RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Setting terms of office of appointed U'usagakam of Tohono O'odham Judiciary)

	RES. NO. <u>251-86</u>						
1	WHEREAS, This Council did by Resolutions No. 248-86, 249-86 and 250-86, re-						
2	spectively appoint Donald Harvey, Malcolm Escalante and Larry Garcia						
3	as full time U'usagakam of the Tohono O'odham Judiciary; and						
4 5	WHEREAS, Article VIII, Section 4, sets the terms of office of the U'usagakam						
6	at six years, provided, however, the their terms must be staggered so						
7	that approximately one-third of the U'usagakam will be appointed every						
8	other year; and						
9	WHEREAS, It is therefore incumbent upon the Council to designate specific						
10	staggering terms for the three U'usagakam.						
11	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Council that the terms of office of the						
12	three U'usagakam shall be as follows:						
13							
14	Larry Garcia - 6 years						
15	Malcolm Escalante - 4 years						
16	Donald Harvey - 2 years						
17	day of May, 1986, at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1444.0 for; 117.0 against; 79.0 not voting; and 03 absent, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (b) of Article VI and Section 3 and						
19	4 of Article VIII of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting						
20 21	Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).						
22	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL						
23							
24	The fi						
25	Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson						
26	day of <u>May</u> , 19 <u>86</u> .						
27	ATTEST:						
28							
29	Jehelia I. Campillo						
30	Ophelia F. Campillo, Legislative Secretary						
31	19th day of <u>Mag</u> , 19 <u>86</u> .						
32							

RES. NO. 251-86 (Setting terms of office of appointed U'usagakam of Tohono O'odham Judiciary) Page Two (2) 1 Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the 12^{μ} day of 19^{μ} , 19^{μ} , at 5^{μ} , at 5^{μ} , o'clock, p.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the 2 Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to 3 either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. 4 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 5 6 Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson 7 8 on the <u>13</u> day of <u>May</u>, 19<u>86</u>, at 9 [] APPROVED) 11:52 o'clock, A .M. 10 [X] DISAPPROVED) 11 None 12 JOSIAH MOORE, Chairman 13 TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION 14 Returned to Legislative Secretary on the _____ day of ______, 15 1986, at 8:15 o'clock, A.M. 16 17 Ophelia F. Campillo, Legislative 18 19 Secretary 20 21 22 2324 25 2627 28 2930 31 32

MOVED: AUSTIN NUNEZ

SUBJECT: SETTING TERMS OF OFFICE OF APPOINTED

SECOND TONY F	ELIX		U'USAGAKAM OF TOHONO O'ODHAM			
	. 1986		JUDICIARY RESOLUTION OR ORDINANCE # 251-86			
_ 	REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES		• •	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK	1. Elliott Lewis	69.0	FOR	AGAINST	VOLTING	ABSENT
138	(Eugene F. Jose) 2. Nicklos Jose (Letitia Garcia)	69.0 69.0	X			-
SELLS '	1. Andrew M. Patricio	128.5	X			
257	(Nora Alvarez) 2. Fred Stevens (Dennis E. Jose)	128.5	х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. Joseph Juan	52.5	X			
105	() 2. Julie Carrillo (Jo Ann Francisco)	52.5	X	•		
SAN XAVIER	 I. INCLUMENTATION AND ANOTHER AND AND ANOTHER AND ANOTHER AND AND AND ANOTHER AND AND AND AND AND AND AND AND AND AND	63.0	·X			
126		63.0	x		· · · · · · · ·	
BABOQUIVARI	l. Joann Garcia (Edward N.Kisto)	120.5	X			x
241	2. Kenneth Chico, Sr. (Frances Miguel)	120.5	- X	· · · · · · · · ·		· · · · · · · · ·
GU ACHI	 Angelo J. Joaquin,Sr. (Jonas R. Robles) Fernando Joaquin (Fred Adams,Jr.) 	. 79.0			X	
.158		79.0	X	•		•
PISINEMO	1. ANSSTATICA	58.0	· X			X
1 16	(Sylvester Manuel) 2. Johnson Jose (Edward D. Manuel)	58.0	X			
SAN LUCY	1. John Reno	42.5	X			
85	2. Max P. Jose (Dewey I. Ortega)	42.5	X			• •
GU VO	1. Cross Antone	58.5		x		X
117	(Fern E. Salcido) 2. Virgil Lewis (Poy Montana)	58.5		X		
HICKIWAN	 Henry A. Ramon (Pablo Baptisto) Lloyd Francisco (Eleanor Santos) 	64.0	X			
128		64.0	X			
СНИКИТ КИК	1. Rosemary Lopez	84.5	x			
169	(Anita C. Clark) 2. Harriet Toro (Marvin J.Thomas)	84.5	X			
TOTALS		1640.0	1444.0	117.0	79.0	03

.

.

•