WHEREAS, on April 19, 1968, the Papago Tribal Council endorsed and accepted a proposal by the Division of Indian Health to establish an independent area-like organization for the Sells Service Unit which included the Santa Rosa and San Xavier Health Centers; and

WHEREAS, this organization, called the Office of Research and Development (ORD), has become an integral part of the health delivery program of the Papago Tribe in that it serves and administers all health service functions like an administrative area or service unit office of Indian Health Service; and

WHEREAS, the Papago Council accepted ORD on the condition that the Papagos participate in all future program development and be included in planning for health services for the Papago people; and

WHEREAS, the Papago Tribe has learned of the proposed reorganization of ORD by transferring contracting activities to the Phoenix Area Contracting Office; and

WHEREAS, the Papago Tribe has not been consulted about the reorganization of ORD.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Papago Tribe does not endorse or support this reorganization and does hereby request Dr. Everett Rhoades, Director of Indian Health Services, to consult with the Papago Tribe regarding the existence of the Office of Research and Development and all functions being administered by that office prior to any reorganization.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Papago Council requests Dr. Rhoades to meet and consult with the Papago Tribe before any reorganization takes place.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Chairman, Attorneys, and other officers and agents of the Papago Tribe and the Arizona Congressional representatives take all actions necessary to implement the provisions and purposes of this Resolution.

The foregoing Resolution was duly enacted by the Papago Council on the 10th of December, 1982, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1104. for; 0 against; 0 not voting; and 3 absent, pursuant to the authority vested in the Papago Council by Section 2 (e) and (f) of Article V of the Constitution and By-Laws of the Papago Tribe as amended, ratified by the Papago Tribe on December 12, 1936, and approved by the Secretary of the Interior on January 6, 1937, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). Said Resolution is effective as of the date of its enactment by the Papago Council.

THE PAPAGO COUNCIL

Max H. Norris, Chairman

ATPEST:

Rose Johnson, Secretary

Moved: John B. Narcho

RESOLUTION- Opposing Reorganization

of ORD, IHS

Second: Harriet Toro

Resolution -

Date: 12/10/82

Date: 12	2/10/82	or Ordinance # 164-82				
Districts	Representatives	No of Votes	For	# 164-82 Against	Not Voting	Absent
BABOQUIVARI	1. Edward N. Kisto (Joann Garcia)	87.5	Х			
175	2. Kenneth Chico, Sr. (Donald Harvey)	87.5	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. Rosemary Lopez	58.5	Х			
117	2. Harriet Toro (Lawrence Jose)	58.5	X			
GU ACHI	1. Angelo J. Joaquin, Sr.	61.5	χ			
123	(Joseph Pete Ramon) 2. Cipriano Manuel (Fernando Joaquin)	61.5	χ	· K		
GU VO	1. Cross Antone	27.0	χ			
54	(Juan Joe Cipriano) 2.Alvin Virgil Lewis (Henry F. Manuel)	27.0	Χ			
HICKIWAN	1. Henry A. Ramon (James Angea)	39.5	Χ			
79	2. Delma Garcia (Archie Pilone)	39.5	X			
PISINEMO	1.Lamando Francisco (Herman Lopez)	41.0	Χ -			
82	2. Johnson Jose (Frank Garcia)	41.0	X			
SAN LUCY	1. Max P. Jose (Garfield Lenzo)	22.0				χ
44	2. Albert Gomez (Jeannie Morris)	22.0				X
SAN XAVIER	1. John B. Narcho (Simon Mamake)	53.5	X			
107	2. John Lewis (Carmelita Mattias)	53.5	Х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. Alex Juan (Francisco Jose, Jr.)	41.5				
83	2.Jo Ann Francisco (Priscilla G.Domingo)	41.5	X			
SELLS	l. Andrew M. Patricio (Larry Garcia)	84.0	Х			
168	2. Fred Stevens (Dennis Jose)	84.0	χ			
SIF OIDAK	l. Elliot Lewis (Eugene Jose)	58.0	χ			χ
116	2. Nicklos Jose (Alice Norris)	58.0	Х			
TOTALS		148.0	1104.0	0	0	3