, a member of the Navajo Nation,		
11		for Director of the Indian Health Service; and		
12	WHEREAS,	nominee Roselyn Tso currently serves as the Navajo Area Indian Health Service		
13		Director and previously held the position of Director of the Office of Direct		
14		Services and Contracting Tribes; she began her career with the Indian Health		
15		Service in 1984 and held various roles in the Portland Area IHS and IHS		
16		headquarters, including Portland Area Planning and Statistical Officer, Equal		
17		Employment Officer, Special Assistant to the Area Director, and Director of the		
18		Office of Tribal and Service Unit Operations, where in this role she was		
19		responsible for implementing the Indian Self-Determination and Education		
20		Assistant Act and worked directly with tribes and direct service tribes; and		
21	WHEREAS,	the Health and Human Services and Appropriations Committees recognize that		
22		nominee Roselyn Tso is uniquely qualified to serve as the Director of the Indian		
23		Health Service and recommends supporting her nomination.		
24	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council supports the			
25		nomination of Roselyn Tso as Director of Indian Health Service and calls for		
26		expeditious confirmation hearings in the U.S. Senate.		
27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35	day of MARC 611.20 AGAIN Council by, A Nation, adop Deputy Assis	g Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 17 <sup>TH</sup> H, 2022 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,328.3 FOR; ST; 278.5[04] NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the rticle VI, Section 1(f) and Section 1(c)(2) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham ted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting tant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).		
36				

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL    Mile
2 3 4 5 6 7 8	rimothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman  27 day of
5 6 7 8	ay of
6 7 8 9	ay of
7 8 9	son, Legislative Secretary  ay of
9	son, Legislative Secretary  ay of <u>Mach</u> , 2022  ution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono ation on the <u>17</u> day of <u>Mach</u> , 2022 at <u>8:25</u> o'clock, <u>p</u> .m., o the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become
10 <b>ATTYEST:</b>	son, Legislative Secretary  ay of <u>Mach</u> , 2022  ution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono ation on the <u>17</u> day of <u>Mach</u> , 2022 at <u>8:25</u> o'clock, <u>p</u> .m., o the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become
	ution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono ation on the
4 4 1	ution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono ation on the
15 22 di	o the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will/become
17   Said Resol 18   O'odham N	o the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become 5on his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48
pursuant t effective u	Juli 1112 and to facility in the same of the control approve of argaphrote is interest to
21 hours of su	
22	
23	
24 25	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
25	That And And
26	Nimille Straw
27   28	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
29	O'miotily Jourges, neglishative chamman
30	
31	. /
$\frac{32}{2}$	March
33 <b>APPRO</b>	$ \begin{array}{cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccc$
35   DISAPE	veD on the 22 day of Menu, 2022 PROVED at 8:30'clock, 1 .m.
36 Juliani	NOVED A 700 CLOCK, W
37	$\sim 10^{-1}$
38	
39	NED NORRIE, JR., CHAYRMAN
40	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION '
41 42	
43	
44	22
45 Returned t	o the Legislative Secretary on the <u>22</u> day of
$\frac{46}{1}$	B124
47   0/10	nh, 2022, at 3:340'clock, p.m.
48	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
49 50   Clu	nllle
	son, Legislative Secretary
52	, G,

RESOLUTION NO. 22-116

ACTION: SUPPORTING THE NOMINATION OF ROSELYN TSO AS DIRECTOR OF INDIAN HEALTH SERVICE

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN JANICE FELIX

SECOND: COUNCILMAN DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III

DATE: MARCH 17, 2022

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
SIF OIDAK 245.6	1. MARY LOPEZ (Ann M. Garcia)	122.8	x x		A .	
	2. LUCINDA ALLEN (Francis Homewytewa)	122.8	A .			
SELLS 556.5	1. ARTHUR WILSON	278.25	x			
	2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Arvada Liston)	278.25		X		
SCHUK TOAK	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE	95.25	x			
190.5	(Alberta Espinoza) 2. DELISA M. RAMON <i>(Absent)</i> (Sharon A. Francisco) <i>(Present)</i>	95.25	X			Х
SAN XAVIER	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	121.3	x			
242.6	(Racheal Vilson-Stoner)  2. JANICE FELIX (Adam P. Andrews)	121.3	X			
SAN LUCY	1. JANA MONTANA	121.9	x			х
243.8	(Lorraine M. Eiler) 2. ROGER MANUEL (Christina Andrews)	121.9	X			
PISINEMO 232.7	1. MARIETTA MARTIN	116.35	X			
232.7	( ) 2. EDWARD D. MANUEL (Monica Morgan)	116.35		Х		
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ	108.3		X	x	
216.6	2. SANDRA D. ORTEGA (Absent) (Delma M. Garcia) (Present)	108.3		Х		
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	135.35	x			
270.7	( ) 2. CYNTHIA SAAVEDRA (Dallas Lewis)	135.35	X			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	139.25			x	1
278.5	( ) 2. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin)	139.25			Х	
CHUKUT KUK	1. MARLAKAY HENRY	175.8	x		x	
351.6	(Billman Lopez) 2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Absent) (Cornelius Antone) (Present)	175.8	х			
BABOQUIVARI	1. ALBERTA J. RAY	194.45	x			
388.9	(Frances G. Antone) 2. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)	194.45	х			
	TOTAL	3,218.0	2,328.30	611.20	278.5	[02]
					[04]	