RESOLUTION OF THE PAPAGO TRIBAL COUNCIL (Requesting and Confirming Appointment of) (Presiding Judge of Papago Tribal Courts)

RES. NO. 138-82

100	
1	WHEREAS, Section 2 of Chapter I of the Law and Order Code of the Papago
2	Tribe provides that the Papago Tribal Courts shall consist of
3	two regular Judges, and that such Judges "shall be appointed
4	by the Commissioner of Indian Affairs, subject to confirmation
5	by a majority vote of the Papago Council", for a term of two (2)
6	years; and
7	WHEREAS, there is presently appointed only one regular Judge, and it is
8	necessary to appoint a second full time Judge of the Papago
9	Tribal Courts; and
10	WHEREAS, Franklin Antone meets all of the qualifications for the position
11	of Presiding Judge of the Papago Tribal Courts.
12	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Papago Council that it does hereby
13	designate and confirm the appointment of Franklin Antone as
14	Presiding Judge of the Papago Tribal Courts for a term of
15	two (2) years from date of appointment, and requests that the
16	Commissioner of Indian Affairs appoint its designee to such
17	position.
18	The foregoing Resolution was duly enacted by the Papago Council on the 4th day of November, 1982, at a meeting at which a quorum was present, pursuant to
19	the authority vested in the Papago Council by Section 2 (e) and (f) and Section 3 (b) of Article V of the Constitution and By-Laws of the Papago Tribe of
20	Arizona as amended, ratified by the Papago Tribe on December 12, 1936, and approved by the Secretary of the Interior on January 6, 1937, pursuant to
21	Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). Said Resolution is effective as of the date of its approval by the Superintendent of the Papago
22	Agency and is subject to review by the Secretary of the Interior,
23	THE PAPAGO COUNCIL
24	STOTICIONS (MARINE)
25	Max H. Norris, Chairman
26	ATTEST:
27 28	Physicilla
20 29	1 Cm Johnm 008222963
30	Rose Johnson, Secretary
31	RESOLUTION APPROVED this day of, 1982.
32	1 ons
	Superintendent, Papago Agency
	Super Intendent y zapago Agency

Moved:

Second:

Date: 11/04/82

RESOLUTION- Presidine, Judge Position Resolution - or

			Ordinance	• #		
Districts	Representatives	No of Votes	FRED	FRANKLIN	Not Voting	Against
BABOQUIVARI	l. Edward N. Kisto (Joann Garcia)	87.5		\times		
175	2. Kenneth Chico, Sr. (Donald Harvey)	87.5		X	- 21	
CHUKUT KUK	1. Rosemary Lopez	58.5	1000	X		
117	2. Harriet Toro (Lawrence Jose)	58.5	a series Maria da Maria	X		
GU ACHI	1. Angelo J. Joaquin, Sr.	61.5	χ			
123	(Joseph Pete Ramon) 2. Cipniano Manuel (Fernando Joaquin)	61.5	X			
GU VO	1. Cross Antone	27.0			X	
54	(Juan Joe Cipriano) 2.Alvin Virgil Lewis (Henry F. Manuel)	27.0			X	
HICKIWAN	1. Henry A. Ramon (James Angea)	39.5		X		
79	(James Angea) 2. Delma Garcia (Archie Pilone)	39.5		X		
PISINEMO	1.Lamando Francisco	41.0	19 N 19	X		S. S. S. S. S.
82	(Herman Lopez) 2. Johnson Jose (Frank Garcia)	41.0	n an an Araba An Araba Araba	X		
SAN LUCY	1. Max P. Jose (Garfield Lenzo) 2. Albert Gomez	22.0		X		
	(Jeannie Morris)	22.0		X	-	
SAN XAVIER	1. John B. Narcho (Simon Mamake)	53.5		X		
107	2. John Lewis (Carmelita Mattias)	53.5		χ.		
SCHUK TOAK	1. Alex Juan (Francisco Jose, Jr.)	41.5		Lines		X
83	2. Jo Ann Francisco (Priscilla G.Domingo)	41.5				×
SELLS	1. Andrew M. Patricio	84.0	V			
168	(Larry Garcia) 2. Fred Stevens (Dennis Jose)	84.0	X			•
SIF OIDAK	1. Elliot Lewis	58.0	X			
116	(Eugene Jose) 2. Nicklos Jose (Alice Norris)	58.0	X			
TOTALS	1	148.0	407	631	54.	43