RESOLUTION OF THE PAPAGO TRIBAL COUNCIL Appointment of Chief Judge

RES. NO. 87-82

1	WHEREAS, Judge Henry Manuel has resigned as Chief Judge of the Papago Tribal							
2	Court and it is necessary to appoint a successor; and							
3	WHEREAS, Section 2 of Chapter I of the Law and Order Code provides for the							
4	appointment of judges of the Papago Tribal Court for terms of two							
. 5	years by the Commissioner of Indian Affairs, subject to confirmation							
6	by a majority vote of the Papago Council; and							
7	WHEREAS, the Papago Council has reviewed the application of Donald Harvey							
8	and believes that he is qualified for the position.							
9	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Papago Council that it does hereby							
10	recommend the appointment of DONALD HARVEY as Chief Judge of the							
11	Papago Tribal Court to the Commissioner of Indian Affairs, and does							
12	hereby confirm such appointment by the Commissioner.							
13	The foregoing Resolution was duly enacted by the Papago Council on the 9th							
14	day of July, 1982, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1004.0 for; 144.0 against; 0 not voting; and 0 absent, pursuant to the authority vested in the Papago Council by Section 2 (e) and (f) of Article V of the Constitution and By-laws of the Papago Tribe of Arizona as amended, ratified by the Papago Tribe on December 12, 1936, and approved by the Secretary of the Interior on January 6, 1937, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). Said Resolution is not subject to							
15								
16								
17	review by the Secretary of the Interior and is effective as of the date of its enactment by the Papago Council.							
18	THE PAPAGO COUNCIL							
19								
20	Max of Morris							
21	Max H. Norris, Chairman							
22	ATTEST:							
23								
24	Knophism							
25	Rose Johnson, Secretary							
26								
27								
28								
29								
30								
31								
32								
2.5	11.1/07-82							

Moved: John B. Narcho

RESOLUTION- Appointment of Chief

Second:Alex J	uan			Judge		
Date: 07/09/	82		Resolution or Ordinance # 87-82			
Districts	Representatives	No of Votes	For	" Against	Not Voting	Absent
BABOQUIVARI	1. Edward N. Kisto	87.5	x			
175	(Joann Garcia) 2. Kenneth Chico, Sr. (Donald Harvey)	87.5	X			1. N. #
CHUKUT KUK	1. Rosemary Lopez	58.5		X		
117	(2. Harriet Toro (Lawrence Jose)	58.5		X		
GU ACHI	1. Angelo J. Joaquin,	61.5	x			
123	Sr. (Joseph Pete Ramon) 2. Cipriano Manuel (Fernando Joaquin)	61.5	X			
GU VO	1. Cross Antone	27.0	x			
54	(Juan Joe Cipriano) 2.Alvin Virgil Lewis (Henry F. Manuel)	27.0		х		
HICKIWAN	1. Henry A. Ramon	39.5	x			
79	(James Angea) 2. Delma Garcia (Archie Pilone)	39.5	Х			
PISINEMO	1.Lamando Francisco (Herman Lopez)	41.0	X			
82	2. Johnson Jose (Frank Garcia)	41.0	X	y Victoria		
SAN LUCY	1. Max P. Jose (Garfield Lenzo)	22.0	x	20. 19 A.		
44	2. Albert Gomez (Jeannie Morris)	22.0	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. John B. Narcho	53.5	X			
107	(Simon Mamake) 2. John Lewis (Carm e lita Mattias)	53.5	х			
SCHUK TOAK	 Alex Juan (Francisco Jose, Jr.) 	41.5	x			31
83	2.Jo Ann Francisco (Priscilla G.Domingo)		х		1000	
SELLS	1. Andrew M. Patricio (Larry Garcia)	84.0	·X			
168	2. Fred Stevens (Dennis Jose)	84.0	Х			
SIF OIDAK	l. Elliot Lewis (Eugene Jose)	58.0	Х			
116	2. Nicklos Jose (Alice Norris)	58.0	х			-
TOTALS	1	148.0	1004	144	ø	Ø