RESOLUTION OF THE PAPAGO TRIBAL COUNCIL

Acceptance of the Proposed three forms of government Legislative Executive, & Article IV

RES. NO. 48-84 1 WHEREAS, The Constitution Committee of the Papago Council has been directed by the Papago Council to revise the Papago Constitution of 1937 in 2 the form it has deemed appropriate for the Papago Tribe; and 3 WHEREAS, The Constitution Committee has this 5th day of April presented a 4 final draft of the proposed Papago Constituion which will rescind, if passed, the 1937 Constitution; and 5 WHEREAS, The Papago Council has reviewed the proposed draft and agrees to the 6 three proposed forms of government as provided in Article IV of the 7 draft: NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the Papago Council that it hereby approves 8 the change in governing structure and authority to separate the 9 functions of the Legislative, the Judicial and the Executive, each 10 having equal power, into three separate branches of government. The foregoing Resolution was duly enacted by the Papago Council on the 5th 11 day of April , 19 84, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 695.5 vote of 695.5 for; 348.5 against; 396.0 not voting; and 0 pursuant to the authority vested in the Papago Council by Section 12 of Article V of the Constitution and By-laws of the Papago Tribe 13 of Arizona as amended, ratified by the Papago Tribe on December 12, 1936, and approved by the Secretary of the Interior on January 6, 1937, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act. of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). Said Resolution is 14 not subject to review by the Secretary of the Interior and is effective as of 15 the date of its enactment by the Papago Council. 16 THE PAPAGO COUNCIL 17 18

Josiah Moore, Chair

ATTEST:

22

19

20

21

23 Francisco Osife, Secretar

25

24

27

26

2829

30

31

32

Virgil Lewis MOVED:

SUBJECT:

Acceptance of the Proposed three forms of government Legislative Executive, & Aritcle IV

SECOND: Harriett Toro DATE: April 5, 1984

RESOLUTION

or

	REPRESENTATIVES	or MMXMXMXX #		48-84		
DISTRICTS		# OF VOTES FOR		AGAINST	NOT	ING ABSEN
SIF OIDAK 105	1. Nicklos Jose (Alice Norris) 2. Elliott Lewis (Eugene F. Jose)	52.5 52.5	X		Х	
SELLS 235	 Andrew M. Patricio (Nora Alvarez) Fred Stevens (Dennis Jose) 	117.5 117.5		X X		
SCHUK TOAK 103	1. Jo Ann Francisco (Priscilla G. Domingo) 2. Ramon Campillo, Jr. (Joseph Juan)	51.5 51.5		4	X	
SAN XAVIER 121	1. Carmelita Mattias () 2. John BNarcho (Austin Nunez)	60.5 60.5	X X			
BABOQUIVARI 203	1. Kenneth Chico, Sr. (Donald Harvey) 2. Joann Garcia (Edward N. Kisto)	101.5 101.5	Х		Х	
GU ACHI 150	 Angelo J. Joaquin, Sr. (Jonas R. Robles) Fernando Joaquin (Fred Adams, Jr.) 	75.0 75.0	X X			
PISINEMO 105	 Johnson Jose (Frank Garcia) Lamando Francisco (Chester Antone) 	52.5 52.5		Х	Х	
SAN LUCY 51	 John Reno (Max P. Jose) Albert Gomez (Jeannie Morris) 	25.5 25.5	X		X	
GU VO 107	 Virgil Lewis (Henry F. Manuel) Cross Antone (Fern E. Salcido) 	53.5 53.5	X			
HICKIWAN 122	 Henry A. Ramon (Pablo Baptisto) Delma Garcia (Archie Pilone) 	61.0		X	X	
CHUKUT KUK 138	 Harriet Toro (Lawrence Jose) Rosemary Lopez (Anita C. Clark) 	69.0 69.0	X X			
TOTALS		1440.0	695.5	348.5	396.0	. 0