## LEGISLATIVE ORDER OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Setting January-June 2025 General Session Locations)

## **LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 24-417**

1	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council is	vested with the power to "establish rules and							
2		procedures to regulate all	meetings of the Tohono O'odham Council, standing							
3		committees, boards and s	pecial committees." (Constitution of the Tohono							
4		O'odham Nation, Article VI, Section 1(a)); and								
5	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council, by	Legislative Order No. 24-110, adopted its official							
6		calendar setting dates for i	monthly general sessions from June 2024-June 2025							
7		(Legislative Rules of the To	hono O'odham Legislative Council, Article I, Section							
8		1(A)(1)); and								
9	WHEREAS,	Article I, Section 2(C) of the Legislative Rules of the Tohono O'odham Legislative								
10		Council provides that "All Le	gislative Council sessions shall be held at the Tohono							
11		O'odham Legislative Council chambers located in Sells, Tohono O'odham Nation,								
12		with the following exceptions [a] majority of all the legislative representatives								
13		may vote to hold a session in some location other than the chambers located at								
14		Sells."; and								
15	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Branch is in the process of replacing the current Council meeting								
16		rooms and chambers in Sells, and it is in the best interest of the O'odbam to								
17		conduct Council sessions in other communities on the Nation; and								
18	WHEREAS,	the Rules Committee has reviewed the January-June 2025 Legislative Council								
19		general session meeting locations and recommends approval.								
20	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it sets the									
21		following locations for the January-June 2025 Legislative Council general								
22		sessions:								
23		January 13-17, 2025	San Lucy Farms Conference Room							
24										
25		February 10-14, 2025	San Lucy Farms Conference Room							
26										
27		March 3-7, 2025	San Lucy Farms Conference Room							
28										
29		April 7-11, 2025	San Xavier Community Building							
30										
31		May 5-9, 2025	Sif Oidak District Kakaicu ki							
32										
33		June 12-13, 16-18, 2025	Sif Oidak District Kakaicu ki							

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 24-417 (Setting January-June 2025 General Session Locations) Page 2 of 2

The foregoing Order was passed by the Tobono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>09<sup>TH</sup></u> day of <u>DECEMBER</u>, <u>2024</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>3,263.3</u> FOR; <u>-0-AGAINST</u>; <u>-0-NOT VOTING</u>; and <u>[02]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section 1(a) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary-Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Wavalene M. Saunders, Legislative Chairwoman

27th December, 2024

ATTEST:

**Evonne Wilson, Legislative Secretary** 

89 day of December, 2024

ACTION: SETTING JANUARY-JUNE 2025 GENERAL SESSION LOCATIONS

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN ORA CAMPILLO

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN JANET B. ELEANDO

DATE: DECEMBER 09, 2024

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
BABOQUIVARI	1. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)	197.1	x			
394.2	2. JESSE NAVARRO (Alberta J. Ray)	197.1	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS	177.35	x			
354.7	(Cornelius Antone) 2. MARLAKAY HENRY ( )	177.35	х			
GU ACHI	1. VICTORIA HOBBS	141.35	x			
282.7	(Tonya L. Joaquin) 2. JEROME F. JOAQUIN ( )	141.35	х			
GU VO	1. DALLAS LEWIS	138.0	x			х
276.0	( ) 2. LESLIE LUNA (Grace Manuel)	138.0	Х			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA M. GARCIA	110.25	x			
220.5	( ) 2. LOUIS R. LOPEZ (Loretta A. Ortega)	110.25	X			
PISINEMO	1. EDWARD D. MANUEL	118.1	х			
236.2	( ) 2. PAMELA J. BENAVIDEZ (Nora J. Ruclas)	118.1	х			
SAN LUCY	1. ROGER MANUEL (Absent)	128.8	x			
257.6	(Christina Andrews) (Present) 2. GLORIA M. RAMIREZ (Lorraine M. Eiler)	128.8	х			
SAN XAVIER	1. JANICE FELIX	122.25	x			
244.5	2. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	122.25	х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. DELISA M. RAMON (Absent) (Sharon A. Francisco) (Present)	95.9	X			х
191.8	2. THEORIA CAMPILLO (Rebecca Ann Valentine)	95.9	Х			
SELLS	1. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL	279.0	X			
558.0	(Arvada Liston) 2. JANET B. ELEANDO ( )	279.0	х			
SIF OIDAK	1. FRANCIS HOMEWYTEWA	123.55	X			
247.1	2. WAVALENE M. SAUNDERS (Mary Lopez)	123.55	X			
	TOTAL	3,263.30	3,263.3	-0-	-0-	[02]