## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Matilda S. Juan to the Election Board for a Five-Year Term Ending July 31, 2025)

**RESOLUTION NO. 22-142** 

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,		
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers		
3		of committees, boards, officers and agents (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham		
4		Nation, Article VI, Section 1(b)); and		
5	WHEREAS,	the Nation's Elections law, codified at 12 Tohono O'odham Code, Chapter 1,		
6		authorizes the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council to appoint members of the		
7		Tohono O'odham Election Board (12 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Article III, Section 1301(B));		
8		and		
9	WHEREAS,	the Nation's Elections law provides that board members shall be "appointed		
10		for a term of five years or until their successors are appointed" and further that		
11		"[a]ppointments to the Board shall be staggered so that the term of office of only		
12		one member will end in any single year." (12 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Article III, Section		
13		1301(B)); and		
14	WHEREAS,	Matilda S. Juan was appointed to the Election Board by Resolution No. 15-419 for		
15		a term ending July 31, 2020 and she continues to serve until her successor is		
16		appointed; and		
17	WHEREAS,	the Rules Committee recommends that Matilda S. Juan be appointed to the		
18		Election Board for a term ending July 31, 2025.		
19	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council appoints		
20		Matilda S. Juan to the Election Board for a term beginning on the effective date of		
21		this resolution and ending July 31, 2025, provided that she shall continue to serve		
22		until her successor is appointed and qualified.		
23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>06<sup>TE</sup></u> day of <u>APRIL</u> , <u>2022</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>3,218.0</u> FOR; <u>-0-AGAINST</u> ; <u>-0-NOT VOTING</u> ; and <u>[02] ABSENT</u> , pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section <u>1b</u> ); Article X, Section 7 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).			
31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL  White the council of the counc		

		lection Board for a Five-Year Term Ending July 31, 2025)
1 2 3	Page 2 of 2 ATTEST:	
4 5 6	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secreta	
7 8 9 10 11 12	pursuant to the provisions of Se	for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono day of
13 14		TOHONO O'QDHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
15 16 17		Mully Iroqui
18		Tymothy Joaquin, Jegislative Chairman
19		$\mathcal{O}$
20 21		^
22 23 24	APPROVED	on the
25	[ ] DISAPPROVED	at <u>9'//</u> 6'clock, <u>()</u> .m.
26 27 28 29		NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN
30 31		TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
32		
33 34		$\sim$
35	Returned to the Legislative Secret	ary on the /day of
36 37 38 39 40	Clumber , 2022, at	49'54 o'clock, <u>A</u> .m.
41	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secreta	ary
42		
43 44		
45		
46 47		
48		
49 50		
51		

ACTION: APPOINTING MATILDA S. JUAN TO THE ELECTION BOARD FOR A FIVE-YEAR TERM ENDING JULY 31,

2025

MOVED: VICE CHAIRWOMAN ALBERTA J.RAY

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN MARY LOPEZ

**DATE:** APRIL 06, 2022

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
SIF OIDAK	1. MARY LOPEZ	122.8	X			
245.6	(Ann M. Garcia)	122.8	x			
	2. LUCINDA ALLEN	122.8				Í
	(Francis Homewytewa)					
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON	278.25	X			X
556.5	( )	278.25	x	İ		i
	2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Arvada Liston)					
SCHUK TOAK	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE	95.25	x			
190.5	(Alberta Espinoza) 2. DELISA M. RAMON	95.25	x			ļ
	(Sharon A. Francisco)			İ		
SAN XAVIER	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	121.3	х			
242.6	(Racheal Vilson-Stoner)		x			
	2. JANICE FELIX	121.3	•			
	(Adam P. Andrews)					
SAN LUCY	1. JANA MONTANA	121.9	X			ĺ
243.8	(Lorraine M. Eiler)	121.9	x			
	2. ROGER MANUEL	122.5		1		İ
PISINEMO	(Christina Andrews)					
232.7	1. MARIETTA MARTIN	116.35	X			İ
232.7	( ) 2. EDWARD D. MANUEL	116.35	X		[	1
	(Monica Morgan)					
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ	108.3	х			
216.6	( ) 2. DELMA M. GARCIA	100.3	x			
	( )	108.3				
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	135.35	х			
270.7	( )	135.35	x			
	2. CYNTHIA SAAVEDRA (Dallas Lewis)	103.00				
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	139.25	x			
278.5	( )		X			
2,3,3	2. VICTORIA HOBBS	139.25	Α.			
	(Tonya L. Joaquin)					
CHUKUT KUK	1. MARLAKAY HENRY	175.8	x			х
351.6	(Billman Lopez)	175.8	X			
	2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Cornelius Antone)					
BABOQUIVARI	1. ALBERTA J. RAY	194.45	x			
388.9	(Frances G. Antone)	194.45	X			
	2. LEANDER MASE) (Francine Schooling)	231.13				
	TOTAL	3,218.0	3,218.0	-0-	-0-	[02]