## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Reappoint present five Judges to these positions)

RES. NO. 422-86

WHEREAS, The Law & Order Committee requested to delay the appointment of Judges

for the Tohono o odinam Judiciary, and

WHEREAS, The Law & Order Committee did receive additional applicants for these positions; and

WHEREAS, The Committee felt it would be in the best interest of the Nation to recommend as many qualified applicants at the next Council session; and

WHEREAS, The Tohono O'odham Legialative Council did not act on such request;

WHEREAS, There are currently six positions filled which includes the Appellate Judges.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE RESOLVED that all current Judges of the Tribal and Appellate

Court be appointed to serve under the New Tohono O'odham Constitution.

The foregoing resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Council on the  $\underline{11th}$  day of  $\underline{September}$ ,  $\underline{1986}$ , at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of  $\underline{471.0}$  for;  $\underline{972.5}$  against;  $\underline{196.0}$  not voting; and  $\underline{01}$  absent, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 3 of Article XIII of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson day of <u>Crebs</u>, 19<u>86</u>.

ATTEST:

Ophelia F. Campillo, Legislative Secretary

8th day of Cutoben, 19 Cc.

Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation on the  $8^{th}$  day of Oclobe, , 19.86, at 3:25

11	
	RES. NO. <u>422-86</u> (Reappoint present five Judges to these positions) Page Two (2)
1 2	o'clock, $\underline{\rho}$ .M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure teither approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.
3	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
4	
5	Arrick Von
6	Harriet Toro, Legislative Chairperson
7	[ $\searrow$ ] APPROVED ) on the $g$ day of $g$ day of $g$ at
8	1
9	[ ] DISAPPROVED )
10	Juich Mone
11	JOSIAM MOORE, Chairman TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
12	/ <del>f</del> c
13	Returned to Legislative Secretary on the day of <u>Cotober</u>
14	$19\underline{\mathcal{G}}$ , at $\underline{9i27}$ o'clock, $\underline{A}$ .M.
15	
16	Oskelia I. Camello
17 18	Opkelia F. Campillo, Législative Secretary
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
<b>2</b> 5	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	

## DEFEATED

MOVED: VIRGIL LEWIS SUBJECT: REAPPOINT PRESET FIVE MIDGES SECOND: \_HULIA CARRILLO TO THESE POSITONS DATE: SEPTEMBER 11, 1986 RESOLUTION OR ORDINANCE # 422-86 NOT DISTRICTS REPRESENTATIVES OF VOTES FOR AGAINST VOTING ABSE SIF OIDAK 1. Elliott Lewis 69.0 (Eugene F. Jose) 138 2. Nicklos Jose X 69.0 (Letitia Garcia) SELLS 1. Andrew M. Patricio X 128.5 (Nora Alvarez) 257 2. Fred Stevens X 128.5 (Dennis E. Jose) SCHUK TOAK 1. Joseph Juan X 52.5 105 Julie Carrillo X 52.5 (Jo Ann Francisco) SAN XAVIER X 63.0 (Yvonne Corella) 126 X Tony Felix 63.0 (Carmelita Mattias) BABOQUIVARI 1. Joann Garcia X 120.5 (Edward N.Kisto) 241 Kenneth Chico, Sr. (Frances Miguel) X 120.5 Angelo J. Joaquin, Sr (Jonas R. Robles)
 Fernando Joaquin GU ACHI X 79.0 158 . X Х 79.0 (Fred Adams, Jr. ) PISINEMO Jerome Antone 58.0 Х (Fonnié Mendoza) Johnson Jose 116 58.0 Χ. (Edward D. Manuel) SAN LUCY 1. John Reno X 42.5 2. Max P. Jose (Dewey I. Ortega) 85 X 42.5 GU VO 1. Cross Antone X 58.5 (Fern E. Salcido) 117 Virgil Lewis X 58.5 (Roy Montana HICKIWAN 1. Henry A. Ramon X 64.0 (Pablo Baptisto) 2. Lloyd Francisco 128 64.0 (Eleanor Santos) Rosemary Lopez (Anita C. Clark) CHUKUT KUK 84.5 X 169 Harriet Toro 84.5 X (Marvin J. Thomas) TOTALS 1640.0 471.5 972.5 196.0 01