RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Repealing Resolution No. 17-155, "Establishing Border Security Delegation")

RESOLUTION NO. 24-244

1	WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation vests the Legislative Council with
2		the power "to promote, protect and provide for public health and general
3		welfare of the Tohono O'odham Nation and its members" and with the authority
4		to "consult with the Congress of the United States and appropriate federal
5		agencies regarding federal activities that affect the Tohono O'odham Nation"
6		(Constitution, Article VI, Section (1)(c)(2) and (j)); and
7	WHEREAS,	by Resolution No. 17-155, the Legislative Council established the Border Security
8		Delegation, comprised of the Tohono O'odham Nation chairperson and the
9		chairpersons of the Domestic Affairs, Agricultural and Natural Resources, and
10		Cultural Preservation Committees, to represent the Nation on border security-
11		related proposed rules, regulations, and laws and actions or proposed actions
12		that may affect the Nation; and
13	WHEREAS,	the Border Security Delegation was not delegated authority to negotiate the
14	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	terms of leases, easements, rights-of-way, or other agreements or authorizations
15		for the uses of Nation's lands; and
16	WHEREAS,	the Nation's chairperson and Legislative Council committees of jurisdiction are
17	williams,	actively addressing a wide range of border security issues and it is no longer
18		necessary for a separate Border Security Delegation to address the same matters;
		and
19		the Domestic Affairs Committee recommend repealing Resolution No. 17-155,
20	WHEREAS,	
21		"Establishing Border Security Delegation."
22	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council repeals
23		Resolution No. 17-155, "Establishing Border Security Delegation."
24 25	The foregoin	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 07 TH ST 2024 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,786.35 FOR;
26	476.95 AGAI	NST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and [03] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council
27	by Article VI	, Section 1(c)(2), (j), and (l) the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted
28	by the Tobo	ono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy
29	Assistant Se	cretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the
30	Act of June 1	8, 1934 (48 Stat.984).
31 32	1	
33		
34		
35		
36		
37	-	

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>24-244</u> (Repealing Resolution No. 17-155, "Establishing Border Security Delegation") Page 2 of 2
1	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
2 3 4 5 6 7 8	Wavalene M. Saunders, Legislative Chairwoman 13 Th day of
9	ATTERCET
10 11 12	ATTEST!
13	Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary
14 15	9 day of Chyn 3, 2024
16 17	o
18	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the day of, 2024 at, 2024 at, o'clock,a.m.,
19 20	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48
21	hours of submittal.
22 23	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
24 25	Morlay Citt, naching
26	Wavalene M. Saunders, Legislative Chairwoman
27 28	Wavalene M. Saunders, Legislativé Chairwoman
29	
30 31	
32	On the 14 day of August , 2024
33 34	[] DISAPPROVED at 10.55 o'clock, m.
35 36 37 38 39	VERLON M. JOSE, CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
40 41	
42	$oldsymbol{\wedge}$
43 44	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of
45	Angust, 2024, at 11:350'clock, A.m.
46 47	, 2024, at 11:500 ctock, 11. m.
48	Deagnakiani Daw:
49 50	Evonne Wilson Legislative Secretary

 ACTION: REPEALING RESOLUTION NO. 17-155, "ESTABLISHING BORDER SECURITY DELEGATION"

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN EVELYN JUAN MANUEL

SECOND: COUNCILMAN LEANDER MASE

DATE: AUGUST 07, 2024

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
BABOQUIVARI 394.2	1. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)	197.1	X X			х
374.2	2. JESSE NAVARRO (Alberta J. Ray)	197.1	A			
CHUKUT KUK	1. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS <i>(Absent)</i> (Cornelius Antone <i>) (Present)</i>	177.35		X		x
354.7	2. MARLAKAY HENRY ()	177.35		Х		
GU ACHI	1. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin)	141.35	X			
282.7	2. JEROME F. JOAQUIN ()	141.35	ж			
GU VO	1. DALLAS LEWIS	138.0	x			
276.0	2. LESLIE LUNA	138.0	Х			Х
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA M. GARCIA	110.25	x			
220.5	2. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Loretta A. Ortega)	110.25	X			
PISINEMO	1. EDWARD D. MANUEL (Monica Morgan)	118.1	x			
236.2	2. PAMELA J. BENAVIDEZ (Nora J. Ruelas)	118.1	X			
SAN LUCY	1. ROGER MANUEL	128.8	x			
257.6	(Christina Andrews) 2. GLORIA M. RAMIREZ (Absent) (Lorraine M. Eiler) (Present)	128.8	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. JANICE FELIX	122.25	x			
244.5	2. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	122.25		X		
SCHUK TOAK	1. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco)	95.9	x			
191.8	2. THEORIA CAMPILLO (Rebecca Ann Valentine)	95.9	X			
SELLS	1. EVELYN JUAN MANUEL (Arvada Liston)	279.0	x			
558.0	2. JANET B. ELEANDO ()	279.0	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. LUCINDA ALLEN	123.55	x			
247.1	(Francis Homewytewa) 2. WAVALENE M. SAUNDERS (Mary Lopez)	123.55	X			
	TOTA	L 3,263.30	2,786.35	476.95	-0-	[03