# **RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** (Land Recovery Delegation)

## **RESOLUTION NO. 22-360**

1	WHEREAS,	"It shall be the policy of the Tohono O'odham Nation to seek the return to the					
2		Tohono O'odham Nation of lands and natural resources, including minerals and					
3		water rights, within or adjacent to the Tohono O'odham Nation, or which					
4	1	originally were a part of the historic Papagueria." (Constitution of the Tohono					
5		O'odham Nation, Article XVI, Section 9); and					
6	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power "by law,					
7		ordinance or resolution (3) to purchase or otherwise acquire property" and to					
8		"consult, negotiate and conclude agreements and contracts on behalf of the					
9		Tohono O'odham Nation with Federal, State and local governments on all					
10		matters within the authority of the Tohono O'odham Council." (Constitution,					
11		Article VI, Section 1(i)(3) and Section 1(f)); and					
12	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation has identified a property (the "Property") within					
13		Pima County, Arizona that was originally part of historic Papagueria and that may					
14		be available for acquisition; and					
15	WHEREAS,	it is in the Nation's best interests to evaluate the Property and authorize					
16		negotiations for its acquisition, subject to final Legislative Council approval.					
17	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislative Council authorizes the Agricultural and						
18		Natural Resources and Cultural Preservation Committee chairpersons, or, in					
19		their absence, the vice chairpersons, and the Nation's chairperson or, in the					
20		chairperson's absence, the Nation's vice chairperson (collectively, "Land					
21		Recovery Delegation"), to conduct negotiations for acquisition of the Property,					
22		provided that:					
23		(1) the Recovery Delegation shall act solely as a group and shall regularly report					
24		to the Agricultural and Natural Resources and Cultural Preservation					
25		Committees and report to the Council every four months and as necessary,					
26		and					
27		(2) any resulting agreement(s) shall be subject to final approval by Legislative					
28		Council resolution.					
29	The foregoin	g Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 21 <sup>s1</sup>					
30 31	aay of <u>SEPTE</u> - <b>0-</b> AGAINST:	MBER, 2022 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>3,218.0</u> FOR; -0- NOT VOTING; and [01] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by,					
32	Article VI, Se	ction 1(f) and Section 1(i)(3) and Article XVI, Section 9 of the Constitution of the					
33 34	Tohono O'od approved by	ham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6,					
35		nt to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).					

**RESOLUTION NO. 22-360** (Land Recovery Delegation) Page 2 of 2 TQHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL uin, Legislative Chairman imothy Joa \_\_\_\_\_, 2022 7 ATTES **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** 22 day of Sciptenter, 2022 Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the \_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_\_, 2022 at  $\frac{1!15}{1.5}$  o'clock,  $\frac{1}{1.5}$  .m., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. 24 O O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 26 mothy Joaquin Legislative Chairman on the  $2^2$  day of [Å] APPROVED . 2022 at / 2 Y o'clock. [ ] DISAPPROVED .m. NED NORRIS, R., CHAIRMAN **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the \_\_\_\_\_day of ptuh\_, 2022, at 1.25 o'clock, p\_.m. Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary 

#### ACTION: LAND RECOVERY DELEGATION

### MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN MARLAKAY HENRY

#### SECOND: COUNCILMAN ROGER MANUEL

DATE: SEPTEMBER 21, 2022

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 245.6	1. MARY LOPEZ (Ann M. Garcia) 2. LUCINDA ALLEN	122.8 122.8	X X			x
	(Francis Homewytewa)					
SELLS 556.5	1. ARTHUR WILSON <i>(Absent)</i> (Shelia Espino) <i>(Present)</i> 2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Arvada Liston)	278.25 278.25	x x			
SCHUK ТОАК 190.5	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE (Alberta Espinoza) 2. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco)	95.25 95.25	X X			
SAN XAVIER 242.6	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III (Racheal Vilson-Stoner) 2. JANICE FELIX (Adam P. Andrews)	121.3 121.3	x x			
SAN LUCY 243.8	1. JANA MONTANA (Lorraine M. Eiler) 2. ROGER MANUEL (Christina Andrews)	121.9 121.9	x x			
PISINEMO 232.7	1. MARIETTA MARTIN ( ) 2. EDWARD D. MANUEL (Monica Morgan)	116.35 116.35	x x			
HICKIWAN 216.6	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ ( ) 2. DELMA M. GARCIA ( )	108.3 108.3	x x			
GU VO 270.7	1. GRACE MANUEL () 2. CYNTHIA SAAVEDRA (Dallas Lewis)	135.35 135.35	X X			
GU ACHI 278.5	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN ( ) 2. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin)	139.25 139.25	x x			
CHUKUT KUK 351.6	1. MARLAKAY HENRY (Billman Lopez) 2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Cornelius Antone)	175.8 175.8	x x			
BABOQUIVARI 388.9	1. ALBERTA J. RAY (Frances G. Antone) 2. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)	194.45 194.45	x x			
	TOTAL	3,218.0	3,218.0	-0-	-0-	[01]