RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(To override veto of Resolution Number 248-86)

RES. NO. 295-86

1 WHEREAS, The Tohono O'odham Legislative Council did by Resolution No. 248-86 2 appoint Donald Harvey as Usagakam of the Tohono O'odham Judiciary; and 3 WHEREAS, Upon presentation of the resolution to the Chairman of the Tohono 4 O'odham Nation he did disapprove thereof and returned it to the Council 5 with his objections in accordance with the provisions of Article VII, 6 Section 5 of the Constitution of the Nation; and 7 8 WHEREAS, The Council has reviewed the Chairman's objections and after consider-9 ation again voted to pass Resolution No. 248-86. 10 NOW. THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Council does hereby override the 11 Chairman's veto of Resolution No. 248-86. 12 The foregoing resolution was presented to the Tohono O'odham Council on the 4th day of June, 1986, at a meeting at which a quorum was present and, by a vote of 344.5 for; 858.5 against; 437.0 not voting; and -0- absent, failed to override 14 the Chairman's veto of Resolution No. 248-86, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution of the Tohono 15 O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 17 984). 18 TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 19 20 21 Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson 12" day of June, 1986. 22 23 ATTEST: 24 25 26Ophelia F. Campillo, Legislative Secretary 27 day of <u>Towe</u>, 1986. 28 Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the 17th day of June, 1986, at 4.41 29 o'clock, ___.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the 30 Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to 31 either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.

32

	RES. NO. <u>295-86</u> (To override veto of Resolution No. 248-86) Page Two (2)
1	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
2	
3	Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson
4	nati iso isio, 233.5tas.ts sheriparasi
5	[X] APPROVED) on the $\frac{19}{2}$ day of $\frac{\sqrt{4}}{2}$, at
6	[] DISAPPROVED) 3.30 o'clock, P .M.
7	
8	JOSIAH MOORE, Chairman
9	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
10 11	Returned to Legislative Secretary on the \mathcal{D} day of $\mathcal{J}_{\mathcal{L}\mathcal{L}\mathcal{L}}$
12	19 <u>8/</u> , at <u>8.51</u> o'clock, <u>A</u> .M.
13	13 <u>7//</u> , 40 <u>5//</u> 0 0/00k, <u>7/</u>
14	A 1 1 2 1
15	Ophelia F. Campillo, Legislative
16	Secretary
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30 31	
32	
υZ	

MOVED: VIRG	IL LEWIS	SUBJECT: OVERRIDE VETO OF RESOLUTION					
SECOND:IOHN	RENO	NUMBER 248-86					
DATE: 6/	4/86	•	RESOL	RESOLUTION ORX XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX			
DISTRICTS	REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	 FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT	
SIF OIDAK	 Elliott Lewis (Eugene F. Jose) Nicklos Jose (Letitia Garcia) 	69.0 69.0			X X	,	
SELLS 257	 Andrew M. Patricio (Nora Alvarez) Fred Stevens (Dennis E. Jose) 	128.5 128.5	72	X X			
SCHUK TOAK	 Joseph Juan () Julie Carrillo (Jo Ann Francisco) 	52.5 52.5		X X			
SAN XAVIER 126	1. ANXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX	63.0 63.0		X			
BABOQUIVARI 241	1. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX	120.5	. •.		X X		
GU ACHI	 Angelo J. Joaquin, Sr (Jonas R. Robles) Fernando Joaquin (Fred Adams, Jr.) 	79.0 79.0		x			
PISINEMO 116	1. Jerome Antone (Connié Mendoza) 2. Johnson Jose (Edward D. Manuel)	58.0 58.0	X		Х		
SAN LUCY 85	1. John Reno () 2. Max P. Jose (Dewey I. Ortega)	42.5	X X				
GU VO 117	 Cross Antone (Fern E. Salcido) Virgil Lewis (Roy Montana 	58.5 58.5	X X				
HICKIWAN 128	 Henry A. Ramon (Pablo Baptisto) Lloyd Francisco (Eleanor Santos) 	64.0 64.0		X X			
CHUKUT KUK 169	 Rosemary Lopez (Anita C. Clark) Harriet Toro (Marvin J.Thomas) 	84.5 84.5	X	X			
TOTALS		1640.0	344.5	858.5	437 0	-0	