RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving August 2022 District Allocation and Apportionment of Gaming Revenues to Districts by Equal Distribution)

RESOLUTION NO. 22-260

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is authorized "to manage any funds
2		within the exclusive control of the Tohono O'odham Nation and to appropriate
3		these funds for the benefit of the nation and its members" provided that "[a]ll
4		expenditures of these funds shall be pursuant to appropriations or budgets"
5		authorized by resolution or ordinance" (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham
6		Nation, Article VI, Section 1(d)(2)); and
7	WHEREAS,	by 26 Tohono O'odham Code Chapter 1, §1301, the Legislative Council has adopted
8		a formula for distributing the Nation's gaming revenues ("Formula"), which
9		includes an allocation to the Nation's districts ("District Allocation"); and
0	WHEREAS,	26 Tohono O'odham Code Chapter 1, §1304 provides that on August 1 each year
1		the District Allocation for each district shall be apportioned in accordance with
12		the allocation formula established by the Legislative Council; and
13	WHEREAS,	26 Tohono O'odham Code Chapter 1, §§ 1301(C)(2)(a) and (b) of the Formula
14		provide that "[f]ifteen percent (15%) of the District Allocation shall be allocated to
15		the District where the Gaming Facility which generated such revenue is located"
16		(the "Host District Share") and "[t]he remainder of the District Allocation shall be
17		divided among all eleven Districts of the Nation"; and
18	WHEREAS,	the Budget and Finance Committee has discussed three options for dividing the
19		remainder of the August 2022 District Allocation: (1) by equal distribution, (2) by
20		population distribution, or (3) by 50/50 distribution (1/2 equal and 1/2
21		population); and
22	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation Office of the Treasurer has calculated the August
23		2022 District Allocation in accordance with the August 2022 District Gaming
24		Allocation Table, which is incorporated by this reference.
25	NOW, THERE	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approves the
26		allocation of the August 2022 Host District Share and approves the allocation of
27		the remainder of the August 2022 District Allocation among the 11 Districts of the
28		Nation by equal distribution effective August 1, 2022 in accordance with the
29		August 2022 District Gaming Allocation Table.
30	BE IT FINAL	LY RESOLVED, by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that all August 2022
31		District Allocation funds, including the Host District Share, shall be made
32		available for expenditure subject to budgets approved in accordance with Article

RESOLUTION NO. 22-260

(Approving August 2022 District Allocation and Apportionment of Gaming Revenues to Districts by **Equal Distribution**)

Page 2 of 3

1

49

VI, Section 1(d)(2) and Article IX, Section 7 of the Nation's Constitution, and the additional requirements of 26 Tohono O'odham Code Chapter 1, Article 3,

udditiona	requirements of 20 ronoito o bullum code empter 1, milete 3.
The foregoing Resolution	on was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 01st
	a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,642.5 FOR
	VOTING; and [01] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council
	l)(2) Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono
	uary 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary
Indian Affairs (Operatio	ns) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934
(48 Stat.984).	
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	Muttle
	Minutely XII Is
	The state of the s
	yimothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
	1 / / Lu
	, , 0
ATTEST:	
Mundlle	
(Municular	
Evonne Wilson, Legislat	ve secretary
0 /1	exust , 2022
day of M	, 2022
	V
Said Resolution was st	ibmitted for approvalato the office of the Chairman of the Tohono
O'odham Nation on the	day of, 2022 at 2:3% o'clock,m.
pursuant to the provis	ions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become
effective upon his appr	oval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48
hours of submittal.	The state of the second
nours of submittue.	
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	/ LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	/ / / /
	must be
	mittely
	Vimothy Joaquin Legislative Chairman
	Vimothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
	Vimothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
	Vimothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman
V. annoven	
[X] APPROVED	yimothy Joaquin Legislative Chairman on the 12 day of
1	on the 12 day of angul, 2022
[] DISAPPROVED	
.1.	on the 12 day of angul, 2022
.1.	on the 12 day of angul, 2022
.1.	on the 12 day of angul, 2022
.1.	on the 12 day of argul, 2022 at 2: o'clock, f.m.
.1.	on the 12 day of angul, 2022

Egnal Distribution)		ument of Gaming Revenues to District	
Returped to the Legislati	ve Secretary on the 🗸 day	of	
Cuzus ella	ve Secretary on the <u></u> day , 2022, at <u>Bill</u> o'clock, <u>p</u>	m.	
Evonne Wilson, Legislativ	ve Secretary		

ACTION: APPROVING AUGUST 2022 DISTRICT ALLOCATION AND APPORTIONMENT OF GAMING REVENUES TO DISTRICTS BY EQUAL DISTRIBUTION

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN DELISA M. RAMON

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN GRACE MANUEL

DATE: AUGUST 01, 2022

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 245.6	1. MARY LOPEZ (Ann M. Garcia)	122.8	x			
245.0	2. LUCINDA ALLEN (Francis Homewytewa)	122.8	Х			
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON	278.25		x		x
556.5	() 2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Arvada Liston)	278.25		х		
SCHUK TOAK	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE	95.25	x			
190.5	(Alberta Espinoza) 2. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco)	95.25	х			
SAN XAVIER	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	121.3	x			
242.6	(Racheal Vilson-Stoner) 2. JANICE FELIX (Adam P. Andrews)	121.3	х			
SAN LUCY	1. JANA MONTANA	121.9	х			
243.8	(Lorraine M. Eiler) 2. ROGER MANUEL (Christina Andrews)	121.9	х			
PISINEMO	1. MARIETTA MARTIN	116.35	x			
232.7	() 2. EDWARD D. MANUEL (Monica Morgan)	116.35	x			
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ	108.3	x			
216.6	2. DELMA M. GARCIA	108.3	х			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	135.35	x			
270.7	() 2. CYNTHIA SAAVEDRA (Dallas Lewis)	135.35	x			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	139.25		x		
278.5	() 2. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin)	139.25		х		
сникит кик	1. MARLAKAY HENRY	175.8		x		
351.6	(Billman Lopez) 2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Cornelius Antone)	175.8		х		
BABOQUIVARI	1. ALBERTA J. RAY	194.45		x		
388.9	(Frances G. Antone) 2. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)	194.45		x		
	TOTAL	3,218.0	1,642.5	1,575.5	-0-	[01]