RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Endorsing Candidates and Establishing Ballot Positions for the 2024 General Election)

RESOLUTION NO. 24-359

1	WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation vests the Legislative Council with					
2		the authority to "consult, negotiate and conclude agreements and contracts on					
3		behalf of the Tohono O'odham Nation with Federal, State and local governments"					
4		and to "promote, protect and provide for public health, peace, morals, education					
5		and general welfare of the Tohono O'odham Nation and its members"					
6		(Constitution, Article VI, Section 1(f) and Section 1(c)(2)); and					
7	WHEREAS,	on November 5, 2024, the United States will hold a general election to elect the					
8		next President of the United States and members of congressional offices and the					
9		State of Arizona's ballot will include state legislature offices and ballot					
10		propositions; and					
11	WHEREAS,	by Resolution Nos. 24-115 and 24-234, the Tohono O'odham Nation endorsed the					
12		candidates of Jonathan Nez for U.S. Congress, District 2, and Kirsten Engel for U.S.					
13		Congress, District 6; and					
14	WHEREAS,	the Executive Office recommends endorsing the additional following candidates					
15		for the 2024 general election:					
16		 U.S. President - Kamala Harris 					
17		 U.S. Senate – Ruben Gallego 					
18		 U.S. Congress, District 7 – Raul Grijalva 					
19		 Pima County Supervisor, District 3 – Jen Allen 					
20		 State Senate, District 23 – Brian Fernandez 					
21		 State Representative, District 23 – Mariana Sandoval 					
22		 Pima County Recorder – Gahriella Cazares-Kelly 					
23		; and					
24	WHEREAS,	the recommended candidates advocate strongly for Nation and tribal issues; and					
25	WHEREAS,	the Executive Office's recommended positions on Arizona ballot propositions for					
26		the 2024 general election cycle are as follows:					
27		 Proposition 134; Oppose 					
28		 Proposition 135; Oppose 					
29		 Proposition 136; Oppose 					
30		 Proposition 314; Oppose 					
31		; and					
32							

(Endorsing Candidates and Establishing Ballot Positions for the 2024 General Election) Page 2 of 3 1 WHEREAS. it is in the best interests of the Nation to support these candidates and to oppose 2 the specific Arizona ballot propositions; and 3 the Appropriations Committee conferred with the Executive Office and WHEREAS. 4 recommends endorsing the candidates for the 2024 general election and 5 opposing the specific ballot propositions. 6 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Conncil endorses the 7 following candidates: 8 U.S. President - Kamala Harris 9 U.S. Senate - Ruben Gallego 10 U.S. Congress, District 7 - Raul Grijalva 11 Pima County Supervisor, District 3 - Jen Allen 12 State Senate, District 23 - Brian Fernandez 13 State Representative, District 23 - Mariana Sandoval 14 Pima County Recorder - Gabriella Cazares-Kelly 15 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council opposes the 16 following Arizona ballot propositions: 17 Proposition 134; Oppose 18 Proposition 135; Oppose 19 **Proposition 136; Oppose** 20 Proposition 314; Oppose 21 BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council endorses these 22 candidates and opposes the listed Arizona ballot propositions, provided that 23 Nation's members are encouraged to vote as they deem appropriate. 24 The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 10^{TH} 25 day of OCTOBER 2024 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,845,7 FOR; 26 417.6 AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council 27 by Article VI, Section 1(f) and 1(c)(2) of the Constitution of the Tobono O'odham Nation, adopted 28 by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy 29 Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the 30 Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984). 31 32 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 33 34 35 36 Wavalene M. Saunders, Legislative Chairwoman 37 SCABEL , 2024 38

RESOLUTION NO. 24-359

39 40

Page 3 of 3	Establishing Ballot Positions for the 2024 General Election)
ATTEST	
Chlimalle	
Evonne Wilson, Legislative	
	<u>el.</u> , 2024
O'odham Nation on the pursuant to the provision	mitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tol // day of
	TOHONO O'OPHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	Chaus Ext , vice Chim
	Wavalene M. Saunders, Legislative Chairwoman
	wavalene M. Saunders, Legislative Chairwoman
	114 A-t-her
[V] APPROVED	on the 14 day of October, 2024
[] DISAPPROVED	at 4.01 o'clock, 1.m.
	on the 14 day of October, 2024 at 4:01 o'clock, f'.m.
	VERLON M. JOSE, CMAIRMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
Returned to the Legislative	e Secretary on theday of
Octiela.	2024, at 10:15 o'clock, a.m.
aunlihler	
Evonne Wilson, Legislative	Secretary

ACTION: ENDORSING CANDIDATES AND ESTABLISHING BALLOT POSITIONS FOR THE 2024 GENERAL

ELECTION

MOVED: COUNCILMAN DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS

DATE: OCTOBER 10, 2024

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
BABOQUIVARI 394.2	1. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling) 2. JESSE NAVARRO (Alberta J. Ray)	197.1 197.1	х	х		
CHUKUT KUK 354.7	1. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Cornelius Antone) 2. MARLAKAY HENRY ()	177.35 177.35	x x			
GU ACHI 282.7	1. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin) 2. JEROME F. JOAQUIN ()	141.35 141.35	x x			
GU VO 276.0	1. DALLAS LEWIS () 2. LESLIE LUNA ()	138.0 138.0	x x			
HICKIWAN 220.5	1. DELMA M. GARCIA () 2. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Absent) (Loretta A. Ortega) (Absent)	110.25 110.25		x x		х
PISINEMO 236.2	1. EDWARD D. MANUEL () 2. PAMELA J. BENAVIDEZ (Nora J. Ruelas)	118.1 118.1	x x			
SAN LUCY 257.6	ROGER MANUEL (Absent) (Christina Andrews) (Present) GLORIA M. RAMIREZ (Lorraine M. Eiler)	128.8 128.8	x x			х
SAN XAVIER 244.5	1. JANICE FELIX () 2. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III ()	122.25 122.25	x x			
SCHUK TOAK 191.8	1. DELISA M. RAMON (Sharon A. Francisco) 2. THEORIA CAMPILLO (Rebecca Ann Valentine)	95.9 95.9	x x			
SELLS 558.0	1. EVELYN JUAN MANUEL (Arvada Liston) 2. JANET B. ELEANDO ()	279.0 279.0	x x			
SIF OIDAK 247.1	1. FRANCIS HOMEWYTEWA () 2. WAVALENE M. SAUNDERS (Mary Lopez)	123.55 123.55	x x			
	TOTAL	3,263.30	2,845.7	417.6	-0-	[02]