## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving First Amended 2024 Annual Scheduling Agreement with New Magma Irrigation and Drainage District)

**RESOLUTION NO. 24-355** 

1	WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation vests the Legislative Council with			
2		the power "to consult, negotiate and conclude agreements and contracts on			
3		behalf of the Tohono O'odham Nation with Federal, State, and local governments			
4		and other Indian tribes or their departments, agencies, or political subdivisions,			
5		or with private persons or organizations on all matters within the authority of the			
6		Tohono O'odham Council." (Constitution, Article VI, Section 1(f)); and			
7	WHEREAS,	by Resolution No. 23-089, the Tohono O'odham Nation approved an agreement			
8		with the New Magma Irrigation and Drainage District providing for delivery of a			
9		portion of the Nation's CAP water for water storage at a groundwater savings			
10		facility (the "Storage Agreement"); and			
11	WHEREAS,	the Storage Agreement allows the parties to negotiate a quantity of water and a			
12		price each year, as set forth in an Annual Scheduling Agreement; and			
13	WHEREAS,	by Resolution No. 24-118, the Tohono O'odham Nation approved a 2024 Annual			
14		Scheduling Agreement; and			
15	WHEREAS,	New Magma Irrigation and Drainage District has requested that the Nation store			
16		an additional quantity of water pursuant to the Storage Agreement in 2024,			
17		necessitating an amendment to the 2024 Annual Scheduling Agreement; and			
18	WHEREAS,	the Water Resources Department recommends a quantity of water and a price as			
19		set forth in the First Amended 2024 Annual Scheduling Agreement attached to this			
20		resolution, subject to adjustment in accordance with the Storage Agreement.			
21	WHEREAS,	the Water Resources Committee has reviewed the proposed amendment to the			
22		2024 annual scheduling agreement with NMIDD and recommends its approval;			
23	NOW, THEREFORE, RE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approves the				
24		First Amended 2024 Annual Scheduling Agreement with the New Magma			
25		Irrigation and Drainage District substantially in the form attached hereto, and			
26		authorizes the Chairman of the Nation to execute it; provided, that the First			
27		Amended 2024 Ann'ual Scheduling Agreement shall be subject to adjustment in			
28		accordance with the Storage Agreement.			
29		ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <b>09</b> <sup>TH</sup>			
30 31	day of OCTOBER 2024 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,300.35 FOR; 404.95 AGAINST; 558.0[02]NOT VOTING; and [04] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the				
32		rticle VI, Section 1(f) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by			
33		O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant			
34		ndian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June			
35	18, 1934 (48	Stat. 984).			

**Drainage District)** Page 2 of 2 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 5 6 7 ene M. Saunders, Legislative Chairwoman ATTEST **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Wavalene M. Saunders, Legislative Chairwoman [\/] APPROVED [ ] DISAPPROVED VERLON M. JOSE, CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the \_\_\_\_\_day of \_\_\_, 2024, at 10.15 o'clock, Q .m. **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** 

(Approving First Amended 2024 Annual Scheduling Agreement with New Magma Irrigation and

RESOLUTION NO. 24-355

ACTION: APPROVING FIRST AMENDED 2024 ANNUAL SCHEDULING AGREEMENT WITH NEW MAGMA

IRRIGATION AND DRAINAGE DISTRICT

MOVED: COUNCILMAN DANIEL L.A PRESTON III

SECOND: COUNCILMAN DALLAS LEWIS

DATE: OCTOBER 09, 2024

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
BABOQUIVARI 394.2	1. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling) 2. JESSE NAVARRO (Alberta J. Ray)	197.1 197.1	x x			
CHUKUT KUK 354.7	1. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Cornelius Antone) 2. MARLAKAY HENRY ( )	177.35 177.35	x x			x
GU ACHI 282.7	1. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin) 2. JEROME F. JOAQUIN ( )	141.35 141.35		x x		
GU VO 276.0	1. DALLAS LEWIS ( ) 2. LESLIE LUNA ( )	138.0 138.0	X X			
HICKIWAN 220.5	1. DELMA M. GARCIA ( ) 2. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Loretta A. Ortega)	110.25 110.25	x x			х
PISINEMO 236.2	1. EDWARD D. MANUEL ( ) 2. PAMELA J. BENAVIDEZ (Nora J. Ruelas)	118.1 118.1	x x			
SAN LUCY 257.6	ROGER MANUEL (Absent)     (Christina Andrews) (Present)     GLORIA M. RAMIREZ     (Lorraine M. Eiler)	128.8 128.8	x x			х
SAN XAVIER 244.5	1. JANICE FELIX ( ) 2. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III ( )	122.25 122.25	х	х		
SCHUK TOAK 191.8	1. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco) 2. THEORIA CAMPILLO (Rebecca Ann Valentine)	95.9 95.9	x x			х
SELLS 558.0	1. EVELYN JUAN MANUEL (Arvada Liston) 2. JANET B. ELEANDO ( )	279.0 279.0			x x	
SIF OIDAK 247.1	1. FRANCIS HOMEWYTEWA ( ) 2. WAVALENE M. SAUNDERS (Mary Lopez)	123.55 123.55	x x			
	TOTAL	3,263.30	2,300.35	404.95	558.0 [02]	[04]