RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians 81st Annual Convention and Marketplace)

the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to consult with

RESOLUTION NO. 24-358

2		the federal government and other Indian tribes on all matters within the
3		Council's authority (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, Article VI,
4		Section 1(f)); and
5	WHEREAS,	the National Congress of American Indians ("NCAI") will hold its 81st Annual
6		Convention and Marketplace in Las Vegas, Nevada from October 27, 2024 -
7		November 1, 2024; and
8	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation has worked closely with the NCAI and with Native
9		American tribes across the United States to address numerous national issues of
10		importance to Indian Country; and
11	WHEREAS,	it is in the best interest of the Tohono O'odham Nation to continue its national-
12		level involvement in these issues by participating in the NCAI 81st Annual
13		Convention and Marketplace Las Vegas, Nevada from October 27, 2024 -
14		November 1, 2024.
15	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it
16		authorizes Tohono O'odham Nation Chairman Verlon Jose to serve as the Nation's
17		voting delegate and Tohono O'odham Legislative Council Chairwoman Wavalene
18		M. Saunders to serve as the Nation's alternate voting delegate in Las Vegas,
19		Nevada from October 27, 2024 - November 1, 2024 and at all other NCAI meetings
20		and sessions for the 2024-2025 term; provided that the voting delegate, alternate,
21		and any Legislative Council representatives attending the NCAI 81st Annual
22		Convention and Marketplace and other NCAI meetings and sessions are
23		authorized to present and advocate for resolutions and positions previously
24		approved by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council.
25 26 27	day of OCTO	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 09 TH BER 2024 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 3,263.30 FOR; ; -0- NOT VOTING; and [04] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by

Article VI, Section 1(f) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono

O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -

Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934

31 32 (48 Stat. 984).

28

29

30

WHEREAS,

33 34

35 36

Annual Convention and Marketplace) Page 2 of 2 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL islative Chairwoman ATTEST: **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** day of Ortola , 2024 pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will/become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Wavalene M. Saunders, Legislative Chairwoman at 3:41 o'clock, f. m. APPROVED [] DISAPPROVED VERLON M. JOSE, CHAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the _____day of ______, 2024, at ______ o'clock, _____.m. **Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary**

(Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians 81st

RESOLUTION NO. 24-358

 ACTION: AUTHORIZING TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION DELEGATION TO THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS 81ST ANNUAL CONVENTION AND MARKETPLACE

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN EVELYN JUAN MANUEL SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN THEORIA CAMPILLO

DATE: OCTOBER 09, 2024

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	#OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
BABOQUIVARI 394.2	1. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling) 2. JESSE NAVARRO (Alberta J. Ray)	197.1 197.1	x x			
CHUKUT KUK 354.7	1. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Cornelius Antone) 2. MARLAKAY HENRY ()	177.35 177.35	x x			х
GU ACHI 282.7	1. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin) 2. JEROME F. JOAQUIN ()	141.35 141.35	x x			
GU VO 276.0	1. DALLAS LEWIS () 2. LESLIE LUNA ()	138.0 138.0	X X			
HICKIWAN 220.5	1. DELMA M. GARCIA () 2. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Loretta A. Ortega)	110.25 110.25	x x			x
PISINEMO 236.2	1. EDWARD D. MANUEL () 2. PAMELA J. BENAVIDEZ (Nora J. Ruelas)	118.1 118.1	x x			
SAN LUCY 257.6	ROGER MANUEL (Absent) (Christina Andrews) (Present) GLORIA M. RAMIREZ (Lorraine M. Eiler)	128.8 128.8	x x			х
SAN XAVIER 244.5	1. JANICE FELIX () 2. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III ()	122.25 122.25	x x	*		
SCHUK TOAK 191.8	1. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco) 2. THEORIA CAMPILLO (Rebecca Ann Valentine)	95.9 95.9	x x			х
SELLS 558.0	1. EVELYN JUAN MANUEL (Arvada Liston) 2. JANET B. ELEANDO ()	279.0 279.0	x x	Ty F		
SIF OIDAK 247.1	1. FRANCIS HOMEWYTEWA () 2. WAVALENE M. SAUNDERS (Mary Lopez)	123.55 123.55	x x			
10170	TOTAL	3,263.30	3,263.3	-0-	-0-	[04]