RESOLUTION OF THE PAPAGO TRIBAL COUNCIL

Vote of Appreciation to the Honorable Barry Goldwater for support of Indian Select Committee

Res. No. 119-84

WHEREAS, the Papago Council has been advised of the decision by the U.S. Senate to make the Senate Select Committee on Indian Affairs a permanent committee of the U.S. Senate; and
WHEREAS, Senator Berry Goldwater of Arizona was an ardent and influential supporter of the proposal to make the Senate Select Committee on Indian Affairs a permanent committee; and
WHEREAS, the Papago Council realizes the tremendous value and meaning of

WHEREAS, the Papago Council realizes the tremendous value and meaning of the action taken by the Senate and the support and assistance of persons of Senator Goldwater's caliber and position;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Papago Council that it hereby offers this vote of appreciation to the Honorable Barry Goldwater for the support and commitment he made towards accomplishment of this goal and further commends and recognizes Senator Goldwater for his long standing record and support of Indian Affairs.

The foregoing Resolution was duly enacted by the Papago Council on the 7th day of June, 1984, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1440.0 for; -0- against; -0- not voting; and -0- absent, pursuant to the authority vested in the Papago Council by Article V of the Constitution and By-laws of the Papago Tribe of Arizona as amended, ratified by the Papago Tribe on December 12, 1936, and approved by the Secretary of the Interior on January 6, 1937, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of Juen 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). Said Resolution is not subject to review by the Secretary of the Interior and is effective as of the date of its enactment by the Papago Council.

THE PAPAGO COUNCIL

Josiah Moore, Chairman

ATTEST:

Francisco Osife, Secretary

Rosemary Lopez MOVED:

SUBJECT:

SECOND: Angelo Joaquin

Vote of Appreciation to the Honorable Barry Goldwater for support of Indian Select Committee

RESOLUTION DATE: 6/7/84

or

DISTRICTS		XORODINAMOEX #119-84				
	REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK	1. Nicklos Jose	52.5	Х			
105	(Alice Norris) 2. Elliott Lewis (Eugene F. Jose)	52.5	Х			
SELLS	1. Andrew M. Patricio	117.5	Х			
235	(Nora Alvarez) 2. Fred Stevens (Dennis Jose)	117.5	Х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. Jo Ann Francisco	51.5	Х			
103	(Priscilla G. Domingo) 2. Ramon Campillo, Jr. (Joseph Juan)	51.5	Х			
SAN XAVIER	1. Carmelita Mattias	60.5	Х			
121	2. John B. Narcho (Austin Nunez)	60.5	Х			
BABOQUIVARI	1. Kenneth Chico, Sr.	101.5	X			
203	(Donald Harvey) 2. Joann Garcia (Edward N. Kisto)	101.5	Х			
GU ACHI	1. Angelo J. Joaquin, Sr.	75.0	X			
150	(Jonas R. Robles) 2. Fernando Joaquin (Fred Adams, Jr.)	75.0	Х			
PISINEMO	1. Johnson Jose	52.5	Х			
105	(Frank Garcia) 2. Lamando Francisco (Chester Antone)	52.5	Х			
SAN LUCY	1. John Reno	25.5	Х			
51	(Max P. Jose) 2. Albert Gomez (Jeannie Morris)	25.5	Х			
GU VO	1. Virgil Lewis	53.5	Х			
107	(Henry F. Manuel) 2. Cross Antone (Fern E. Salcido)	53.5	Х			
HICKIWAN	1. Henry A. Ramon	61.0	Х			
122	(Pablo Baptisto) 2. Delma Garcia (Archie Pilone)	61.0	Х			
СНИКИТ КИК	1. Harriet Toro	69.0	X			
138	(Lawrence Jose) 2. Rosemary Lopez (Anita C. Clark)	69.0	Х			
TOTALS		1440.0	1440.0	-0-	-0-	-0-