## RESOLUTION OF THE PAPAGO TRIBAL COUNCIL P. L. 93-638 Grants FY 1983

RES. NO. 82-82

WHEREAS, Section 104(a) of P. L. 93-638 does authorize the granting of 1 funds for the purpose of "strengthening and improvement of Tribal 2 Government"; and 3 WHEREAS, the Bureau of Indian Affairs has allocated \$272,800.00 of FY 1983 4 funds for such grant purposes at the Papago Reservation; and 5 WHEREAS, the Papago Tribe does have need to strengthen and develop its 6 Tribal government and management. 7 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Papago Council does request the 8 amount of at least \$272,800.00 for FY 1983 to be budgeted as 9 reviewed and approved by the Tribal Council. Any remaining 10 balance of grant funds will be budgeted for indirect cost. 11 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Max H. Norris, Chairman, Enos J. Francisco, Jr., Vice Chairman or Rosita Ruiz, Treasurer are hereby authorized to 13 negotiate and sign whatever grant documents are required and, 14 further, to negotiate and sign amendments and extensions to 15 such grant. 16 The foregoing Resolution was duly enacted by the Papago Council on the 18th 17 day of June, 1982, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 66.5 not voting; and absent, 124.5 against; 18 957.0 for; pursuant to the authority vested in the Papago Council by Section 2 (a) and (d) of Article V of the Constitution and By-laws of the Papago Tribe of Arizona as 19 amended, ratified by the Papago Tribe on December 12, 1936, and approved by the Secretary of the Interior on January 6, 1937, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act 20 of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). Said Resolution is not subject to review by the Secretary of the Interior and is effective as of the date of its enactment 21 by the Papago Council. 22 THE PAPAGO COUNCIL 23 24 Enos J. Francisco, Jr., 25 Vice Chairman 26 ATTEST: 27

Rose Johnson, Secretary

31 32

28

ILJ/06-82

Moved: Andrew M. Patricio

RESOLUTION- P.L. 93-638 Grants

Second: Alex Juan

FY 1983

Date: June 18, 1982

Resolution

		No of	Ordinance	# 82-82	No.1	
Districts	Representatives	Votes	For	Against	Not Voting	Absent
BABOQUIVARI	1. Edward N. Kisto (Joann Garcia)	87.5	Х			
175	2. Kenneth Chico, Sr. (Donald Harvey)	87.5	Χ			
CHUKUT KUK	1. Rosemary Lopez	58.5	X			
117	2. Harriet Toro (Lawrence Jose)	58.5	X			X
GU ACHI	1. Angelo J. Joaquin, Sr.	61.5	Χ			
123	(Joseph Pete Ramon) 2. Cipriano Manuel (Fernando Joaquin)	61.5	X			
GU VO	1. Cross Antone	27.0			X	
54	(Juan Joe Cipriano) 2.Alvin Virgil Lewis (Henry F. Manuel)	27.0		Х		
HICKIWAN	1. Henry A. Ramon (James Angea)	39.5			Х	
79	2. Delma Garcia (Archie Pilone)	39.5		Х		
PISINEMO	1.Lamando Francisco (Herman Lopez)	41.0	χ .			
82	2. Johnson Jose (Frank Garcia)	41.0	X			
SAN LUCY	1. Max P. Jose (Garfield Lenzo)	22.0	Χ			
44	2. Albert Gomez (Jeannie Morris)	22.0	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. John B. Narcho (Simon Mamake)	53.5	Χ			1 km - 1 cs - 1 m
107	2. John Lewis (Carmelita Mattias)	53.5	Χ			
SCHUK TOAK	1. Alex Juan (Francisco Jose, Jr.)	41.5	Χ			7
83	2.Jo Ann Francisco (Priscilla G.Domingo)	41.5	Χ			
SELLS	1. Andrew M. Patricio (Larry Garcia)	84.0	X			
168	2. Fred Stevens (Dennis Jose)	84.0	Χ			Х
SIF OIDAK	1. Elliot Lewis (Eugene Jose)	58.0	Χ			
116	2. Nicklos Jose ( Alice Norris)	58.0		χ		
TOTALS	1	148.0	957.0	124.5	66.5	2