RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Recognition of Relinquishment from membership in the Tohono O'odham Nation for the month of August 2022)

RESOLUTION NO. 22-254

1	WHEREAS,	Article VI, Section 1(h) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation vests the
2		Tohono O'odham Legislative Council with the power to "enact laws and
3		ordinances governing the enrollment and adoption of members and the
4		relinquishment and loss of membership"; and
5	WHEREAS,	in accordance with the Tohono O'odham Nation's Enrollment Ordinance,
6		Ordinance No. 05-81 as amended the Enrollment Committee has received a
7		written statement from 01 tribal member who has expressed their intent to
8		relinquish their membership with the Tohono O'odham Nation and the member
9		is identified in the August 2022 Relinquishment List, which is incorporated by this
10		reference; and
1	WHEREAS,	pursuant to Article IX Section 1 of the Enrollment Ordinance,
12		A member of the Nation may relinquish his membership in the
13		Nation by submitting a written statement clearly expressing an
14		intent to relinquish his membership to the Council, a copy of
15		which must be served on the committee. The written statement
16		must be signed by the person wishing to relinquish his membership
17		or, if a minor or incompetent, by the parent(s), guardian or other
18		person legally authorized to act on his behalf. Relinquishment
19		does not require the approval of the Council, but is effective upon
20		receipt of the statement by the Council and cannot be subsequently
21		denied. Upon recognition by the Council that the individual has
22		renounced his membership, his name shall be deleted from the
23		membership roll.
24	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby
25		recognizes that one individual identified in the August 2022 Relinquishment List
26		has relinquished their membership in the Tohono O'odham Nation and orders

the removal of their name from the Nation's membership roll.

27

28

29 30

31

32

33

34

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 01st day of AUGUST, 2022 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 3,218.0 FOR; -0-AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [01] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by, Article VI, Section 1(h) Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

(Recognition of Relinquishm August 2022) Page 2 of 3	nent from membership in the Tohono O'odham Nation for the mo					
	Jimothy Joaquin Legislative Chairman day of Hogul , 2022					
ATTEST:						
Evonne Wilson, Legislative	Secretary , 2022					
Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tol O'odham Nation on the day of, 2022 at 2:39 o'clock,						
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Timothy Joaquín, Legislative Chairman					
APPROVED	on the 12 day of Lyat, 2022 at 2 4 o/clock, P.m.					
[] DISAPPROVED	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION					
	Secretary on the <u>A</u> day of 2022, at <u>3:11</u> o'clock, <u>p</u> .m.					
Evonne Wilson, Legislative	Secretary					

RESOLUTION NO. 22-254

ACTION: RECOGNITION OF RELINQUISHMENT FROM MEMBERSHIP IN THE TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION FOR

THE MONTH OF AUGUST 2022

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN MARY LOPEZ

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN TERESA F. DONAHUE

DATE: AUGUST 01, 2022

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN'
SIF OIDAK	1. MARY LOPEZ	122.8	x			
245.6	(Ann M. Garcia) 2. LUCINDA ALLEN (Francis Homewytewa)	122.8	х			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON	278.25	X			x
556.5	() 2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Arvada Liston)	278.25	х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE	95.25	x			
190.5	(Alberta Espinoza) 2. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco)	95.25	х			
SAN XAVIER	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	121.3	X			
242.6	(Racheal Vilson-Stoner) 2. JANICE FELIX (Adam P. Andrews)	121.3	х			
SAN LUCY	1. JANA MONTANA	121.9	X			
243.8	(Lorraine M. Eiler) 2. ROGER MANUEL (Christina Andrews)	121.9	х			
PISINEMO	1. MARIETTA MARTIN	116.35	x			
232.7	() 2. EDWARD D. MANUEL (Monica Morgan)	116.35	x			
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ	108.3	x			
216.6	2. DELMA M. GARCIA	108.3	x			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	135.35	x			
270.7	() 2. CYNTHIA SAAVEDRA (Dallas Lewis)	135.35	x			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	139.25	x			
278.5	() 2. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin)	139.25	х			
CHUKUT KUK	1. MARLAKAY HENRY	175.8	X			
351.6	(Billman Lopez) 2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Cornelius Antone)	175.8	х			
BABOQUIVARI	1. ALBERTA J. RAY	194.45	x			
388.9	(Frances G. Antone) 2. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)	194.45	х			
	TOTAL	3,218.0	3,218.0	-0-	-0-	[01]